We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Royal Lancaster London
Ranked #171 of 1,081 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 5, 2014

Excellent customer service from all departments. Very friendly staff who are prepared to go the extra mile to ensure that you have a relaxing stay. The rooms are a good size and the view excellent. Parking can be difficult if you can't get a space in the hotel car park. The Guest Relations Manager, Doreen Soltan, is excellent and her attention to detail is second to none.

Room Tip: A room facing Hyde Park and Westminster has the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank HRHPOW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LancasterLondonHotel, Manager at Royal Lancaster London, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2014

Dear HRHPOW,

Thank you for your lovely comments and the praise of our Guest relations Manager Doreen.

It is great to read the Lancaster London has met all your requirements and expectations.

We hope to have you as our guest soon again.

Kind regards
Thoralf Kretzschmar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,689)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,600 - 1,606 of 3,689 reviews

Reviewed August 4, 2014

An ideal location almost near to most of London's attractions, near the Lancaster Gate underground station, very friendly and helpfull staff, clean rooms, excellent housekeeping service. I highly recommend the hotel for all my friends going to London and it would be my choice for my next visit.

Room Tip: A room with a nice view of the Hyde park
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Service
1  Thank gimmy46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LancasterLondonHotel, Manager at Royal Lancaster London, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2014

Dear gimmy46,

Thank you for your great review.

We are very pleased that you really enjoyed your stay at the Lancaster London and that you will be recommending us to your friends.

We hope to welcome you back very soon.

Kind regards
Thoralf Kretzschmar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2014

recently stayed for two nights as we took in a show. was a little disappointed with the room size as it was a little on the small side....we took advantage of the weekend special rate and had a superior room which was vert definitely one of the smaller rooms i have stayed in on my frequent visits to london. having said that, this was more than made up by everything else! hotel was spotlessly clean, breakfast in island restaurant was excellent and the staff were absoluyely top drawer...nothing was too much trouble and they were ALL so friendly! without doubt this is one of the best run hotels in london and compares on that front with the higher graded establishments at thre and four times the cost. i would definitely have no hesitation in staying here again in the future although will next time book a slightly larger room.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AndrewMU4995AF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LancasterLondonHotel, Manager at Royal Lancaster London, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2014

Dear AndrewMU4995AF,

Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor.

We are delighted that our team has exceeded your expectations and created memorable moments for you. I am sorry to hear that the room was a bit too small for you; I would recommend to book from the deluxe category upwards, I am confident these room types will meet your expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards
Thoralf Kretzschmar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2014

Stayed for one night and was reasonably priced for London.was a good location for the shops(about 5-10 mins walk to Oxford st) also had parking at £35 for 24 hours which was pretty good.Staff was very helpful and always happy to help,especially the guy on the door. Had the buffet breakfast which was £15 a head which was ok but a little pricey......

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Harris29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LancasterLondonHotel, Manager at Royal Lancaster London, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2014

Dear Harris29,

Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor.

It is a pleasure to read that our facilities have catered very well for your needs. We are also delighted that you found our team to be accommodating and helpful.

We hope you have reason to stay in London soon again and will be choosing the Lancaster London.

Kind regards
Thoralf Kretzschmar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2014

We stayed at the Lancaster London for five days week before last. With the metro right around the corner and bus stop next to the building, getting downtown was a breeze. In the evenings it was very pleasant to take a stroll through Hyde Park, the Italian gardens, and Kensington Gardens all of which are right next to the hotel. One can walk right through the park and tour Kensington Palace. Short walk to convenience shops and cafés at Paddington station. The staff was very friendly and the rooms were very nice, and air-conditioned. The breakfast buffet was a very nice touch. The hotel arranged for a cab to St. Pancras station for the euro star our last day, which was very nice since we were a party of five with luggage. Wi-Fi was theoretically limited to two hours per day per room. They should go to an open Wi-Fi policy for guests. We would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Request a room with the night time view of downtown London. The kids loved it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Brian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LancasterLondonHotel, Manager at Royal Lancaster London, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2014

Dear Brian R,

Thank you for your feedback on Tripadvisor

We are glad that we have met all your expectations and made your stay an excellent experience.

I am delighted to inform you that since the end of July our WIFI is now completely free for the entire stay. We are listing to the opinion of our guest and have therefore made this decision.

I hope this even one more reason to return back to the Lancaster London soon.

Kind regards
Thoralf Kretzschmar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2014 via mobile

Staff could not have been more helpful, room clean and good value, breakfast high quality and location ideal. High quality hotel but unpretentious. Quick response to room service calls. We will be going back and taking the children.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KayHencher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LancasterLondonHotel, Manager at Royal Lancaster London, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2014

Dear KayHencher,

Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor.

It is great to hear that you had a wonderful stay and are already look forward to coming back with your children. We have some family friendly packages available on our website, I invite you to have a look at them.

We hope to see you soon.

Kind regards
Thoralf Kretzschmar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2014

It was really good. The service was excellent. I'll be back!
It was clean. Free WiFi and good food.
The location was great, you can walk almost everywhere.
I really liked the service. They we're so kind and good. They were smiling all the time!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Charlen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LancasterLondonHotel, Manager at Royal Lancaster London, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2014

Dear Charlen S,

Thank you for your lovely review.

We are thrilled to know that you had a great stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards
Thoralf Kretzschmar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Roseate House London
#64 of 1,081 in London
1,513 reviews
The Westbourne Hyde Park
#85 of 1,081 in London
543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lancaster Gate Hotel
#448 of 1,081 in London
2,248 reviews
Kensington and Hyde Park
Royal Garden Hotel
Royal Garden Hotel
#92 of 1,081 in London
3,589 reviews
Westminster
Conrad London St. James
Conrad London St. James
#56 of 1,081 in London
3,412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Lancaster London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Lancaster London

Address: Lancaster Terrace, London W2 2TY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#89 Family Hotel in London
#135 Luxury Hotel in London
#153 Romantic Hotel in London
#205 Business Hotel in London
Price Range: $236 - $463 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Royal Lancaster London 5*
Number of rooms: 411
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located across from Hyde Park, 15 minutes from the financial district and a quick taxi ride to popular sight-seeing locations such as Buckingham Palace. Royal Lancaster London hotel is uniquely positioned to serve the needs of any distinguished guest. Business travelers are invited to take advantage of the hotel’s impressive meeting spaces while enjoying the accessibility of our state-of-the-art on-site gym, hot breakfast and hotel bar. Don’t miss out on their award-winning restaurants, Nipa Thai – offering authentic and delicious Thai dishes, and Island Grill – known for its fresh and sustainable cuisine. The hotel has just inaugurated a collection of brand new rooms and suites, showcasing an effortless blend of mid-century design and contemporary luxury. Curated down to the smallest detail, all rooms feature Smart TVs, heated bathroom floors, quality linen, USB charging port and much more. Choose one of the suites to discover the meaning of “a view with a room”. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Royal Lancaster London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lancaster London Hotel London
Royal Lancaster London England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing