We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Thistle Kensington Gardens”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Thistle Kensington Gardens
Ranked #291 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Thistle Kensington Gardens”
Reviewed October 25, 2011

The occasion was very special so after a busy day it was so lovely to get to our hotel to freshen up for the evening ahead! The hotel is beautiful the minute you walk in! You are greeted by really friendly staff! The room was very spacious for the two of us, nicely laid out and the bathroom was lovely too! The room is well equipped of proper size hairdryer, iron and ironing board, you also get a dressing gown! So after a boozy night breakfast was greatly received! The menu choice is fabulous and the staff were all really helpful at a busy time and they were never short of smiles!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emma l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
186338Thistle, General Manager at Thistle Kensington Gardens, responded to this review, October 31, 2011
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for this feedback, we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us, especially the breakfast!

I hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind Regards,

Paul Knightley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,866 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    757
    795
    243
    48
    23
See reviews for
408
764
67
266
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (504)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Corby, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2011

I stayed at Thistle Kensington Gardens with some friends recently as we had a night out in London planned. I have nothing but good comments to say about the hotel. All the staff were very friendly and hospitable, from when we checked in, to breakfast and check out the following morning. The rooms were beautifully refurbed and the breakfast was fantastic, just what the doctor ordered after over indulging the night before. I would definately recommend Thistle Kensington Gardens and without doubt book there again on my next trip to London.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
186338Thistle, General Manager at Thistle Kensington Gardens, responded to this review, October 31, 2011
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for this feedback, we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us, especially the breakfast!

I hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind Regards,

Paul Knightley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2011

The hotel is in a good central location. The rooms are small but ok. The night that we were there, there were some problems with the showers and there were complaints from other guests at checkout about the lack of water. For the price of the hotel this issue could probably have been dealt with better. The one issue that annoyed me was that we had some drinks and food (which was nice) in the hotel brasserie and a service charge was automatically added to all drinks and food. This service charge was listed as discretionary, but when we noticed it and asked for it to be removed there were some grumblings. I feel for the price of the room and the food adding this service charge just reduced my experience and impression of the hotel, and I don't think it was adequately displayed in the brasserie menu.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anlawlor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
186338Thistle, General Manager at Thistle Kensington Gardens, responded to this review, October 31, 2011
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for this feedback, we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. The Deluxe and Executive bedrooms at the hotel are larger than our standard bedrooms as well as having a Park view and these are available at a supplement. With regards to your feedback concerning a lack of hot water, unfortunately there was a problem with one of the boilers and as a result some areas of the hotel did not have hot water. As soon as we were made aware of the issue these rooms were taken off line and were not relet until the issue had been resolved.

Thank you again for your feedback and I hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind Regards,

Paul Knightley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2011

We stayed here for three nights in September 2011. It is easily accessible from the Metro, and we found it a good base for our two days sightseeing in London. We both walked accross Hyde Park to access the sights, and caught the Metro. The room was a good size, nice bathroom. Staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfasts were quite good. We had dinner in the restaurant twice. Good, tasty food, though some asian dishes were more 'asian inspired' than authentic.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clairess_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
186338Thistle, General Manager at Thistle Kensington Gardens, responded to this review, October 31, 2011
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for this feedback, we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

I hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind Regards,

Paul Knightley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2011

In July 2011 my sister and I booked a standard twin room for a 3-night stay at the Thistle Kensington Gardens in early October. Upon our arrival we were dismayed to learn that only a double room was available for us, with no chance of a change as the hotel was completely full. That made us curious about how rooms are allocated since we thought we had made the specific reservation far enough in advance that it should have been met.
Apart from this vexatious start which was rectified the next morning through the diligent efforts of the very pleasant and helpful Princess, we were fully satisfied with all other aspects of our stay. Of course, having spent 5 nights there in December 2010, we did know first-hand what to expect: a modest sized establishment with friendly professional staff, in particular the very helpful concierge Pablo and his assistant, well-equipped if somewhat small rooms, very convenient location opposite the fabulous Hyde Park, good restaurant and, as a bonus, enjoyment of the recent refurbishment now fully completed. That means there is no more struggling with suitcases up a flight of stairs since there is now lift service from arrival point which is the concierge level to the reception area on the floor above.
With access to bus and tube transportation just steps away, London's vast array of historic landmarks, cultural attractions and hubs of shopping and entertainment can be reached in mere minutes. Within a couple of blocks the neighbourhood itself offers a good selection of restaurants, convenience stores, banks, money changers and internet cafes as well as the revamped Whiteley's Shopping Center where many popular high street stores may be found.
Frequent visitors to London, we would certainly return to this Thistle as, in addition to its great location and commendable service standards it provides a warmer cosier atmosphere than many more expansive hotels similarly situated including its sister hotel Marble Arch which we have patronized several times in the past.
For fellow travellers seeking a decent moderate priced, well situated and well staffed newly renovated hotel in central London, in our estimation the Thistle Kensington Gardens would fit the bill and is definitely worth your consideration.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
186338Thistle, General Manager at Thistle Kensington Gardens, responded to this review, October 31, 2011
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for this feedback, we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us despite the challenges that you experienced on your arrival. The hotel is in a great location for all the sites and sounds of London with great transport links and as you note the refurbishment is now fully completed!

Thank you again for your feedback and I hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind Regards,

Paul Knightley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2011

Fantastic hotel booked trough work for a week. Was slightly concerned in arrival as the outside did look a bit rough.

However.....

Fabulous room overlooking Hyde Park. Very comfortable and clean.

Staff very helpful and great service. Menu is a bit limited but food excellent.

Location very handy for tube and local shops on Queensway.

Only grumble, as ever, is the extortionate price for Wi-fi in rooms.

Other than that, wonderful.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MR_Man2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
186338Thistle, General Manager at Thistle Kensington Gardens, responded to this review, October 31, 2011
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for this feedback, we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

I hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind Regards,

Paul Knightley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2011

We arrived at the hotel at 8 am after an overnight flight, and the hotel provided us a room right away - that is a HUGE plus for any traveler.

The room was small, toe-stubbingly small - but served it's purpose while we were there. The lights will not turn on until you put your key-card in the little slot next to the door.

The location is great, about 3 blocks from the Queensway station, we found this optimal for all of our tube travels in the city.

Breakfast was great - and a huge bonus when trying to make your budget stretch. Make the most use out of everything and really have a full breakfast.

The Black Lion pub (between the hotel and the Queensway stop), The Price Alfred Pub, and the Cafe's right on the corner near the Tube all have free wifi if you ask for the password. For a cheap method of communication, download the skype app, pay for credit or the unlimited plan to wherever you'd like to call, and go to town whenever you have wifi. Remember to turn on your airplane mode before you leave your destination.

Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Honeymooners525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thistlehotels, General Manager at Thistle Kensington Gardens, responded to this review, October 21, 2011
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for this feedback, we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and particularly breakfast! The Deluxe and Executive bedrooms at the hotel are larger than our standard bedrooms as well as having a Park view and these are available at a supplement.

Thank you again for your feedback and I hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind Regards,

Paul Knightley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Kensington and Hyde Park
Thistle Hyde Park
Thistle Hyde Park
#360 of 1,088 in London
868 reviews
Notting Hill
Grand Royale London Hyde Park
Notting Hill
DoubleTree by Hilton - London Hyde Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Notting Hill
Hilton London Hyde Park
Hilton London Hyde Park
#406 of 1,088 in London
276 reviews
Paddington / Maida Vale
Park Grand Paddington Court
Park Grand Paddington Court
#201 of 1,088 in London
838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thistle Kensington Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thistle Kensington Gardens

Property: Thistle Kensington Gardens
Address: 104 Bayswater Road, London W2 3HL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#172 Business Hotel in London
#189 Family Hotel in London
#210 Romantic Hotel in London
#215 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Thistle Kensington Gardens 4*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly refurbished modern hotel located on Bayswater Road with the tranquility of Hyde Park and Kensington Gardens opposite, and within walking distance to Paddington, Oxford Street, Kensington, Notting Hill and Edgware Road, the hotel is ideally placed for business or leisure. Good transport links ensure that the city and theatres are also within very easy reach. All Deluxe and Executive bedrooms are located at the front of the hotel and have amazing views over Kensington Gardens and are available at a supplement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Jetsetter and HotelQuickly so you can book your Thistle Kensington Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thistle Kensington Gardens London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing