We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Royal Lancaster London
Nearby Hotels
$200
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hampton by Hilton London Waterloo(London)(Great Value!)
$202
$180
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$251
$212
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$208
$195
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Strand Palace Hotel(London)(Great Value!)
$166
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$231
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$400
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Park Grand London Kensington(London)(Great Value!)
$155
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$200
$189
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
London House Hotel(London)(Great Value!)
$132
$110
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (3,735)
Filter reviews
3,735 results
Traveler rating
1,758
1,352
436
122
67
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,758
1,352
436
122
67
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshyde parkisland grillpark viewpaddington stationlounge barcentral lineoxford streetheathrow expresslondon skylinesuperior roomafternoon teabuffet breakfastkensington gardensmarble archan upgradefantastic hotellondon eye
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,949 - 2,954 of 3,735 reviews
Reviewed August 9, 2009

A number of minor inconveniences added up to create a less than pleasant experience at this hotel. In all honesty, it’s probably perfectly fine if you’re just wanting somewhere to sleep, but I would search for somewhere else when I return to London.

Our plane landed at 6.30am so when we arrived at the hotel we knew we wouldn’t be able to check in yet, that was fine. We stored our bags and went sightseeing. Came back at 2.30pm, check-in was supposed to have been open, but we were told our room wasn’t ready yet. Waited another hour for it to be ready, only to find that it wasn’t a twin as we had reserved, but a double. The mix up continued for another hour, ending in a manger yelling at a staff member in front of us.

The room itself looked really nice, good size bathroom, etc, although the beds were quite lumpy and not very comfortable. On one occasion the maid did not make my bed, the fitted sheet, sheet and doona (not completely in its cover) were just spread out across the bed. I had to make it myself. In a four star hotel I expected better service.

And then at the end of our stay there were extra charges totalling nearly 30 pound that weren’t ours. The charges were taken off, but there was no explanation as to how they got there, and no apology.

Upsides - The location is great, right next to the Lancaster Gate tube station, and within walking distance of Paddington and Queensway stations as well. The conceierge and baggage staff were lovely, helping out with attraction ideas, maps, transportation advice and tips on where to find free wi-fi.

  • Stayed: July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank avventuragrande
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2009

We often stay in the Paddington area because of the ease of Heathrow Express and its central location. Although our room was small, we loved the elegant breakfast service, the help of the staff, the tube around the corner, and the view of Hyde Park. It was a good way to start our holiday.

Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
Thank tabortraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2009

I stayed at this hotel with my partner for one night on 29th July. The location is perfect as the hotel itself is situated just above Lancaster gate tube and overlooks Hyde park. We were there for a birthday break for my partner and had tickets to see Les Mis, for which the location was just excellent! Upon our arrival we told reception staff that it was my partner's birthday and to our surprise, we later found a cute half bottle of champers on ice in our room! Reception staff were lovely and did their best to offer us a room with a view of Hyde park, except we were early checking in and none were clean, however the effort did not go unnoticed.
For the price that we paid we were really pleased and had a pleasant surprise with the size of the room, especially as ours was only the standard room. We are from the Midlands and have seen far smaller rooms outside of London, so this was definitely a plus as all reviews i had read of London hotels seemed to stress how tiny the rooms can be.
Breakfast was served until 11am and we were running on the late side (we arrived about ten to) which i would not recommend as we were greeted by a rather unimpressed woman who reminded us that we were the last couple to eat and how late we were (i guess to be fair, it was pushing it but still it does say until 11 and i'm not sure we needed reminding that we were late).
The breakfast was continental but for a small price (£2) you can upgrade to full English which we duly did and it was most delicious!
I can certainly say that If we ever find ourselves needing to stay in central London again i would not hesitate to return to this hotel, the staff are friendly and helpful and the location was excellent.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank P1ncushionqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2009

Our overall experience with everyone at the Royal Lancaster was outstanding! All the staff were professional, friendly, knowledgeable and extremely helpful, especially the concierge staff. The location, a 5-10 minute walk from Paddington Station and right above the Lancaster Gate tube stop, allowed us to use the great public transportation system quickly and efficiently. The room was not huge, but by European standards was more than adequate. It was furnished very nicely, extremely clean, and the bed was comfortable. The bathroom was spotlessly clean and had a hair dryer and an assortment of toiletries. We did not eat at the hotel, so can't comment on the food, but the room and all related services were excellent. Would not hesitate to return or to recommend to others.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gavinwagner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2009

I stayed at the Royal Lancaster over the weekend 10th/11th/12th July 2009 with my partner as we were attending a birthday celebration in London on the Saturday and decided to combine it with a bit of sightseeing and relaxation! I feel that we got exactly what we wanted with the Royal Lancaster. With lovely views of Hyde Park and right next to Lancaster Gate Tube station, we felt connected to the whole city but away from the major hustle and bustle. We checked in at around 3pm on the Friday afternoon, and spent most of the afternoon just relaxing in our room - which offered us a panoramic city view including the Square Mile, the Gherkin and the very top of the London Eye. In-room facilities were excellent including a proper hairdryer which can never be highly enough rated! For a central London hotel, we were actually pretty impressed with the mini-bar prices too - I have seen more expensive in Leeds! The bathroom was gorgeous, and a minor drainage problem that we reported was seen to almost immediately. The continental breakfast was included in our room deal, and although we chose not to, the option to upgrade to full English was inexpensive. The breakfast was served in a beautiful bright room, and the food was excellent quality with plenty of choice. The staff were very friendly and helpful, going the extra mile when my partner had forgotten his cufflinks to try and help him out and even when we returned to the hotel at 4am after a night out, we were greeted with a smile. I would absolutely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank naomijosephine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal_Lancaster, Hotel Management at Royal Lancaster London, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2009

Thank you for taking the time to recommend our hotel, we are delighted you had such an enjoyable city break. We look forward to welcoming you back, in the meantime please don't hesitate to contact us if we can help you further.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews