We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Thistle Kensington Gardens
Ranked #307 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

Nice, new, renovated, clean, quiet room. Perfect location for a base in London. Hyde park is literally across the road.
The buses are an excellent way to get around and the tube is around the corner too.
There is a great restaurant nearby called Santorinis too.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Phil L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_KGN, General Manager at Thistle Kensington Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2013

Dear Phil L,

Thank you for your review of Thistle Kensington Gardens. We love our location here across from the park and with our excellent bus and tube links the rest of London is on our doorstep. Queensway is great for restaurants, once you’ve tried our own Brasserie menu that is! Thanks again for your review. Kind regards – Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,062)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,239 - 1,245 of 2,062 reviews

Reviewed August 2, 2013

I've stayed several times for both business and leisure when working in, or visiting London. It's exactly what you expect of a 4Star Thistle - clean, comfortable, relaxing, decent breakfast but also business-like and chintz-free. Service varies from average to excellent depending on who's on duty - but's usually good and never poor.

Lifts (elevators) are slow, so you need patience if you're on the 9th floor

The location is excellent with easy access to Queensway tube station (or stroll through Kensington Gardens/Hyde Park) for easy access to the West End. Higher floors of the hotel have good views over the KedGds treeline to many of London's top sites - binocculars are provided in some rooms.

Room Tip: Book breakfasts on arrival, as it'll be cheaper than pre-booking via an agent/booking site
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank awmc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_KGN, General Manager at Thistle Kensington Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2013

Dear awmc1,

Thank you for your balanced review following your recent visits to Thistle Kensington Gardens. It’s really pleasing to read how you choose to stay here for both business and leisure reasons and your comments regarding the service provided. Please let me know the next time you plan on staying with us and I will ensure we upgrade your room to a high floor to take advantage of those fantastic views across Hyde Park and London! Kind regards – Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

We stayed at the Thistle for 7 nights recently. The location of the hotel is very convenient, walking distance to many restaurants, shops, grocery stores, buses and tube stop. The complimentary breakfast was very good (make sure you ask for the breakfast, when you book). The rooms were very clean and quiet, and the staff was friendly and very helpful. The only drawback, was that the room was quite small, but that wasn't an issue for us.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mrsambs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_KGN, General Manager at Thistle Kensington Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2013

Dear Mrsambs,

I am delighted that you enjoyed your 7 night stay at Thistle Kensington Gardens during your trip from the US. We do have some larger executive rooms that can be requested ahead of time, perhaps next time you can take advantage of these. Thanks again for your review. Kind regards – Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

We stayed for 6 nights in a room that overlooked Hyde Park. The room was very nice, clean and the daily breakfast was excellent. The staff were very pleasant and the hotel is very convenient to the tube station, pubs, supermarkets and within walking distance to lots of attractions. We would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Up grade to a room that over looks Hyde Park
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graeme W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_KGN, General Manager at Thistle Kensington Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2013

Dear Graeme W,

Thanks for your review of Thistle Kensington Gardens following your stay with us. I’ll be sure to pass your positive comments onto the team and in particular the Chef regarding breakfast. Thanks again for your review and I look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards – Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

This hotel is in a great location, on the Bayswater Road close to a tube stop and directly opposite the gardens. The room was very pleasant and comfortable, if small (but how long do you want to stay in your room?), but somewhat lacking the extras I'd expect at this price bracket - just two small pots of shampoo and shower gel and a biscuit each. But overall, it was very clean, in good order, and a comfortable and quiet stay.

The let down was, perhaps inevitably in a big chain hotel, the food. We stayed in for dinner, partly because it was chucking it down and partly because we had a 20% off voucher, but it wasn't a great experience. The food was average at best, reeking of being done down to a cost and being prepared by under trained staff, and despite the restaurant being far from busy we waited 30-40 minutes for the food to arrive - with no apology for any delay. A side dish didn't turn up for another 5-10 minutes after that.

And £9.50 for a pint? I guess I wasn't surprised, but seriously, London or not, that's tantamount to theft.

Staff were generally friendly, but in the end you don't get much more for your £150 a night than you'd get in a Premier Inn for rather less money. And they have bigger rooms.

Average.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Egbert_B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_KGN, General Manager at Thistle Kensington Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2013

Dear Egbert B,

Thank you for your balanced review of the hotel. I am pleased to read your comments regarding our location and the friendly team here. However, I am disappointed to read of your poor dining experience. We have recently launched our summer menu and comments have thus far been positive – I will ensure your comments are shared with Kitchen team. I don’t know what drink you purchased, but we do not charge £9.50 for a pint of anything. I would be keen to look into this in more detail if you wish to contact me directly to discuss. Kind regards - Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

My previous encounter was at the Thistle in Glasgow. That trip was not for pleasure (bereavement). From my review of that hotel, you can read just how excellent my stay was.
The trip to London 3 weeks later was for pleasure (wedding). The London trip was made solo (1st time in 47years husband unable to travel). And was for10 days. As a senior lady I was slightly apprehensive, but I was treated with such courtesy, professionalism and yes......genuine caring for my comfort, I was impressed. From the reception area to the dining room staff, all were helpful and attentive. My 10th floor room was immaculate, spacious and looked directly on to Hyde Park and Ken Gardens. The 94 bus stop is super close on Bayswater Rd and takes you to top of Oxford St I to RegentSt. The tube (Queensway) is less than 1/2 block, Ken Gardens across the street, and a very handy small Waitrose was on corner. 10 minutes stroll through Ken Palace Gardens takes you to stores of Kensington High Street, 20 minute walk takes u to the Natural History Museum, and 15 min stroll takes you to Royal Albert Hall (I had concert tickets bought online and delivered to my home in Canada). Is the Thistle Kensington Gardens worth a stay.....Yes it is. It is conveniently and centrally located for any major sightseeing with tube and bus very close, but has that tranquility you need after a full day of London sightseeing. Would I recommend this hotel.....yes I certainly would, and I will be returning probably in the spring.

Room Tip: Higher rooms more spacious (cost more). Facing HydePark/Ken Gardens worth extra for that view, also...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hesitant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_KGN, General Manager at Thistle Kensington Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

Dear hesitant,

I was pleased to read your detailed review of Thistle Kensington Gardens and have shared your positive comments with the team. I am delighted that we were able to follow in the footsteps of Thistle Glasgow in ensuring the service you received was exactly what you had come to expect; especially given you were travelling without your husband. The team and I would be delighted to welcome you back next year – please contact me directly and I will ensure you receive the same high level of service and attention. I look forward to hearing from you. Kind regards - Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights in a deluxe room at the beginning of July.The room was spacious , spotless and we had a good view over Kensington Gardens. The hotel is very close to tube stations and is central for everything. The staff were very helpful and as it was very hot, the air conditioning was welcome.We would stay again but would recommend a deluxe room on a high floor.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarkNz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_KGN, General Manager at Thistle Kensington Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2013

Dear Mark NZ,

Thank you for your review of Thistle Kensington Gardens and your positive comments regarding the team and the location of the hotel overlooking Hyde Park and Kensington Gardens. I hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel soon. Kind regards - Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Kensington and Hyde Park
Thistle Hyde Park
Thistle Hyde Park
#459 of 1,077 in London
929 reviews
Notting Hill
Grand Royale London Hyde Park
Notting Hill
DoubleTree by Hilton - London Hyde Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Blakemore Hyde Park
#325 of 1,077 in London
1,674 reviews
Notting Hill
Hilton London Hyde Park
Hilton London Hyde Park
#373 of 1,077 in London
474 reviews
Lancaster Gate Hotel
#442 of 1,077 in London
2,228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thistle Kensington Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thistle Kensington Gardens

Address: 104 Bayswater Road | Hyde park, London W2 3HL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#171 Business Hotel in London
#209 Romantic Hotel in London
#219 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: $115 - $260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Thistle Kensington Gardens 4*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly refurbished modern hotel located on Bayswater Road with the tranquility of Hyde Park and Kensington Gardens opposite, and within walking distance to Paddington, Oxford Street, Kensington, Notting Hill and Edgware Road, the hotel is ideally placed for business or leisure. Good transport links ensure that the city and theatres are also within very easy reach. All Deluxe and Executive bedrooms are located at the front of the hotel and have amazing views over Kensington Gardens and are available at a supplement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, getaroom.com, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Thistle Kensington Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thistle Kensington Gardens London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing