We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“More than I expected”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Thistle Kensington Gardens
Ranked #287 of 1,064 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
200 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“More than I expected”
Reviewed July 4, 2013

For my first time in London I kept being told all the rooms were going to be small etc. I was surprisingly happy with the size of my room. I had a triple and for 3 of us there was ample room. Obviously we wished the bathroom was bigger but the decor and design of the hotel was lovely. Beds comfortable. The elevators or lifts as they are called are extremely tiny so we had 7 in our party so it always took forever for all of us to get up or down from our rooms. We took the stairs a lot and being on the 7 th floor was not fun walking. The concierge staff was incredibly helpful. Gave us directions and tips everyday of the best routes and places to go. Helped us with reservations for dinner and tea. The hotel is located very close to two tube stations which was convenient. You also caught the bus for the hop off and on tours a few steps down from the hotel. Also you can buy tickets for other main attractions very close or from the purchasing agent from the bus tour. The hotel did have a nice restaurant/lounge in the lobby area. We did stop in for drinks one night and had breakfast once. Wish breakfast was open a little than 10. Overall I was pleased with the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emmaretto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,905 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    778
    811
    244
    49
    23
See reviews for
417
774
67
274
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (515)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013

Stayed here for two nights whilst on a training course.As other reviewers have mentioned the decor is great compared to many London hotels for a similar price. Location is fantastic also. Overall a great stay.

Room was available really early and staff were very helpful.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013

Stayed here earlier this year, great location however a little pricey for the size of the room. Close to tube station and lots of restaurants in the same street as the station. (Short walk back to the hotel). Clean and comfortable however not a whole lot of room for our bags etc. Kensington Gardens across the road are lovely to walk through and it was convenient that there was a fuel station below the hotel where we could grab some basics for our stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leicestershire
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

This hotel looked unpromising from the outside, especially compared to other Thistle properties nearby. It's in a 60s concrete block above a filling station and convenience store (albeit a Waitrose). The entrance is round to one side.

Inside the decor is up to date and smart, and my room was clean and tidy and generally in good order.

Another surprisingly good night's sleep in busy London, despite a noisy road outside and room at the front. The hotel is very handy for Queensway Tube (Central Line) just a couple of stops to Marble Arch and of course handy for Oxford street et al (not what I was there for but worth bearing in mind).

Bayswater is handy (very short walk) for a variety of food and shopping.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leicestershirebloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maia, Portugal
Level Contributor
92 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Just returned from a short stay.
Arrived late night and was given room 904...
Impossible to sleep, the air-con machinery is a few meters away and the constant noise is unbelievable.
Tried to change room immediately but the answer was the usual "we are full but will take care of that tomorrow".
One sleepless night afterwards, the full English breakfast was of good quality with a nice variety of hot and cold food and the price was OK if you purchased the voucher at the check-in counter (£12.00 instead of £16 something).
Happy to confirm my luggage had been moved to room 906, just next door but so much quieter it even surprised me.

The rooms are the usual smallish size for a couple but enough for a single, the bed is comfortable and the decor is pleasant although maybe needing an "update".

Will I return? Probably not. For the same price there are better alternatives.

Room Tip: Stay away from room 904!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blue_Zee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loughton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
159 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013

I've stayed here on a couple of separate occasions with work. The hotel is in a great location with buses/tube, Hyde Park and a wealth of bars and restaurants at your fingertips. The reception staff are very friendly and if you check out on a Friday, you get a Crunchie! Rooms are modern and well equipped though my tea tray was not refreshed every day. Breakfast is good though the tea/coffee service can be a bit elusive at busy times.

There are a couple of negative points to my stay:

One lift has been out of action for at least a month. I travelled lightly so opted for the stairs (even up to 7th floor). The other two lifts are small and extremely slow so if you're in a rush the stairs are much quicker.

The bar service is also extremely slow even when there are hardly any other guests. Drinks are left on the bar for a while before they're served (which makes it very tempting to go and collect them yourself).

Overall this is a good hotel at a very good price for London.

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank midlandsgnome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_KGN, Manager at Thistle Kensington Gardens, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the Thistle Kensington Gardens. I am pleased that you enjoyed our Crunchie Friday give away and that the team deliver their usual friendly service. The lifts are currently undergoing a £100k refurbishment and as such to improve our lift service in the future we have to work on one lift at a time, which does mean that there are only two functioning lifts. Please accept my apologies that this impacted your stay. Kind regards Marianne & the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Nice hotel with rooms overlooking the park, lifts are slow and one was out of order, bar area not very good, very small in fact. Was very over priced because of the tennis we had to pay £280 for a room for one night

Room Tip: Make sure to ask for a room over looking the park other wise you will get a grim view of car park at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dr_Algarve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_KGN, Manager at Thistle Kensington Gardens, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the Thistle Kensington Gardens, I am pleased that your overall impression of the Hotel was a positive one. The lifts are currently undergoing a £100k refurbishment and as such to improve our lift service in the future we have to work on one lift at a time, which does mean that there are only two functioning lifts. Please accept my apologies that this impacted your stay. Kind regards Marianne & the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Kensington and Hyde Park
Thistle Hyde Park
Thistle Hyde Park
#363 of 1,064 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 876 reviews
Notting Hill
Grand Royale London Hyde Park
Notting Hill
DoubleTree by Hilton - London Hyde Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Notting Hill
Hilton London Hyde Park
Hilton London Hyde Park
#380 of 1,064 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
Paddington / Maida Vale
Park Grand Paddington Court
Park Grand Paddington Court
#201 of 1,064 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thistle Kensington Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thistle Kensington Gardens

Property: Thistle Kensington Gardens
Address: 104 Bayswater Road | Hyde park, London W2 3HL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#172 Business Hotel in London
#189 Family Hotel in London
#210 Romantic Hotel in London
#211 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Thistle Kensington Gardens 4*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly refurbished modern hotel located on Bayswater Road with the tranquility of Hyde Park and Kensington Gardens opposite, and within walking distance to Paddington, Oxford Street, Kensington, Notting Hill and Edgware Road, the hotel is ideally placed for business or leisure. Good transport links ensure that the city and theatres are also within very easy reach. All Deluxe and Executive bedrooms are located at the front of the hotel and have amazing views over Kensington Gardens and are available at a supplement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Thistle Kensington Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thistle Kensington Gardens London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing