We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Basic hotel in good location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Kensington Gardens Hotel
Ranked #446 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Basic hotel in good location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2013

Hotel was well located and easy to find and the setting was peaceful however on arrival we had to use the reception of the hotel next door (Phoenix) and the 2 girls on reception where not the most helpful. The entrance hallway was shabby with worn carpets and this theme continued into the room. The room was in need of some decorating but was clean and the beds were very comfy so enjoyed a good night's sleep. When we checked out the following morning the reception in this hotel was open and the service was much improved. Overall not a bad hotel if you get a good rate (we paid £75) otherwise not worth the money.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank karen p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix H, Guest Relations Manager at Kensington Gardens Hotel, responded to this review, May 26, 2016
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of Kensington Gardens Hotel; your comments are very useful to us as we are always looking for ways in which to improve the hotel and the services we provide. We hope to welcome you back to Kensington Gardens Hotel next time you visit London.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    134
    45
    12
    6
See reviews for
42
85
71
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Abergavenny, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

I wanted a super cheap hotel, as an alternative to a hostel. This was the highest rated which cost <£120, in actuality I paid £66 for a single room for a Saturday night.

Good location for central London and Paddington station; accessible via Queensway or Bayswater. No problems getting in at night, reception closes 6pm so you have to press the buzzer, and let in by the sister hotel next door.

Having read some of the reviews I was expecting a rabbit cage sized room, it was actually a perfectly acceptable size for a single room. No noise street level at night, area seemed safe.

My only two (minor) complaints 1) The pillows were pretty uncomfortable, too hard for me 2) The staff in the sister hotel (BEST WESTERN Phoenix Hotel) weren't great as they managed to give me two wrong sets of directions. That said, the lady/attendant who I met in this hotel the next day (after reception was open) was fantastic. Ultimately, if you want a cheap place to crash this is a decent choice.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank William N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix H, Guest Relations Manager at Kensington Gardens Hotel, responded to this review, May 26, 2016
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for awarding Kensington Gardens hotel your top-score. We are delighted to know that the hotel suited your requirements and look forward to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013

Great location. Booked a twin room - given a room with one bed which was placed against a wall and a minuscule bathroom. Staff just shrugged and implied we were lucky to be in London. We had to find another hotel at short notice - turned into an expensive holiday as Kensington Gardens refused to refund money despite not fulfilling the requirements of our booking.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
10 Thank Diane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2013

We especially like this hotel as it is so handy to the tube and to shopping in the neighborhood. The rooms are neat and tidy as well as comfortable. However, the most outstanding feature is the service we get while we are there and that is led by the desk attendant, Rowshanak! She goes way out of her way to help you find things to do as well as location of events, etc. We have stayed there a number of times and I would say the main reason is this lovely lady!

Room Tip: Just be prepared for stairs but then that keeps you in shape!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DianeW98501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix H, Guest Relations Manager at Kensington Gardens Hotel, responded to this review, July 4, 2016
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for awarding Kensington Gardens Hotel your top-score! We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

I've just got back from a 1 night stay at the Kensington Gardens Hotel.

The hotel was in a great location, just a 2 minute walk from the Bayswatser tube station.

The room was clean and nicely decorated, and although it wasn't huge, the room was an adequate size for 2.

We got a lovely welcome from the lady on reception, who was more than happy to answer any questions we had (e.g. how to get to a particular place).

We were able to drop off our bags at the hotel before check in and leave them there after check out which was great, saving us from carrying them around London all day.

Breakfast was in the Pheonix Hotel next door, which wasn't a problem at all. A great selection of food and drinks available.

I'd definitely recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hop_N_Broads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix H, Guest Relations Manager at Kensington Gardens Hotel, responded to this review, June 13, 2016
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for awarding Kensington Gardens hotel your top-score. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back next time you visit London.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

Really appreciate a good place to stay away from home where the little things matter to the staff as well as you. appreciate the warm welcome and the courteous staff. It was so easy to simply walk to the loyal shops and restaurants. we will return, many thanks.

Room Tip: So perfect the location to all the attractions!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YumEee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix H, Guest Relations Manager at Kensington Gardens Hotel, responded to this review, December 9, 2016
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back to Kensington Gardens Hotel next time you visit London.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, PA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013

If you're traveling to London to spend a lot of time in your hotel room, then this might not be the place for you. The rooms are small and there's not much space to move around.

My wife and I came from the States for a five day visit, and the Kensington Gardens was perfect. It was clean and comfortable, in a relatively quiet neighborhood but in the vicinity of many excellent restaurants, great shopping--we spent an entire Saturday at the Portobello Market--and just a five-minute walk to the nearest tube station. The service was friendly and helpful, the complimentary breakfast was sufficient to start each busy day, and oh yeah... the cost was extremely affordable. If and when we return to London in the future, we will definitely consider coming back to stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix H, Guest Relations Manager at Kensington Gardens Hotel, responded to this review, July 4, 2016
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for awarding Kensington Gardens Hotel your top-score! We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Notting Hill
Phoenix Hotel
Phoenix Hotel
#278 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,590 reviews
Notting Hill
London House Hotel
London House Hotel
#298 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,188 reviews
Notting Hill
Garden Court Hotel
Garden Court Hotel
#601 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Notting Hill
Vancouver Studios
Vancouver Studios
#339 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
Caring Hotel
#491 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 763 reviews
Notting Hill
Prince's Square Apartments
Prince's Square Apartments
#686 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kensington Gardens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kensington Gardens Hotel

Property: Kensington Gardens Hotel
Address: 9 Kensington Gardens Square, London W2 4BH, England (Formerly TOP Hotel Kensington Gardens)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Notting Hill
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#380 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Kensington Gardens Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kensington Gardens Hotel is a 17 bedroom 2 star central London hotel, located 5 minutes walk from Hyde Park. Bayswater and Queensway underground stations are both within a few minutes walking distance. The hotel is centrally situated for both the business executive and the holiday-maker, with the West End and its shops and theatres within easy reach. Free Wi-Fi is always included when making a reservation with Kensington Gardens Hotel. Check-in time is from 1 pm onward. There is a complimentary luggage storage facility at the hotel. Reception is manned from 8 am to 5 pm. The reception at Phoenix hotel, next door at 1-8 Kensington Gardens Square, will assist during other hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Fastbooking, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotel.de, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kensington Gardens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kensington Gardens Top Hotel
Top Hotel London
London Top Hotel
Kensington Gardens Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing