We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend Break at the Lancaster London - Live long and prosper.”
Review of Lancaster London

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Lancaster London
Ranked #234 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Weekend Break at the Lancaster London - Live long and prosper.”
Reviewed June 12, 2014

We hadn't made a booking for afternoon tea but it was no trouble for them to fit us in, crisp white table cloth, china cups, cakes and tiny tasty sanwiches served by the most polite and friendly waiter a lovely start to our weekend break. The room had promised a park view and what a view it was, not only the park but also a fantasic view of the city sky line especially at night. Breakfast was great, an evening meal in the Island Bar was again lovely, no booking but found a table by a lovely waiter (Francesco), soft jazz music, great veggie food, hotel has their own hives and make their own honey. A supper in the Nippa Thai resteraunt was pricey but staff were really friendly and food very tasty, finished off with jasmine tea. Such a pleasant stay, staff and other vistors all so friendly and polite would deffinately return next time we visit London.

Room Tip: High is good, fantastic views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LancasterLondonHotel, Manager at Lancaster London, responded to this review, June 15, 2014
Dear Simon N,

Thank you for your wonderful review.

We thrilled to know that you really enjoyed the culinary delights in Nipa, Island, The Park Breakfast and the afternoon Tea together with fantastic service throughout. The views from our rooms are indeed spectacular, we glad you enjoyed the.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards
Thoralf Kretzschmar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,474 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,558
    1,309
    426
    121
    60
See reviews for
573
1,356
171
741
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (797)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2014

For us, this is how hotels should be run. The staff were all friendly and efficient and nothing was too much trouble for them. The rooms were clean and spacious, the dining rooms comfortable and food very good. The location is just perfect for us, a direct line from Liverpool street to Lancaster Gate and very easy access to the west end. With Kensington Gardens and Hyde park just across the road we were able to enjoy some lovely walks.This is now top of our list of London hotels and we will definitely stay here next time we visit London.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank genie2118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LancasterLondonHotel, Manager at Lancaster London, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Dear genie2118,

Thank you for your lovely review.

We are very pleased to read hat you had an excellent stay and felt well taken care of by our courteous staff.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Kind Regards
Thoralf Kretzschmar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2014

We stayed in the Lancaster whilst my husband was competing in a triathlon in Hyde Park
The hotel were very accommodating and we were very happy to find out that we had been upgraded.
The room was lovely, clean, comfortable. The view was fantastic and in a childish way we loved the way the television was hidden in the end of the bed and rose up when needed. There was even a turndown service.
We'd taken the weekend package and found it really worth the trip.
Also they didn't mind when we asked if we could keep my husband's bike in our room. They do have secure bike storage but were happy to let us take the bike up in the elevator if we felt more comfortable that way.
We also ate in the Island restaurant and have to say that it's also worth a visit. Best meal I'd had in a while.
I'm not a city girl, but they made us so comfortable I'd make the trip back to London to stay again. (Dropping hints to the husband about the romance package, it sounds lovely)

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Nixie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LancasterLondonHotel, Manager at Lancaster London, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Dear Nixie1,

Thank you for your wonderful review.

We are very pleased to know that you had a fabulous stay at the Lancaster London and hope you have achieved your goal at the triathlon.

It was our pleasure to have you as our guest and we are pleased that you had a very nice meal in our Island Grill.

We hope to have you as our guest in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards
Thoralf Kretzschmar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2014

We stayed for a Friday and Saturday night. Everyone was really friendly and helpful.

The restaurants were really good quality and the hotel was very clean

We really enjoyed our stay and will definitely be back.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Slinz74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LancasterLondonHotel, Manager at Lancaster London, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Dear Slinz74,

Thank for rating the Lancaster London so highly and indeed for your compliments about our restaurants.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon again.

Kind Regards
Thoralf Kretzschmar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2014

Lancaster is one of those establishments that is just great.

Firstly, it location is within a 5-10 minute stroll from Paddington Station which is the destination station from Heathrow Express. In addition Lancaster is above Lancaster Gate tube station, one minute walk. Further it's a 15 minute walk to Oxford Street or Notting Hill Gate. Or a stroll across the road in Kensington Park.

The facilities in the Hotel are of a good standard, the restaurants are good, the accommodation is of a good standard with fridge and coffee/tea making facilities in the room. For breakfast there is a choice between a substantial buffet in one restaurant or an al a carte in another.

The Staff are the real show, in all areas they are professional, helpful and friendly. It is a pleasure to stay here and to return. I have stayed there for 9 days last year and return twice this year for 4 days each. It is very comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Suchislife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LancasterLondonHotel, Manager at Lancaster London, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Dear Suchislife,

Thank you for your amazing review.

We are very pleased to have as a regular guest at the Lancaster London, thank you also for your very nice praise of our facilities, but mostly for our staff.

We hope you next stay is not too far away.

Kind Regards
Thoralf Kretzschmar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conegliano
2 reviews
Reviewed June 10, 2014

Lancaster London is about five minutes walk from Paddington Station, and is an ideal location for walking in Hyde Park and accessing the underground system. We booked a weekend package and stayed in a bright, quiet room on 12th floor overlooking London & Hyde Park. It was a pleasure to have breakfast served so efficiently by staff in the Island Grill. All staff seemed genuinely friendly, helpful and keen to make our stay a happy and memorable one: they succeeded.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank JRK474
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LancasterLondonHotel, Manager at Lancaster London, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Dear JRK474,

Thank you so much for your kind words.

We believe that everyone working with the Lancaster London has only one goal – to create memorable moments for our guests. This is reflected in our vision of “We always care”, we are delighted you experienced this special care.

We look forward to having back with us in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards
Thoralf Kretzschmar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2014

My mom and I went on a girls trip for 9 nights at the beginning of May 2014. The lobby is beautiful and the rooms are clean. The staff is somewhat helpful. They lacked informing you things near by, the fact that the Lancaster gate is UNDER the hotel.. Didn't find that out until 4 days into the trip, would have saved a lot of walking to paddington station. We went to the island grill one morning for a full English breakfast, nothing great, my mom makes a better one at home! Wouldn't recommend there. There is no wifi whatsoever. The shower also didn't work in our room, and it is tiny!!! Maybe a large SUV garage spot big... But it's London. Near by is a great Italian restaurant (ask Italian) that we ate at 6 of our 9 nights. The location was perfect and easily accessible to so many tourist sites in London via the tube. It is across from Hyde park, which we ran out of time to see but from our view in our room was wonderful!! Would stay here again due to cleanliness and access to the rest of the city!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah-Jayne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LancasterLondonHotel, Manager at Lancaster London, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Dear Sarah-Jayne,

Thank you for your review.

Please accept our apologies that the breakfast did not meet your expectations, as did the size of the bathroom. I am however pleased to know that all in all you had a satisfactory stay and very much enjoyed London.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind Regards
Thoralf Kretzschmar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
The Westbourne Hyde Park
#110 of 1,069 in London
334 reviews
Lancaster Gate Hotel
#440 of 1,069 in London
2,128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Paddington / Maida Vale
Park Grand Paddington Court
Park Grand Paddington Court
#214 of 1,069 in London
971 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lancaster London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lancaster London

Property: Lancaster London
Address: Lancaster Terrace, London W2 2TY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#130 Family Hotel in London
#153 Romantic Hotel in London
#177 Luxury Hotel in London
#206 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lancaster London 4*
Number of rooms: 416
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether looking down from one of the 416 well-appointed guest rooms and suites, or admiring the outlook from either award-winning restaurant, the 4-star deluxe Lancaster London hotel boasts some of the most panoramic views in the city, overlooking the lush green expanse of Hyde Park and many of the capital's famous landmarks. Walking-distance from Oxford Street, adjacent to Lancaster Gate Central Line tube station (providing a fast direct link to the CBD) and just a stone's throw from the Heathrow Express at Paddington, the hotel's location is perfect for all business and leisure visits to London. Renowned for its world-class function space, the Lancaster London's flexible meetings and events facilities can accommodate up to 3,000 guests. The vast Nine Kings and Westbourne Suites have their own dedicated entrances, sound-proofed dividing walls, state-of-the-art AV equipment and retractable Italian chandeliers. The Forest Suite is a collection of 13 contemporary spaces that can cater for smaller meetings and events of up to 200 delegates. Stylishly yet comfortably furnished using natural woods and fabrics, they are individually-designed to be inviting, calm and businesslike. Dining options at the hotel range from 24-hour room service, to traditional Afternoon Tea, to gourmet experiences in one of the highly-regarded restaurants. Inspired by the original Nipa Restaurant in The Landmark Bangkok Hotel, the 55-seat Nipa Thai Restaurant features a teak panelled interior and stunning traditional furnishings and ornaments, crafted in Thailand. Whether you judge it on its mouthwatering cuisine, subtle oriental décor or welcoming ambience, it is one of the most authentic Thai eating experiences in Europe. In contrast, Island Grill is a stylish modern venue featuring a delicious menu of wide-ranging European dishes alongside a varied selection of cocktails and wines to suit every taste and appetite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Preferred Hotels, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lancaster London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lancaster London Hotel London
Royal Lancaster London
Lancaster London England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing