We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In need of TLC”
Review of Lancaster London

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Lancaster London
Ranked #234 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Hertfordshire
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“In need of TLC”
Reviewed March 10, 2014

I would not class this Hotel as a 4 star, more a 3 star due to its tired overall look. It is a bit run down & needs some TLC. Expensive at £179 just for a basic room with no breakfast. Internet free for 2 hours only, no extras - everything comes at a cost.

Sleep was good, I got in at 3am & had to leave at 09:30 - I was woken by a vacuum outside my door from 08:00

Service at the front desk was spot on, I was helped by a lovely Italian lady who was very happy to get me settled.

Room Tip: High & over looking Hyde park
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Knoddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LancasterLondonHotel, Manager at Lancaster London, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear Knoddy,

Thank you for your feedback.

We are sorry to learn that the hotel did not quite match your expectations. We are on the brink of creating the future and you will be happy know that by 2017 the entire hotel will be completely refurbished.

Please accept my apologies for being woken up by a hover, this is very unusual we only hover corridors during the day.

I am however pleased to know that Front Office, Roberta in particular, provided you with great service.

We hope you will be choosing the Lancaster London again in the future.

Kind regards
Thoralf Kretzschmar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,474 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,558
    1,309
    426
    121
    60
See reviews for
573
1,356
171
741
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (797)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I went to the Lancaster for her birthday and the hotel was great but the staff were exceptional !! They went over and above and it was personal, they made us feel like guests not just another number. Rooms are a little on the small side but the locations was great near Harrods and tubes. Was very convenient. Thanks would def go there again

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dafischer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LancasterLondonHotel, Manager at Lancaster London, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear Dafischer,

Thank you for your lovely review.

We are delighted you had a wonderful stay the Lancaster London, it is fantastic to hear you experienced exceptional hospitality.

We hope to welcome you back for your next birthday.

Kind regards
Thoralf Kretzschmar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2014

We have stayed here twice now and been very satisfied on both occasions. The staff are very friendly and attentive and the breakfast is lovely. A good location, close to the underground and other transport links and a walk across the road and you are in Hyde Park - very nice. We would stay here again, it is good value for money and convenient.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LancasterLondonHotel, Manager at Lancaster London, responded to this review, March 9, 2014
Dear Michael D,

Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor.

Consistency in our service delivery is of the highest importance to us, I am glad you have experienced this constancy and care for our staff.

Thank you also for your feedback that our hotel is value for money, another aspect we always keep in mind.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards
Thoralf Kretzschmar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 6, 2014

We were lucky to get a room on the 16th floor so had lovely views of London and Hyde Park. The tube station on the central line is just round the corner so very convenient. All staff were very friendly and helpful and we also saw in our room that there is a really good kid's menu so when our daughter is a little older and joins us on our trips to London we know just where to stay as she will be well catered for at The Lancaster London Hotel.

Room Tip: Higher floors have an amazing view of London
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Loolee13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LancasterLondonHotel, Manager at Lancaster London, responded to this review, March 9, 2014
Dear Loolee13,

Thank you for your lovely review.

We are thrilled to know you had a wonderful experience at the Lancaster London. Thank you also for mentioning our special kids menu, we have even more than that on offer, including
Frisbee and creoles and painting book.

To have room on the 15th floor or higher guaranteed, just book our deluxe room.

We look forward to welcoming your family back very soon.

Kind Regards
Thoralf Kretzschmar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amman, Jordan
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed March 5, 2014

Great location. Cozy atmosphere. Bright rooms. Beautiful view of hyde park and the city. Great breakfast. Very friendly staff. Right at the bus stop and lancaster underground station. Reviewed by Tamer Qusous.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tqusous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LancasterLondonHotel, Manager at Lancaster London, responded to this review, March 9, 2014
Dear tqusous,

Thank you for your review.

We are glad to read you enjoyed every single aspect of your stay, great tips to the community and look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Kind Regards
Thoralf Kretzschmar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
2 reviews
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Excellent hotel, I have stayed there several times for work. The staff is always accomodating and the breakfast buffet is wonderful. Close to Hyde park and the tube station so city traveling is very easy.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Clare B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LancasterLondonHotel, Manager at Lancaster London, responded to this review, March 9, 2014
Dear Clare B,

Thank you for your review.

We are delighted you have been staying with us many times and have received consistent good service. Our buffet breakfast is being praised by many guests for one of the best in London, we are glad you are a fan of it too.

We hope you have reason to stay with us again very soon.

Kind regards
Thoralf Kretzschmar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 2, 2014

I arrived late in the evening after and long day flying to and from Copenhagen and the Lancaster reception could not find my booking. Reception sent me off to the Lancaster Gate as this close and had a similar name. However after walking for 10 to 15 minutes late at night and after arriving at the Lancaster Gate it was clear that they also did not have the booking. I then rang the switchboard at the Lancaster from the Lancaster Gate who found my booking !! So another 10/15 minute walk back to the Lancaster. Ironically as a group we had booked 10 rooms for the Institute of Customer Service awards dinner at the hotel. Some of the group had been given breakfast with their rate and others had not. I asked why we did not get breakfast included but this was not an option according the reception as we had booked through different websites even though the cost was the same !! I stayed for 2 nights and my room was not serviced the following day. I returned about 1pm and asked reception for it to be serviced as I was surprised it had not been by this time. I went out and returned later and again still nothing had happened. I contacted reception for the second time and this time a very nice maid came in to my room to service the room while I continued to work. This was very late in the day. The room also had a leak from the below the sink so the floor was soaking wet every time you filled the sink. I reported this after I left. Over all customer experience was poor. Still recovering form my excursion to the Lancaster Gate who were very helpful and friendly. Well done Lancaster Gate !!

Room Tip: go to multiple web sites !! you might get breakfast in your room rate !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LancasterLondonHotel, Manager at Lancaster London, responded to this review, March 9, 2014
Dear Karl B,

Thank you for your review and raising your experience.

I am personally shocked how the Front Office Team has failed to provide you with service anywhere near our normal standards. Please accept my sincerest apologies for your completely unacceptable experience.

May I kindly ask you to get I touch with me to personally discuss your experience under thk@lancasterlondon.com.

Once again, please accept my heartfelt apologies and I look forward to hearing from you.

Kind regards
Thoralf Kretzschmar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
The Westbourne Hyde Park
#110 of 1,069 in London
334 reviews
Lancaster Gate Hotel
#440 of 1,069 in London
2,130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Paddington / Maida Vale
Park Grand Paddington Court
Park Grand Paddington Court
#214 of 1,069 in London
971 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lancaster London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lancaster London

Property: Lancaster London
Address: Lancaster Terrace, London W2 2TY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#130 Family Hotel in London
#153 Romantic Hotel in London
#177 Luxury Hotel in London
#206 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lancaster London 4*
Number of rooms: 416
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether looking down from one of the 416 well-appointed guest rooms and suites, or admiring the outlook from either award-winning restaurant, the 4-star deluxe Lancaster London hotel boasts some of the most panoramic views in the city, overlooking the lush green expanse of Hyde Park and many of the capital's famous landmarks. Walking-distance from Oxford Street, adjacent to Lancaster Gate Central Line tube station (providing a fast direct link to the CBD) and just a stone's throw from the Heathrow Express at Paddington, the hotel's location is perfect for all business and leisure visits to London. Renowned for its world-class function space, the Lancaster London's flexible meetings and events facilities can accommodate up to 3,000 guests. The vast Nine Kings and Westbourne Suites have their own dedicated entrances, sound-proofed dividing walls, state-of-the-art AV equipment and retractable Italian chandeliers. The Forest Suite is a collection of 13 contemporary spaces that can cater for smaller meetings and events of up to 200 delegates. Stylishly yet comfortably furnished using natural woods and fabrics, they are individually-designed to be inviting, calm and businesslike. Dining options at the hotel range from 24-hour room service, to traditional Afternoon Tea, to gourmet experiences in one of the highly-regarded restaurants. Inspired by the original Nipa Restaurant in The Landmark Bangkok Hotel, the 55-seat Nipa Thai Restaurant features a teak panelled interior and stunning traditional furnishings and ornaments, crafted in Thailand. Whether you judge it on its mouthwatering cuisine, subtle oriental décor or welcoming ambience, it is one of the most authentic Thai eating experiences in Europe. In contrast, Island Grill is a stylish modern venue featuring a delicious menu of wide-ranging European dishes alongside a varied selection of cocktails and wines to suit every taste and appetite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Preferred Hotels, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lancaster London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lancaster London Hotel London
Royal Lancaster London
Lancaster London England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing