We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Thistle Kensington Gardens
Ranked #308 of 1,078 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 15, 2013

The hotel is situated close to the Queensway tube and easily accessible to central London and other areas. nice staff and helpful. the concierge is located on the ground floor and reception on the first floor.
below the hotel, there is a petrol station and a 24h waitrose which is very helpful for light shopping such as snacks and drinks.

Room Tip: I was in a standard room and window opened on a back street. with the hotel location, i don't be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Herve A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_KGN, Manager at Thistle Kensington Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review Thistle Kensington Garden. I am pleased that you found the hotel location convenient you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future. Kind regards Marianne & the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,045)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,265 - 1,271 of 2,045 reviews

Reviewed June 15, 2013

This is a very nice place to stay. The rooms are wonderful, and get a park view room if possible – the view is great. The staff was always friendly and courteous, and we had great customer service with whatever we needed. They are willing to go the “extra mile” to make sure customers are happy.
The hotel’s location is great as well – right across the street from the Kensington Gardens, and about a five minute walk away from the nearest Underground station, which makes transportation pretty much anywhere in the city center easily done. There are also a number of restaurants nearby, including a strong showing of Asian restaurants. It’s also a relatively quiet and safe neighborhood – we never felt worried, no matter how late at night we came back. We highly recommend this hotel as a base for your London adventures.

Room Tip: Get a park view room if possible!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DevinvH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_KGN, Manager at Thistle Kensington Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review Thistle Kensington Garden. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed stay with us, from the location of the hotel to the team delivering their ‘extra mile’ service which they pride themselves in. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel next time you are in London. Kind regards Marianne & the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

This was my first stay in this hotel. I would rather give it three stars as I did not see four star hotel service. The metro/tube station is just 5 minutes walk. If you need anything, you can buy from Little Waitrose downstairs. The bed was comfortable, but the room is quite small. Breakfast was OK, but breakfast staff were not interested in customers. For several mornings they run out of cooked food and courasants. Overall OK, but nothing extraordinary.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nikki7778
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_KGN, Manager at Thistle Kensington Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I am please to hear that you found the location and hotel acceptable, however I am disappointed that we did not meet your expectations in terms of service on this occasion, as you can see from other reviews that this is not typical of the usual high levels of service that the team pride themselves in. Kind regards Marianne.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

I enjoyed my stay at this hotel and found the location to be great. It's easily walkable to the park, public transportation, and many dining options. The concierge provided great advice on all of our questions. Yes, our room was small by most US standards but London is not the US! It provided a comfortable and quiet night's sleep to recharge for sightseeing!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dedgr8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_KGN, Manager at Thistle Kensington Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review Thistle Kensington Garden. I am pleased to hear of your satisfaction with the hotel and the concierge team. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel next time you visit London. Kind regards Marianne & the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

Party of six, all on separate floors, room small but clean, bathroom fine, breakfast was a shambles as they had run out of cooked food and had to wait, but good when there, breakfast staff fairly disinterested.

One lift out of order, remaining two erratic and almost impossible to get, lots of people complaining about lifts, not great when your on the 6th floor

Kettle in room not working, key card didn't work to start with,

One beer and one glass of red wine in bar £14 inc service charge

Not the best stay, but ok

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doug B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_KGN, Manager at Thistle Kensington Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I am disappointed to hear that we did not meet your expectations on this occasion. We are currently working on improving our lifts; however in order for this to happen we are currently working with a reduced lift service, please accept my apologies for any inconvenience that this caused you. Kind regards Marianne.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Location is pretty good for Kensington Gardens/Hyde Park and the Kensington museums with an abundance of public transport optins - Queensway Underground plus lots of buses up to Notting Hill and down into Central London.

The hotel itself is not one of the best Thistles....standard rooms are pretty small with tiny bathrooms, the lifts are also small and very slow (one of the three was also out of action) resulting in long delays. Check in/concierge staff were professional and efficienct. The hotel is better inside than from the outside, breakfast was OK..not brilliant but acceptable. Staff in the dining room were good.

Overall not a bad hotel and as London is so expensive the Thistle Kensington Gardens is OK.but nothing more.

Room Tip: choose a higher floor for a quiet room, standard rooms only have a city (and not a garden view)..but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PGRBrussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

We stayed here in May this year in a deluxe double room. The bed was comfortable and the room was clean, the windows are double glazed so it is relatively quiet for a busy area. The hotel is situated over a petrol station which has a mini supermarket attached which is great for getting little extras that you may want but beware there is no fridge in the room. The entrance is around the corner with only the concerige on that level with reception being at level 1. The lifts are tiny so sometimes there is a wait as people unload suitcases etc. There is a bus stop outside which has people selling tickets for the hop on, hop off buses which are a great way to start your London experience.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Mitzime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_KGN, Manager at Thistle Kensington Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review Thistle Kensington Garden. I am pleased to hear of your satisfaction with the hotel and it's location. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel next time you visit London. Kind regards Marianne & the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Kensington and Hyde Park
Thistle Hyde Park
Thistle Hyde Park
#463 of 1,078 in London
917 reviews
Notting Hill
Grand Royale London Hyde Park
Blakemore Hyde Park
#311 of 1,078 in London
1,651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Notting Hill
DoubleTree by Hilton - London Hyde Park
Notting Hill
Hilton London Hyde Park
Hilton London Hyde Park
#377 of 1,078 in London
447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thistle Kensington Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thistle Kensington Gardens

Address: 104 Bayswater Road | Hyde park, London W2 3HL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#172 Business Hotel in London
#189 Family Hotel in London
#210 Romantic Hotel in London
#220 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: $133 - $294 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Thistle Kensington Gardens 4*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly refurbished modern hotel located on Bayswater Road with the tranquility of Hyde Park and Kensington Gardens opposite, and within walking distance to Paddington, Oxford Street, Kensington, Notting Hill and Edgware Road, the hotel is ideally placed for business or leisure. Good transport links ensure that the city and theatres are also within very easy reach. All Deluxe and Executive bedrooms are located at the front of the hotel and have amazing views over Kensington Gardens and are available at a supplement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Thistle Kensington Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thistle Kensington Gardens London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing