We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great room prices - Exorbitant prices for extras”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Royal Lancaster London
Ranked #216 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 10, 2009

Stayed there for one night. Room price with park view 129 GBP, which is reasonable considering the location and high room quality. I strongly recommend paying the surcharge for a room with a view of Hyde Park and the London Eye. Good service - except that I was first given a key to a room that was impossible to get into - even an employee's master key could not open it.
The downside is exorbitant prices for everything once you are there and can't check out. For example, the room price excludes VAT (oh yes, it is written in the tiniest of print when you book). Breakfast is 18-20 GBP plus service charge - and it was nothing special, for example the orange juice tasted as if it was from concentrate. A colleague of mine stayed at the same hotel for several nights. On the second morning he was so outraged about the breakfast prices that he walked for 10 minutes to get breakfast at a nearby cafe for 5 GBP. Internet 17 GBP for 24 hours.
Dinner at the adjoining Islands restaurant is good and surprisingly reasonably priced.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Danishtraveller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal_Lancaster, Marketing & eCommerce Consultant at Royal Lancaster London, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2009

Thank you for taking the time to write this review.

We are delighted you were pleased with your meal at Island as well as the bedroom quality and guest service, and please accept our apologies for the problem with the initial room you were assigned; I trust this was resolved with the minimum of inconvenience to you.

We do strive to ensure our breakfast and internet prices are competitive within the London 4-star hotel market and are sorry if these seem excessive to you. In addition, VAT-exclusive rates are standard at many London hotels, due to the corporate nature of the city; however we will look into making this clearer upon booking.

We hope to welcome you back to The Royal Lancaster in the very near future. In the meantime please do feel free to contact me at nf@royallancaster.com if you have any queries.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,523)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,817 - 2,823 of 3,524 reviews

Reviewed January 31, 2009

We stayed 2 nights and upgraded to an executive suite upon arrival. Imagine our surprise when my fiancee donned the hotel bathrobe to find a 10x10cm faecal smear located on the inner aspect of the robe after puuting it on. If this wasn't bad enough, we had to call reception 3 times over a 40 min period to have the robe attended to and taken away. This would be something to expect whilst backpacking and not in a 4 star in central London. A fruit platter was given as an apology.
Service in the business was cold and efficient.
Overall a nice hotel located right next to the Underground and Hyde Park.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Meloie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal_Lancaster, Hotel Manager at Royal Lancaster London, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2009

I was very surprised and shocked to read your comments regarding the soiled condition of the bathrobe, which I would like to apologise for most sincerely.

I know we did our utmost to resolve this matter during your stay and I am disappointed we did not fully resolve this to your entire satisfaction.

Needless to say, should you return to London in the future please contact me directly and I will personally ensure your stay is memorable for all the right reasons.

Kind Regards,
Andrew Batchelor
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2009

Travelling down to London with friends to watch a West End show raised many questions about what hotel to stay in, location, star rating, budget etc.
Hearing so many horror stories we chose to use the Royal Lancaster as friends had recommended it after a lovely break that they had recently enjoyed.
From arriving through the door, to leaving the following day, the whole experience was exquisite.
The reception staff and concierge were fantastic and friendly, the reception spacious and tactfully decorated with the most fantastic plants.
The room was lovely with fantastic panoramic views over London.
The bar was not excessively priced, although not the cheapest either.
The bed! Probably the best sleep I have had in a hotel in years.
I would whole heartily recommend to anybody.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank nic_cuthbertson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal_Lancaster, Hotel Manager at Royal Lancaster London, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2009

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. I am delighted you had an enjoyable stay and such a good night’s sleep!

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Royal Lancaster in the near future.

In the meantime, please do not hesitate to contact me if you have any queries.

Kind regards,
Andrew Batchelor
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2009

This hotel exceeded our expectations in almost every way. The location is perfect, close to Oxford Street (and all the sales) and to other central London shopping areas. There is a tube station right under the Hotel (but don't worry, you cant hear it). Service is very good, the rooms are well equipped, modern and spacious (go for one of the top floor rooms, the views alone are worth the small extra, Hyde Park is opposite the hotel). The Thia restaurant is one of the best, and not too expensive, and the Island restaurant serves traditional English dishes to a very good standard. Like anything, especially hotels, you have to compare price with quality, and this hotel really rates as excellent, its very good value if you are looking for superior accommodation and facilities in a very central London location, this is hard to beat. We are going back.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulAlgarve_Portugal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal_Lancaster, Hotel Manager at Royal Lancaster London, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2009

Thank you for taking the time and consideration to comment on your recent stay at The Royal Lancaster Hotel.

We are very glad you enjoyed your time with us, and look forward to welcoming you back.

In the meantime, please do not hesitate to contact us if you have any queries.

Kind regards,
Andrew Batchelor
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2009

Location is great but the service was some of the worst I have ever experienced - from being asked by a waitress at breakfast whether "I was really going to eat all that", being hurried out of breakfast and when friends joined our table being told they couldn't have place settings and would have to sit elsewhere (despite it the table being for at least 6) as they were trying to clear our table to ordering room service which never arrived, luggage not being delivered to the room.....

The attitude of all bar the managerial staff was poor. When we checked in, there was only one member of staff on reception and so we were kept waiting for about half an hour. Finally, the lifts are slow beyond belief so we regularly hiked up to the 14th floor.

These are just a few of the incidents we experienced in our 2 night stay!

All in all, a disappointing stay considering the room rate and location. I would warn anyone thinking of staying there to look elsewhere and only stay there if you are prepared for poor service where the staff appear to feel like they are doing the clientele a favour in doing their jobs. Having stayed at a hotel in Budapest just a few days previously, the contrast in service and manners was startling - Budapest hospitality wins on every level.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TeeJaytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal_Lancaster, Hotel Manager at Royal Lancaster London, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2009

Thank you for taking the time and consideration to comment on your recent stay at The Royal Lancaster Hotel.

We take your comments very seriously, and would be grateful if you would be kind enough to contact me directly.

Our goal is Guest Delight and we would like to welcome you back to the Royal Lancaster and ensure your stay is a memorable one for all the right reasons.

Yours sincerely,
Andrew Batchelor
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2008

Stayed here for only one night and was out for most of the evening so I didn't really sample the general facilities of the hotel. It's in a nice location next to a large park and only a couple of minutes walk from Lancaster Gate underground rail station.

Reception was friendly even though I arrived before check-in time and they helpfully asked housekeeping to prioritise getting my room ready. I had pre-paid for the room and although as usual they still wanted my credit card they did not get cross (some do!) when I refused.

The hotel appears quite upmarket with lots of regal-looking marble and so on if you like that sort of thing. It's quite big but fairly deserted and it felt quite spooky when sitting completely on my own in some of their large public areas.

My room on 6th floor was very ordinary and small. I pretty much expected this for central London however. It was clean though and the bed was fairly comfortable; although the view was onto a main road there was not much noise either from traffic or other guests. There was the usual TV, coffee-making stuff, and hairdryer but that was about it.

Downsides were that I discovered about 2AM that the sink and bathtub did not work (water not draining away) but I was too tired to get it fixed and checking out the next morning anyway. Also I was careful to put "do not disturb" on the door but was woken TWICE first when they wanted to clean the room and then by a lady wanting to count the minibar.

A reasonable place to spend the night but that's all.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ultrak3wl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2008

Stayed at the Royal Lancaster Hotel for a short break end of December 2008. Great location overlooking Hyde Park and just a minutes walk from Lancaster Gate underground station.

Only downside, prices high in the bar. Also, English breakfast was to order and not buffet style. Apart from that would recommend.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Neil T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
The Westbourne Hyde Park
#105 of 1,076 in London
425 reviews
Lancaster Gate Hotel
#447 of 1,076 in London
2,184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Arbor Hyde Park Hotel
#233 of 1,076 in London
641 reviews
Kensington and Hyde Park
Mercure London Hyde Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Lancaster London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Lancaster London

Address: Lancaster Terrace, London W2 2TY, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#130 Family Hotel in London
#153 Romantic Hotel in London
#165 Luxury Hotel in London
#206 Business Hotel in London
Price Range: $252 - $441 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Royal Lancaster London 5*
Number of rooms: 411
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located across from Hyde Park, 15 minutes from the financial district and a quick taxi ride to popular sight-seeing locations such as Buckingham Palace. Royal Lancaster London hotel is uniquely positioned to serve the needs of any distinguished guest. Business travelers are invited to take advantage of the hotel’s impressive meeting spaces while enjoying the accessibility of our state-of-the-art on-site gym, hot breakfast and hotel bar. Don’t miss out on their award-winning restaurants, Nipa Thai – offering authentic and delicious Thai dishes, and Island Grill – known for its fresh and sustainable cuisine. The hotel has just inaugurated a collection of brand new rooms and suites, showcasing an effortless blend of mid-century design and contemporary luxury. Curated down to the smallest detail, all rooms feature Smart TVs, heated bathroom floors, quality linen, USB charging port and much more. Choose one of the suites to discover the meaning of “a view with a room”. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Lancaster London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lancaster London Hotel London
Royal Lancaster London England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing