We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,591)
Filter reviews
2,592 results
Traveler rating
1,047
1,070
335
93
47
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,047
1,070
335
93
47
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hyde park queensway tube station central line albert hall convenience store notting hill standard room marble arch junior suite excellent breakfast excellent location an upgrade stayed for one night small room few minutes walk london eye waitrose
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
26 - 31 of 2,592 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Wonderfully breakfast at the Thistle. Alex was our host. He was most accommodating and showed us around and to our table. Lee was an outstanding and attentive server, who took excellent care of our table. We would go again.

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank 407kentg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KensingtonGardens, Manager at Thistle Kensington Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear 407kentg,

Thank you for your amazing review and your kind words for Alex and Lee. We were delighted you enjoyed your stay and we hope we can welcome you back to the hotel soon again.

Kind regards,

Kai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Check in smooth, room size is comfort for 3 quest. But carpet is dirty, check out is OK!
Hop-on/off bus is right outside/corner of hotel, 5 minutes walk to Baywater and/or Queensway station with a lot of eating places and shops for tourist. Will come back for the price & location.

Date of stay: September 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank SONNY L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KensingtonGardens, Manager at Thistle Kensington Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear SONNY L,

Thank you for your nice review, we were delighted you enjoyed your stay and location and hope we can welcome you back to the hotel soon again.

Kind regards,

Kai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Hotel is in a great location. Our classic room was ok but not the cleanest. As we didn’t get back into the room until very late, we didn’t notice until next morning with a day light - carpets very dirty and full of stains! No slippers provided in the room so we had to wear shoes whilst in the room. Ok breakfast selection. Reception staff very friendly but the rest of staff quiet abrupt on the board with being rude. We did stay for 3 nights but won’t be staying in this hotel ever again. It’s not worth the money we’ve paid for! I would expect better facilities and service for the money we paid.
On a positive side, good location.

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank aureliaUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KensingtonGardens, Manager at Thistle Kensington Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear aureliaUK,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and the location but sorry to hear you were not fully satisfied with the room. Please do contact us and let us know which room you stayed in and we will get our housekeeping department to thoroughly check the room and carpet.
We do hope we can welcome you back to the hotel soon again.

Kind regards,

Kai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Well located , lovely accross from park. Good breakfast, polite staff, would stay again,not far from tube stations and transport. Buses either hop on hop off or normal london buses out the front. Air conditioned with comfortable beds except they could be a bit bigger.

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank thebigadv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KensingtonGardens, Manager at Thistle Kensington Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear thebigadv,

Thank you for your wonderful review, we were delighted you enjoyed your stay and the full English breakfast. The hotel has double size beds but also super king beds in deluxe king rooms and junior suites. We hope we can welcome you back to the hotel soon again and hopefully in one of our upgraded rooms.

Kind regards,

Kai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The hotel does have parking, but it is pretty full. Parking is on 2 levels. We were lucky to find a space. Price is £24 for 24 hours which is good.
Being central London rooms are quite small. No mini bar or fridge in room.
Shower was excellent but no bath.
Breakfast £15 per person is adequate with reasonable range for full English.
We chose a room facing city as we thought it might be quieter than facing the main road. Room was quiet.
Manager of restaurant for breakfast was really nice and offered a discount due to queue. On Sunday morning there was a queue for breakfast quite a lot.
Check-in staff were efficient, but gave no information of cost of breakfast, where it was, wifi, facilities, etc...
Major benefit is Waitrose shop as part of petrol station under hotel. Great for snacks, beer, wine, bread, etc...
3 lifts that are very compact. Saw a couple, one of whom was in a wheelchair. They could get in the lift, but only just.
Stayed using airmiles, otherwise would have been extortionate.

Date of stay: September 2019
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank jonathans607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KensingtonGardens, Manager at Thistle Kensington Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear jonathans607,

Thank you for your nice review of your recent stay with us and we are pleased you enjoyed your stay and some of the facilities like the car park. It is indeed difficult to find car parking spaces in central London and the hotel has the advantage of providing those facilities onside.

I am disappointed to read you did not get all the information on check-in which I have taken up with the front office manager to provide further training.

The hotel does have 3 lifts to reduce waiting time and depending on the size fit several guests with luggage or depending on size wheelchairs as well.

We do hope we can welcome you back to the hotel soon again.

Kind regards,

Kai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews