We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“FANTASTIC HOTEL STAY, BEST LOCATION & FRIENDLY STAFF” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Thistle Kensington Gardens

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Thistle Kensington Gardens
Ranked #298 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“FANTASTIC HOTEL STAY, BEST LOCATION & FRIENDLY STAFF”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

Having just returned from the most AMAZING weekend staying at The Thistle Kensington Gardens, I needed to let you all know what a wonderful choice of hotel this would be! Its the second time I've been now and I have to say that its the only place I'd want to stay when visiting London! We couldnt have wished for anything more perfect! The hotel itself is brilliantly located on Bayswater Road with stunning views across Hyde Park and only a few minutes walk to the Queensway Underground Station. An efficient and friendly receptionist welcomed us on arrival and effortlessly checked us into our rooms. Our rooms was spacious, comfortable and spotlessly clean with everything we could possibly need for our stay. Breakfast was delicious and each and every member of staff made us feel relexed and welcome, it really was such a great experience from start to finish. I cant wait till next time already!
Special mention must also go to the concierge team. They couldnt be more helpful in recommending local attractions or organising transport. I would recommend the Thistle to anyone planning a trip to London! Enjoy it! We certainly did!! xx

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chicaJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMthistle, General Manager at Thistle Kensington Gardens, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to review Thistle Kensington Gardens and for your fantastic recommendation. All feedback is shared with the team and I am sure they will enjoying reading this review. I look forward to welcoming you back soon. Best regards. Billy & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,841 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    745
    783
    242
    48
    23
See reviews for
401
753
66
265
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (499)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Easton, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

My wife and I and another couple, just returned to the States after a 5 night visit to London. We decided to stay at the Thistle Kensington Gardens mostly based upon its location and positive reviews. We wish we could say that the hotel lived up to our expectations, but we can't. We had a Deluxe Park View room on the ninth floor and, while it did have a beautiful view, thats where the value of the room ended. There was no dresser with drawers to put our clothes. We had to call and ask for a luggage rack and lived out of suitcases for 6 days. The lighting in the room was very dim. The bathroom, while clean, offered no wash cloths, and the tub was extremely narrow, slippery, and hard to get in and out of. On our last night, the shampoo was missing so we called the front desk who transferred us to the concierge who brought up a small bottle of bath gel, telling us "its all the same and to use it for our hair." Be careful in the bar and check your bill. We had drinks one night and when they brought us our bill they were charging us for two extra drinks that we didn't have. On the final hotel bill, the automatically included an extra pound for the unemployed workers in London. You have to ask for it to be taken off the bill if you don't want to pay. Also, the wifi is not free as it is in many other hotels. The breakfast, I have to admit was good, but the lunch and dinner menu is limited and nothing special.
Would not stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PennRay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMthistle, General Manager at Thistle Kensington Gardens, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to review Thistle Kensington Gardens. I am sorry your stay was a mix of good and bad. All of our rooms have cupboard and drawer space and most have luggage racks. I appreciate on a 5 night stay some of our rooms may not offer the right amount of space, however we are always in a position to offer a move to a room that will accommodate this. Apologies also for the error with your bar bill, this was a poor mistake and nothing underhand. I am confident you would experience a more positive stay on a future visit. Best regards. Billy & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grantown-on-Spey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

We stayed for 5 nights in this clean and very comfortable hotel only 5 minutes walk from Queensway, a Circle Line underground station. Our room was small but had excellent bathroom facilities and was exceptionally quiet at night. The staff were polite and friendly, The Albert Hall is only 15 minutes walk across Kensington Gardens and 10 more minutes will bring you to Harrods and the museums in Exhibition Road. Buses stop right outside taking you in to Piccadilly and out towards Kew Gardens. A Waitrose supermarket is adjacent to the hotel for those essential picnic supplies.
Will happily return.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMthistle, General Manager at Thistle Kensington Gardens, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to review Thistle Kensington Gardens. Thanks also for pointing out some of the great tourist attractions our guests can easily access from the hotel. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and I look forward to welcoming you back soon. Best regards. Billy & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

We have just returned from a recent visit to London and we stayed at this fantastic hotel. A short walk from the tube station and it in a great location. Our room was a good size very clean and modern and forward facing over the park. The room was very well equiped. The room even came with our very own room binoculars so you could see the sites from the window. The staff were excellent and very very helpful. I am looking forward to my next trip already and can not recommend this hotel more!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mcguireacm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMthistle, General Manager at Thistle Kensington Gardens, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to review Thistle Kensington Gardens. I appreciate your comments about the helpfulness of the team at the hotel. I look forward to welcoming you back soon. Best regards. Billy & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

Arrived at Queensway tube station to find the hotel just around the corner, great! Had a lovely welcome by the member of staff at reception and found our room very comfortable. The view from our room was stunning, it looked over Kensington gardens and we could see many landmarks. Breakfast was good, especially the bread, yum!! Will definitely book again next time we're in London.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emily M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMthistle, General Manager at Thistle Kensington Gardens, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to review Thistle Kensington Gardens. It was great to hear you and your family experienced one of our park facing rooms. Great views! I look forward to welcoming you and your family back soon. Best regards. Billy & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

We stayed at this hotel on the 08.10.2012. When we arrived at 12pm the concierge told us our room would be ready, and instead of assisting us with our luggage, sent us and our luggage up to reception located on the 1st floor. The lifts in this hotel are only slightly larger than phone boxes so 3 people with 3 peoples luggage involved 3 trips in this pathetic little lift!
We arrived at reception only to be told abruptly that check in was at 2pm and to come back then. Guess what? Another three trips back down in the lift with all our luggage again unassisted by the concierge, who said they had a holding room for luggage but that turned out to be a small closet and he had trouble fitting three suitcases in there.
We booked and paid for a triple room but the room we were given was very, very small. The bed side chest had to be turned sideways into the double bed to accommodate the third (roll away) bed in this miniscule room, and there was not even enough room for the three suitcases.
Another significant problem was the beds themselves. They were so uncomfortable and lumpy with springs sticking in our backs and we had no sleep all night because of this.
As for the buffet breakfast which we had prepaid with the room, it was very ordinary. The food was either lukewarm or cold so we all left it and bought breakfast at the train station. We are very disappointed and would not book there again.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Geoff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMthistle, General Manager at Thistle Kensington Gardens, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to review Thistle Kensington Gardens. I am genuinely sorry to hear about your uncomfortable stay with us. Our concierge team are fully aware they are the first point of contact in the hotel and therefore always give a friendly welcome and assistance with luggage, its disappointing to hear that this did not happen on this occasion, especially with the luggage you were carrying and I am sure the distance you travelled to stay with us. As you will see from many previous reviews this is very uncharacteristic. All of our beds and mattresses are only a year old following a complete refurbishment of the hotel last year, however I will check the rooms in which you stayed. I am sorry your experience with us was a poor one and I am confident this would not happen again. Please accept my apologies for this. Best regards. Billy & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012 via mobile

Upon arrival we checked in early but had to wait for room (we were early). The first member of staff we met was a bit abrupt and seemed put out.

We gave our luggage to the concierge who looked after it until we returned. Eventually we returned and checked into our room via an excellent member of staff called Emilia who was genuinely interested in us and our plans and made us feel welcome and valued.
The room was great. Clean and bright and the view over the London skyline was amazing. The facilities in the room were excellent. A knock at the door was answered by myself to discover the staff had laid on a cake for my birthday!
All in all an excellent experience. I would stay here again.
Emilia checked we had enjoy our stay in the hotel and took time to ask us about our London experience and where we live. Topped off with a Crunchie bar (it was Friday!) we walked out happy!

Recommended! Not cheap but not overly expensive if you book it right ;)

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Philmeskips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Kensington and Hyde Park
Thistle Hyde Park
Thistle Hyde Park
#367 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 862 reviews
Notting Hill
Grand Royale London Hyde Park
Notting Hill
DoubleTree by Hilton - London Hyde Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Paddington / Maida Vale
Park Grand Paddington Court
Park Grand Paddington Court
#200 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 789 reviews
Notting Hill
Hilton London Hyde Park
Hilton London Hyde Park
#416 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thistle Kensington Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thistle Kensington Gardens

Property: Thistle Kensington Gardens
Address: 104 Bayswater Road, London W2 3HL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#172 Business Hotel in London
#189 Family Hotel in London
#210 Romantic Hotel in London
#219 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Thistle Kensington Gardens 4*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly refurbished modern hotel located on Bayswater Road with the tranquility of Hyde Park and Kensington Gardens opposite, and within walking distance to Paddington, Oxford Street, Kensington, Notting Hill and Edgware Road, the hotel is ideally placed for business or leisure. Good transport links ensure that the city and theatres are also within very easy reach. All Deluxe and Executive bedrooms are located at the front of the hotel and have amazing views over Kensington Gardens and are available at a supplement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Thistle Kensington Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thistle Kensington Gardens London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing