We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value and base for exploring London”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Thistle Kensington Gardens
Ranked #296 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Fairfax, Vermont
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent value and base for exploring London”
Reviewed December 18, 2011

We stayed at this thistle for two nights in London.

Upsides to this hotel:
--Most hotels we looked at were priced very high--this is a great value
--Very short walk to the Tube station, so a great place to explore from--and in a quiet neighborhood
--Kensington gardens is right across the street--excellent for an evening or morning stroll
--Very clean, well appointed, roomy rooms
--Decent restaurant, good breakfast

Downside:
--While the front-desk service and concierge were very helpful and friendly, for some reason, the restaurant/lounge just couldn't seem to get things right--service was very slow, everyone looked disorganized and confused, and when customers around us made complaints, no attempt to rectify customer service issues.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deb H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thistlehotels, General Manager at Thistle Kensington Gardens, responded to this review, December 29, 2011
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your feedback, we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Can I assure you that I will personally follow up your comments concerning the lounge service.

I hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind Regards,

Paul Knightley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,965 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    796
    840
    253
    53
    23
See reviews for
432
797
72
283
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (526)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
UNITED KINGDOM
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2011

Stayed for 2 nights 1st night dinner and bed and breakast. The food was tasty at dinner and breakfast. The hotel was very quiet we were on the 9th floor

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sunnygirl4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thistlehotels, General Manager at Thistle Kensington Gardens, responded to this review, December 29, 2011
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your feedback, we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

I hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind Regards,

Paul Knightley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed December 15, 2011

This was my first visit to this hotel and I will make sure it's not my last. The location was ideal for my visit to Winter Wonderland. My room was clean and spacious and the views were amazing. I could see some of the attractions from Winter Wonderland in the distance and even the London Eye...! On my return back I felt lost in the HUGE bed but had the best nights sleep...! I look forward to coming back and using the F&B facilities as I didnt get the chance to do this as I came straight from work and ended up getting to the hotel late.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NateLawUnwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thistlehotels, General Manager at Thistle Kensington Gardens, responded to this review, December 29, 2011
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your feedback, we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
I hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind Regards,

Paul Knightley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2011

We stayed in the thistle for a five day stretch and really enjoyed it. The room were nice and spacious with plenty of space to store our bags and the beds were super comfortable. We had breakfast everyday in the restaurant which was delicious then walked through Hyde park to get to central London which was a treat. The only issue I had was that on the second day I sprained my back (too much shopping) and Needed to move rooms so I could have a bath but Caroline from the front desk was extremely organised and help me move my things across with no fuss whatsoever. I would definitely come back.

Room Tip: A higher floor gives you a better view garden side or not
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chrispruce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
186338Thistle, General Manager at Thistle Kensington Gardens, responded to this review, December 19, 2011
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your feedback, we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. I was happy to hear that Caroline was able to assist you in changing your room to one with a bath and I hope that you have now fully recovered!

I hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind Regards,

Paul Knightley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2011

We stayed in room 218 which did not overlook the gardens but didn't really bother us as its was just a base. The rooms are spotless but a tad small. Facilities are new and modern with comfy beds.

Reception could have been better. I ordered a paper which did not arrive and reported it on the day...low and behold they still tried to charge. Anyways...paid in advance and they still tried to charge on check out. I always carry payment confirmations so it wasnt a big deal.

The hotel is really close to Queensway (Central Line) and Bayswater (Circle & District).

Overall it was a really nice stay. Clean, quiet and comfortable.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lawsonio1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
186338Thistle, General Manager at Thistle Kensington Gardens, responded to this review, December 19, 2011
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your feedback, we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. The room you occupied was one of our Standard bedrooms and we have Deluxe and Executive bedrooms available at a supplement which are larger and also benefit from views over the park. Can I assure you that I have followed up your comments concerning not receiving your requested newspaper as this is not acceptable.

I hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind Regards,

Paul Knightley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glos, UK
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2011

We had a family room for 2 adults & 1 child (age 12), the room was plenty big enough, clean and comfortable, although the child bed was fold away, so not as comfy as a normal bed. The shower was good. Big bath towels for all 3 of us. We had a fab view of Hyde Park. The service was good from start to finish. There were no kids activities, but I wouldn't think anybody would want that as there's far too much to see & do. If you're going to the Winter Wonderland in Hyde Park it's worth catching a bus to Marble Arch as it's quite a walk!

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor, pref with park view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shrnbaker1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
186338Thistle, General Manager at Thistle Kensington Gardens, responded to this review, December 19, 2011
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your feedback, we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. For those guests going to Winter Wonderland, the 148 bus runs past the hotel and has a stop opposite the entrance to Winter Wonderland.

I hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind Regards,

Paul Knightley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed December 2, 2011

I chose to stay at Thistle Kensing Gardens for a two night stay with my girlfriend and I was pleasantly surprised.

From an unsuspecting concierge lobby, a small but elegent reception hall reveals itself.
The Hotel as a whole resides in a perfect area away from the noise of the CBD but merely one tube ride away.

The staff are competent and friendly and always eager to help.

Our room was the perfect size and in impeccible working order.

From someone who works in the Hotel industry this hotel comes highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
186338Thistle, General Manager at Thistle Kensington Gardens, responded to this review, December 19, 2011
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your feedback, we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

I hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind Regards,

Paul Knightley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Kensington and Hyde Park
Thistle Hyde Park
Thistle Hyde Park
#413 of 1,069 in London
897 reviews
Notting Hill
Hilton London Hyde Park
Hilton London Hyde Park
#367 of 1,069 in London
373 reviews
Notting Hill
DoubleTree by Hilton - London Hyde Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Notting Hill
Grand Royale London Hyde Park
The Westbourne Hyde Park
#113 of 1,069 in London
356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thistle Kensington Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thistle Kensington Gardens

Property: Thistle Kensington Gardens
Address: 104 Bayswater Road | Hyde park, London W2 3HL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#172 Business Hotel in London
#189 Family Hotel in London
#210 Romantic Hotel in London
#217 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Thistle Kensington Gardens 4*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly refurbished modern hotel located on Bayswater Road with the tranquility of Hyde Park and Kensington Gardens opposite, and within walking distance to Paddington, Oxford Street, Kensington, Notting Hill and Edgware Road, the hotel is ideally placed for business or leisure. Good transport links ensure that the city and theatres are also within very easy reach. All Deluxe and Executive bedrooms are located at the front of the hotel and have amazing views over Kensington Gardens and are available at a supplement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Thistle Kensington Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thistle Kensington Gardens London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing