We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not bad for a cheap deal”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Thistle Kensington Gardens
Ranked #287 of 1,064 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Southampton, UK
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Not bad for a cheap deal”
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Room was clean, so was bathroom. Not bad use of space (although couldn't open the cupboard door which contained the kettle as the end of the bed was in the way). Bed was comfy. Bit odd located above a petrol station and had awful view over the petrol station roof into the buildings next door. However, we only stayed one night and didn't book it for a fancy hotel, booked it as it was close to Royal Albert Hall.

Having later found out the full price for the standard room we stayed in was above £200, I would never pay this. If you can get the deal I paid for (only £54 for double standard room) it's not bad value for money. Didn't bother going for the breakfast as previous experience has tought me this is usually around £15 for a buffet, not worth the money when you could go out somewhere else.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StephC89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMthistle, Manager at Thistle Kensington Gardens, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review Thistle Kensington Garden. I am pleased that overall you enjoyed your stay with us. We offer many special promotions through out the year; so please keep a close eye on our website to catch the bargain deals! We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future. Kind regards Marianne & the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,905 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    778
    811
    244
    49
    23
See reviews for
417
774
67
274
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (515)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Caunton
Level Contributor
57 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Notwithstanding the hotel was clean and tastefully decorated, the room we had (executive) had an extremely comfortable bed and a well designed bathroom. Even the shower provided a refreshing start to the day!
The big differential for me was the attitade and attention of the staff. Their happy but professional attitude ensured all queries were efficiently dealt with and no guest could feel self concious about requesting any service etc. We did not eat in the restaurant but if breakfast was anything to go by, it would be good. The staff dealt with our special food requests without any issue, providing quality and service that left no complaint.
Car parking for London was reasonably priced and location for shopping exceptional. Well done THG

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WinkerCaunton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMthistle, Manager at Thistle Kensington Gardens, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review Thistle Kensington Garden. It is lovely to hear how comfortable your stay was with us. The team pride themselves in delivering high levels of customer service and I am pleased that this was evident throughout your experience. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future. Kind regards Marianne and the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
253 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013

The hotel is located opposite the park in a relatively quiet area but still only 20 minute walk to busy Oxford street. We even walked all the way to Piccadilly Circus.
The rooms are compact but no smaller than over London hotels I stayed at. The place is modern and clean, the bed very comfortable.
We would happily stay there again for another weekend break.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oribie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMthistle, Manager at Thistle Kensington Gardens, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review Thistle Kensington Garden. I am pleased that you found the hotel location so convenient and enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future. Kind regards Marianne & the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013

I have stayed at many four star hotels across London and can categorically state that this is the best one when looking at all aspects of service, location, quality of rooms and breakfast. This hotel has the best customer service I have ever encountered, the location directly across from Kensington Gardens in superb, the room was well equipped with FREE wi-fi which is an annoying expense at Raddisson and Marriot hotels. I had a lovely breakfast and nothing was too much trouble for staff. For women travelling on their own it is very comfortable and in an area that makes you feel safe. The hotel can be accessed from Queensway tube station within 3/4 minutes so no trouble at all with my wheelie case.

I hope to make this my regular hotel of choice in the future when visiting London.

Room Tip: Pay extra for a Gardens view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeekieLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMthistle, Manager at Thistle Kensington Gardens, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review Thistle Kensington Garden. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed all the aspects of the hotel so much. Thank you also for you comments regarding the friendliness of the team and I will ensure that this is passed onto them. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future. Kind regards Marianne and the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is in a perfect location for visiting london both personal and business. Hyde park is across the road 2mins walk to the central line. Staff helpful and friendly just was wish decent london hotels where a little cheaper.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lu1810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMthistle, Manager at Thistle Kensington Gardens, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review Thistle Kensington Garden. I am pleased that you found the hotel location so convenient and enjoyed your stay with us. We offer many special promotions through out the year; so please keep a close eye on our website to catch the bargain deals! We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future. Kind regards Marianne & the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Stayed in January a party of 10 we had great rooms clean and fresh with excellent views over Hyde Park. The beds were king doubles and very comfortable with air conditioning and a modern flat screen TV with good chanel choices. The Shower in the bathrooms were excellent with a waterfall head and good preasure we all really enjoyed this especially after a busy day exploring the city. We decided to eat in on the first night and the team looked after well and the food was outstanding, we particularly enjoyed the cocktails. Breakfast was super although self service they have a chef doing egg's to order ( I can definately reccomend the poached eggs) again the staff were very attentive and friendly. We visited the Science museum which is just a short walk over the park. It was a great location and we would definately return.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BarbH2208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMthistle, Manager at Thistle Kensington Gardens, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review Thistle Kensington Garden. It is lovely to hear how comfortable your stay was with us and that you also took the opportunity to dine with us in the evening as well as for breakfast. The team pride themselves in delivering high levels of customer service and I am pleased to hear of your experience. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future. Kind regards Marianne and the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 7 nights last September, as the start of our European Vacation.
The location is great, close to 3 tube stations, a few blocks from a laundromat, close to NottingHill Gate for food and shopping, and also a 10 minute walk from Marble Arch, at the West End of Oxford St.
Service in the hotel was great, quick check-in and check-out, with a helpful concierge to answer any of our questions.
The only downside to this hotel, was the smallish bathroom, which was a tight squeeze to get into, however it served its purpose.

Room Tip: Try to get a view over the gardens, preferably a few floors up to avoid any potential road noise!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jason G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMthistle, Manager at Thistle Kensington Gardens, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review Thistle Kensington Garden. It is wonderful to hear about the great service you received. We hope to be able to welcome you back to the hotel in next time you are in the UK. Kind regards Marianne & the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Kensington and Hyde Park
Thistle Hyde Park
Thistle Hyde Park
#363 of 1,064 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 876 reviews
Notting Hill
Grand Royale London Hyde Park
Notting Hill
DoubleTree by Hilton - London Hyde Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Notting Hill
Hilton London Hyde Park
Hilton London Hyde Park
#380 of 1,064 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
Paddington / Maida Vale
Park Grand Paddington Court
Park Grand Paddington Court
#201 of 1,064 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thistle Kensington Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thistle Kensington Gardens

Property: Thistle Kensington Gardens
Address: 104 Bayswater Road | Hyde park, London W2 3HL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#172 Business Hotel in London
#189 Family Hotel in London
#210 Romantic Hotel in London
#211 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Thistle Kensington Gardens 4*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly refurbished modern hotel located on Bayswater Road with the tranquility of Hyde Park and Kensington Gardens opposite, and within walking distance to Paddington, Oxford Street, Kensington, Notting Hill and Edgware Road, the hotel is ideally placed for business or leisure. Good transport links ensure that the city and theatres are also within very easy reach. All Deluxe and Executive bedrooms are located at the front of the hotel and have amazing views over Kensington Gardens and are available at a supplement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Thistle Kensington Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thistle Kensington Gardens London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing