We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“It was a yes and no situation” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Umi London

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Umi London
Ranked #767 of 1,078 Hotels in London
Ballymena
Level Contributor
62 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“It was a yes and no situation”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2012

Well the bed was confy but just a tad too small for me. Average sized shower with really warm water which is good if you've been out in the cold. TV provided with Freeview. The sink in my room had a massive crack up it which was part of a minor let down and they do not serve cola at night which was the other part of the let down.

Room Tip: choose what u want
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank luv2travel495
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

572 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    190
    194
    76
    66
See reviews for
78
161
98
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bassano Del Grappa, Italy
Level Contributor
127 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2012

We went for a weekend, a friend and I and had booked this hotel after many considerations of price and location. It can't be defined a three star level hotel, more a two stars one, rooms and bathrooms need a good refurbishment as they are old, paint is cracked and it's peeling off, size of the room is on the small side, sheets were clean and so were the towels. In the bathroom, dove soap and shampoo are provided, you can find a hair dryer, tea and coffee set, a flat LCD tv on the wall. Breakfast is ok, tea, muffin, toasted bread with jam and butter, yogurt with cereals, for me it was enough!location is excellent, it is 5 minutes walk to the Bayswater tube station and 7 to queensway station. Bus stops are even closer if you go to westbourne grove, which is just around the corner.staff is helpful, we asked for the room to be changed when we got there, because there was a horrible reddish stain on the carpet, it looked like they had killed somebody in there and they had given us what I called the "cellar-room": to enter the room you had to go down some narrow steps as the room was on a lower level from the main corridor!they couldn't change the room that night, buy they did the day after and following day room was better, on the fifth floor, nice view of london from the top! All in all this is an average hotel, price was ok, location was good, at the very end we only were there to sleep and shower!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Creaincasa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2012

No complaints with this hotel. Compared to a city central hotel it's not much- very basic , but the room was very clean, staff nice and helpful and overall it was good value. For the price, this is an excellent London location. No compalints at all.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NJ K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bathurst, Australia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2012

We stayed here the night before our Topdeck tour & would not stay here again!
You walk into the hotel and all we can say is "looks can be deceiving". The foyer was nice... but then we went to our room....
We had a street view room - due to no air conditioning in the room, we had to open the window, however, did not sleep the whole night as we heard everything on the street - people yelling & screaming, traffic going past. It was the worst night sleep we have had!
The room was on slant, which meant our bed was too. The bathroom was awful. The bathtub looked like it had come out of a dump and the shower curtains had not been replaced in years!
The powerpoint sockets were throwing sparks everywhere. The basin that should have been in the bathroom was actually next to our bed.
We were booked in here for the end of our tour but decided to stay elsewhere.
If you're here because Topdeck (or another tour company recommend it), then don't. Stay somewhere else and get a taxi to take you the next morning. We would have preferred to wake up at 5am and get a 20min taxi.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank flutterbybecs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these London hotels

Leeds
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights in one of their superior double rooms and initially were very impressed. The room was spacious, well presented, warm and clean, the bathroom was also clean and had bath and powerful shower. We had complementary dressing gowns though they weren't exactly fluffy, there was also a freeview TV, kettle with tea, coffee and biscuits and 2x bottles of water.

The bed was comfy but our nights sleep weren't great. The floorboards in the hallway were very creaky, this was funny at first but then you can hear people up and down at all hours. We were lucky we were at the end of the corridor so I dread how it must have sounded for people further down. The windows are single paned so you can hear everything outside which whilst we were there included some kind of roadworks and what sounded like children trying to kill each other.

We had a continental breakfast inculded which included selecting 4 options from a set menu and was very nice. The reception and dining area are well presented and staff seem friendly enough.

We had a pleasant stay up until the last moment when we found that under the window where we had left our suitcase for 2 days (still with some clothes in) had soaked up a large amount of damp through the carpet. When we mentioned this to the receptionist on checkout the lady just stared blankly and asked us what we wanted to do about it rather than offering any recompense. Then to top things off the waitress forgot our crossiants at breakfast!

The hotel location is great near to a couple of good pubs and casino if you like that kind of thing. Bayswater tube station is a 5 minute walk away. I would have stayed here again until our stay was spoilt by leaving with musty smelling clothes. Also on seeing some of the other photos the standard rooms appear to be a lot less desirable.

Room Tip: Opt for superior room, appears to be worth the difference. Don't leave suitcase under window in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aw_Cb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

More like a hostel than a hotel. Room tiny. Floorboards really old so squeaky. Toilet practically in the shower as so small.Staff were friendly at reception and in the bar area. Located near Bayswater tube station so that was handy.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Geri2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
103 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

Excellent location, very close to metro stations, restaurants and shopping.
In the place they offer city maps, information on tours and contact shuttle to Heathrow airport.
The breakfast is adequate and the price is quite reasonable.
The biggest problem is the rooms. The Victorian windows does not have good sealing and wind enters during the night, which is very uncomfortable on cold nights, as I took in November. The problem gets worse because in several rooms (rooms visited friends) are the beds next to the windows.
My bed had a mattress bad, sinking and was crooked. After the first night I asked to exchange but nothing was done.
The attendants are young and friendly.

Room Tip: The apartments of the funds are more quite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mariacbonadio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Notting Hill
Garden Court Hotel
Garden Court Hotel
#607 of 1,078 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
Notting Hill
Reem Hotel
Reem Hotel
#561 of 1,078 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 629 reviews
Notting Hill
Kensington Gardens Hotel
Kensington Gardens Hotel
#471 of 1,078 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Notting Hill
The Royale Chulan Hyde Park Hotel London
Notting Hill
Vancouver Studios
Vancouver Studios
#208 of 1,078 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
Notting Hill
Phoenix Hotel
Phoenix Hotel
#290 of 1,078 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Umi London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Umi London

Property: Umi London
Address: - Bayswater Notting Hill 16 Leinster Square, London W2 4PR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Notting Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #767 of 1,078 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Umi London 3*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel with modern amenities overlooks a pretty garden square; near Kensington Palace, Portobello Road Market & Queensway Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity so you can book your Umi London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Umi London Hotel London
Umi Hotel London
London Umi Hotel
Umi London England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing