We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, convenient, affordable” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Thistle Kensington Gardens

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Thistle Kensington Gardens
Ranked #298 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
366 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
“Clean, convenient, affordable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2012

4 night stay after a week's walk in Cornwall. Concierge extremely helpful with nearby restaurants, reservations, airport transportation. 2 blocks from Queensbury tube station, across the street from bus stop to Piccadilly (#94), and from Kensington Gardens for morning stroll or jog. Standard rooms are London-small, but impeccably clean.

Room Tip: Rooms are quiet, but ask for location away from Bayswater Road just to be sure.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank D N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,841 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    745
    783
    242
    48
    23
See reviews for
401
753
66
265
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (499)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lappeenranta, Finland
Level Contributor
60 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2012

Stayed 3 nights in a standard room and was not dissappointed. Room was small but clean and the bathroom was nice with a funny door. We ate breakfast in the hotel and it was worth of the money. We mostly used the tube to explore the city and the situation between two stations was convenient. The neigborhood was safe and there were lot of pubs and restaurants nearby.The only thing I didn't like, was the cleaner who knocked the door in the mornings and once even came into the room although we had the Do not disturb sign in the door. I would definetly choose this hotel again!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank metteling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldsmar, Florida
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

Close to everything. Tube and bus stops within 3 minutes. Great staff. No gym! bummer. Clean room. I would return. dcp

Room Tip: Noisy street..get high up if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank david p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

Stayed in this hotel for 1 night following a festival in hyde park. The service at the hotel was very good, they let me store a bag in a secure cupboard before check in so that I didn't have to take it with me to the festival then took it to my room for me when I arrived back in the early hours.
The room was very small, but I was only there for 1 night so it wasn't much of an issue. The bathroom was brilliant and the shower.... I could have stayed in there all day. The room was clean and the bed linin was fresh. All the items, kettle, lights, hairdryer etc.. worked and I didn't have to report anything.
Location was really good, 10 mins walk from Paddington Station and 15 from hyde park. Really good location for everything.
The check out time of 12:00 is really good as when you've had a late night a lie in is always needed.
It was a little pricey for 1 night without breakfast, but all hotels increased their price for this concert.
I would stay again, but if I were staying more than 1 night, I would request a larger sized room.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Griff84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights and loved our stay a this hotel. The hotel is pretty new and close to the metro and bus station. Room is a little bit small however the bathroom is nice. People are very welcoming and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dydy2809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2012

The location of the hotel cannot be faulted, overlooking the Park and walking distance to oxford street (10/15 min walk), we also walked to Harrods and the Natural History Museum from the hotel quite easily.
The rooms are good, small but clean and they look really good especially the bathroom. The staff are also very nice, friendly and helpful.
It would have been the perfect weekend away for us if not for the hassle with room service......to make a long story short we were asked to pay cash despite the fact we had registered a card at reception, the hotel apologised and we thought everything was fine until the next day when a demand for payment was slipped under our door, again we had to point out that they had our card details and permission to take payment, so another apology from reception only to have the same thing happen upon check out!
We have stayed in a lot of hotels and almost always get room service but have never experienced anythings as shambolic or embarrassing (i'm not used to being treated like im going to skip out on my bill).
I would recommend the hotel but don't get room service.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank missyalli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights with my husband and 14 year old American granddaughter. I requested a family room and got a double room with a king size bed and camp bed. There was hardly any space between the camp bed and one side of the king bed but both beds were comfortable. The room and bathroom were spotless but spoilt by the noise on Bayswater Road despite the double glazing. We were on the 3rd floor with views over Kensington Gardens. The breakfasts were good and the staff were very helpful and pleasant especially the concierges. We used the red buses, a 2 minute walk from the hotel to the bus stop, more than the tube. The journey back to St Pancras was much easier on the bus than on the tube with the changes. We would definitely stay here again but request a room on a higher floor.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Kensington and Hyde Park
Thistle Hyde Park
Thistle Hyde Park
#367 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 862 reviews
Notting Hill
Grand Royale London Hyde Park
Notting Hill
DoubleTree by Hilton - London Hyde Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Paddington / Maida Vale
Park Grand Paddington Court
Park Grand Paddington Court
#200 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 789 reviews
Notting Hill
Hilton London Hyde Park
Hilton London Hyde Park
#416 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thistle Kensington Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thistle Kensington Gardens

Property: Thistle Kensington Gardens
Address: 104 Bayswater Road, London W2 3HL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#172 Business Hotel in London
#189 Family Hotel in London
#210 Romantic Hotel in London
#219 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Thistle Kensington Gardens 4*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly refurbished modern hotel located on Bayswater Road with the tranquility of Hyde Park and Kensington Gardens opposite, and within walking distance to Paddington, Oxford Street, Kensington, Notting Hill and Edgware Road, the hotel is ideally placed for business or leisure. Good transport links ensure that the city and theatres are also within very easy reach. All Deluxe and Executive bedrooms are located at the front of the hotel and have amazing views over Kensington Gardens and are available at a supplement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Thistle Kensington Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thistle Kensington Gardens London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing