We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Thistle Kensington Gardens
Ranked #307 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 25, 2012

As expected, nice interior and bedroom was big enough for 3 adults, we found the beds a bit hard but didnt seek out a mattress topper. Good selection for breakfast. 2 tube lines nearby bayswater and queensway. Nice location and would stay again,good value. Everyone was helpful. Room 717 had a nice view over Hyde park/Kensington gardens. Tip: if you don't want to get your hair wet in the shower I would bring a shower cap.

Room Tip: 717 nice view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rroo2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMthistle, General Manager at Thistle Kensington Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2012

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to review Thistle Kensington Gardens. Thanks also for your room tip: the views across the park are great! You don’t have to pack a shower cap as we supply these caps in all of our bedrooms. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and I look forward to welcoming you back soon. Best regards. Billy & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,062)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,447 - 1,453 of 2,062 reviews

Reviewed October 25, 2012

Was moved here after our hotel was closed due to a power failure had a wonderful stay breakfast had everything you could wish for and more and the chef on the buffet was as helpful as can be the room was clean and spacious overall even though it wasn't the hotel we booked we wouldn't hesitate to return

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daddycowley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMthistle, General Manager at Thistle Kensington Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2012

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to review Thistle Kensington Gardens. It is great to read that your unplanned change of hotel did not negatively impact your stay. Many thanks also for your comments about our breakfast chef. I look forward to welcoming you back soon. Best regards. Billy & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012 via mobile

This again exceeds our expectation of european standards...room is spacious..clean and very new!

Location is superb as it is very near queensway and bayswater station..

It's also right opposite the Kensington park and waking up to greeneries is really one of the best experience one can have in a city..

Take note that there is no free wifi..other than that..would totally recommend this hotel!

Thank oo_pipi_liz
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
GMthistle, General Manager at Thistle Kensington Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2012

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to review Thistle Kensington Gardens. Your comments about our location, room sizes and the experience of the park will help other travellers when deciding to choose us. As you will see from some of my other responses, free WIFI is coming very soon. I look forward to welcoming you back. Best regards. Billy & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Having just returned from the most AMAZING weekend staying at The Thistle Kensington Gardens, I needed to let you all know what a wonderful choice of hotel this would be! Its the second time I've been now and I have to say that its the only place I'd want to stay when visiting London! We couldnt have wished for anything more perfect! The hotel itself is brilliantly located on Bayswater Road with stunning views across Hyde Park and only a few minutes walk to the Queensway Underground Station. An efficient and friendly receptionist welcomed us on arrival and effortlessly checked us into our rooms. Our rooms was spacious, comfortable and spotlessly clean with everything we could possibly need for our stay. Breakfast was delicious and each and every member of staff made us feel relexed and welcome, it really was such a great experience from start to finish. I cant wait till next time already!
Special mention must also go to the concierge team. They couldnt be more helpful in recommending local attractions or organising transport. I would recommend the Thistle to anyone planning a trip to London! Enjoy it! We certainly did!! xx

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chicaJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMthistle, General Manager at Thistle Kensington Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2012

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to review Thistle Kensington Gardens and for your fantastic recommendation. All feedback is shared with the team and I am sure they will enjoying reading this review. I look forward to welcoming you back soon. Best regards. Billy & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

My wife and I and another couple, just returned to the States after a 5 night visit to London. We decided to stay at the Thistle Kensington Gardens mostly based upon its location and positive reviews. We wish we could say that the hotel lived up to our expectations, but we can't. We had a Deluxe Park View room on the ninth floor and, while it did have a beautiful view, thats where the value of the room ended. There was no dresser with drawers to put our clothes. We had to call and ask for a luggage rack and lived out of suitcases for 6 days. The lighting in the room was very dim. The bathroom, while clean, offered no wash cloths, and the tub was extremely narrow, slippery, and hard to get in and out of. On our last night, the shampoo was missing so we called the front desk who transferred us to the concierge who brought up a small bottle of bath gel, telling us "its all the same and to use it for our hair." Be careful in the bar and check your bill. We had drinks one night and when they brought us our bill they were charging us for two extra drinks that we didn't have. On the final hotel bill, the automatically included an extra pound for the unemployed workers in London. You have to ask for it to be taken off the bill if you don't want to pay. Also, the wifi is not free as it is in many other hotels. The breakfast, I have to admit was good, but the lunch and dinner menu is limited and nothing special.
Would not stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PennRay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMthistle, General Manager at Thistle Kensington Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2012

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to review Thistle Kensington Gardens. I am sorry your stay was a mix of good and bad. All of our rooms have cupboard and drawer space and most have luggage racks. I appreciate on a 5 night stay some of our rooms may not offer the right amount of space, however we are always in a position to offer a move to a room that will accommodate this. Apologies also for the error with your bar bill, this was a poor mistake and nothing underhand. I am confident you would experience a more positive stay on a future visit. Best regards. Billy & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

We stayed for 5 nights in this clean and very comfortable hotel only 5 minutes walk from Queensway, a Circle Line underground station. Our room was small but had excellent bathroom facilities and was exceptionally quiet at night. The staff were polite and friendly, The Albert Hall is only 15 minutes walk across Kensington Gardens and 10 more minutes will bring you to Harrods and the museums in Exhibition Road. Buses stop right outside taking you in to Piccadilly and out towards Kew Gardens. A Waitrose supermarket is adjacent to the hotel for those essential picnic supplies.
Will happily return.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brian1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMthistle, General Manager at Thistle Kensington Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2012

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to review Thistle Kensington Gardens. Thanks also for pointing out some of the great tourist attractions our guests can easily access from the hotel. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and I look forward to welcoming you back soon. Best regards. Billy & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

We have just returned from a recent visit to London and we stayed at this fantastic hotel. A short walk from the tube station and it in a great location. Our room was a good size very clean and modern and forward facing over the park. The room was very well equiped. The room even came with our very own room binoculars so you could see the sites from the window. The staff were excellent and very very helpful. I am looking forward to my next trip already and can not recommend this hotel more!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mcguireacm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMthistle, General Manager at Thistle Kensington Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2012

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to review Thistle Kensington Gardens. I appreciate your comments about the helpfulness of the team at the hotel. I look forward to welcoming you back soon. Best regards. Billy & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Kensington and Hyde Park
Thistle Hyde Park
Thistle Hyde Park
#459 of 1,077 in London
928 reviews
Notting Hill
Grand Royale London Hyde Park
Notting Hill
Hilton London Hyde Park
Hilton London Hyde Park
#373 of 1,077 in London
474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Blakemore Hyde Park
#325 of 1,077 in London
1,674 reviews
Notting Hill
DoubleTree by Hilton - London Hyde Park
Lancaster Gate Hotel
#442 of 1,077 in London
2,228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thistle Kensington Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thistle Kensington Gardens

Address: 104 Bayswater Road | Hyde park, London W2 3HL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#171 Business Hotel in London
#209 Romantic Hotel in London
#219 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: $116 - $259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Thistle Kensington Gardens 4*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly refurbished modern hotel located on Bayswater Road with the tranquility of Hyde Park and Kensington Gardens opposite, and within walking distance to Paddington, Oxford Street, Kensington, Notting Hill and Edgware Road, the hotel is ideally placed for business or leisure. Good transport links ensure that the city and theatres are also within very easy reach. All Deluxe and Executive bedrooms are located at the front of the hotel and have amazing views over Kensington Gardens and are available at a supplement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Thistle Kensington Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thistle Kensington Gardens London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing