We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,511)
Filter reviews
2,511 results
Traveler rating
1,010
1,040
330
86
45
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,010
1,040
330
86
45
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hyde park queensway tube station central line albert hall convenience store notting hill bus stop marble arch standard room junior suite excellent breakfast excellent location an upgrade stayed for one night small room few minutes walk london eye
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
35 - 40 of 2,511 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Ideally located opposite Hyde Park with great views if you are lucky enough to get a room facing the park. The staff were lovely and smiley and helpful. Not always understanding the different Nationalities accents or their sense of humour. But 10/10 for effort. The food was very good. A large selection on menu and a wonderful choice at Breakfast. Whether hot or cold,the choice was amazing. Good clean comfortable rooms,bathrooms on the small side,especially for family occupation. Due to an unfortunate fire alarm going off after midnight,it highlighted several points that need changing. Firstly,if you are disabled,do not book into any higher floors than the second. The evacuation of the disabled was not organised by the hotel. The customers themselves carried a lady down from the 7th floor. Also two disabled ladies who struggled to get very far down the stairs,were not past the 5th floor,when the fire brigade reached them.There are 3 lifts,one was not working and the staff were not able to say when it would be repaired. People were struggling to work the lifts successfully,and annoyingly they were going up and down several times before they worked it out. When you are high up calling the lift and the same people keep appearing,it takes awhile to get in a lift. Only one toilet for the disabled on the dining and reception floor. Alot of the time engaged by anyone not disabled. It's the first place you book in after a long trip and may need the toilet. Being the only one near the dining room,you had to return to your room if occupied. A bit of a trek if you are on 9th floor ! Would suggest more toilets needed near reception/dining area. Congratulations to owners putting disabled ramp from street level to lifts. This hotel is on the busy bayswater rd,so traffic noise and Waitrose and petrol station next to Hotel was fairly noisy when lorries deliver. City Tour buses stop out the front and loads of black cabs passing,but all full on rush hour. Only take the black registered cabs,or you will be paying way over the odds for any other cab.

Date of stay: June 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank barbs w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KensingtonGardens, Manager at Thistle Kensington Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear barbs w,

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to review your recent stay. We were pleased to read you enjoyed your stay and the location. Thank you for your kind comments about the team which I will be delighted to pass on.

We were delighted to read you joint us in our Brasserie Restaurant and you enjoyed your breakfast.

Thank you for your suggestions which we will discuss and see where we can adopt for our guests who have special needs. It was unfortunate that the fire alarm was activated and when the fire brigade arrives the first hand over is all guests with special needs. As they can evaluate the situation best, it is down to the fire marshal to decide the next step.
Regards to the lift, they only operate with a room key for security reasons. You can move without the room key between the ground floor and reception and this is most likely what happened.
We are sorry to hear that the public toilets for special needs were occupied, we will see if we can find a solution for this.
For your next stay which we hope will be soon, we would suggest you contact us directly and we will allocate one of the two rooms on the second floor which have adjusted facilities.

Kind regards,

Kai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2019 via mobile

Don’t be put off with the service station in what appears to be the entrance. The entrance is around the corner and reception on level 1.
Rooms of a reasonable size and are serviced daily. Very convenient place whilst in London.

Date of stay: June 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank christinekF1974HY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KensingtonGardens, Manager at Thistle Kensington Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear christinekF1974HY,

Thank you for staying with us recently and taking the time to review your stay. The reception and restaurant are on the first floor and as soon as you are at the reception or restaurant you do not see or feel anything about the service station on the main road which is not part of the hotel.
We were pleased to read you enjoyed the room with its size, the hotel does have different room types which vary in size and amenities offered.

We hope we can welcome you back to the hotel very soon again.

Kind regards,

Kai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2019

It is basically a Motel 6 above a gas station. Walked into the rooms and walked right back out. The furniture was from the 70's and looked like they went down to the street and got it from the back alley. I would not recommend this hotel we would not even stay one night in this overrated hotel.

Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank prijonluv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KensingtonGardens, Manager at Thistle Kensington Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear prijonluv,

Thank you for your time to review your recent visit. We are sorry to hear you were not fully satisfied with your arrival. We would appreciate if you could contact us and we could discuss your experience further.

Kind regards,

Kai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2019

Location is close to Paddington station from Heathorw airport in direct connection and Hyde park as weel as Queens way tube station , which is very conveinet, also, it is easy to find any kinds of restruants

Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Paradise12993863375
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KensingtonGardens, Manager at Thistle Kensington Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2019

Dear Paradise12993863375,

Thank you for your great review, we were delighted to read you enjoyed your stay and location. The location is indeed very convenient with Kensington Gardens and Hyde Park just opposite, public transport like buses, tubes and a train station in walking distance as well as shopping and restaurants just around the corner.

We hope we can welcome you back to the hotel soon again.

Kind regards,

Kai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2019

A Hotel in an excellent location with great staff. Check in was a breeze and the room was clean and tidy with a great shower. Value for money hotel for those who need a good place to stay in a central location.

Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Oliver H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KensingtonGardens, Manager at Thistle Kensington Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear Oliver H,

We were thrilled to read you enjoyed your stay and thank you for your kind comments about the team which I will be delighted to pass on.

We will also pass on your nice comments to the housekeeping team about the room cleanliness and tidiness and we hope we can welcome you back to the hotel very soon again.

Kind regards,

Kai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews