We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel, affordable rates”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Royal Lancaster London
Ranked #195 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 25, 2013

Recently returned from a stay at the Royal Lancaster and would stay again. Staff very helpful, room on the small side, but good views of Hyde Park. Rooms have hair dryers, safes, TV. Very clean. Large lobby area with doorman.
Concierge desk in center of the lobby. Hotel is on the A2 Bus line from Heathrow airport which stops outside.
Their website provides with all the information you need on bookings and reservations

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nataliestjaque769
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LancasterLondonHotel, Manager at Royal Lancaster London, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

Dear nataliestjaque769,

Thank you for your precise feedback of the Lancaster London.
We are glad to have you as a return guest and the positive comments about our staff.

I look forward to being your host time and time again.

Regards
Thoralf Kretzschmar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,566)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,865 - 1,871 of 3,566 reviews

Reviewed October 25, 2013

We recently traveled to London to spend a week seeing old friends. As we used to live in Lancaster Mews, we booked our stay at the nearby Lancaster London Hotel. The friendly staff went out of their way to make us feel at home. We appreciated the personal attention and hand written notes from the Guest Services Manager. The the hot chocolate and cookies helped to get us through the seriously jet-lagged nights. We started our journey on the other side of the world.The restaurants in the hotel were convenient with attentive staff and great food. When we return to London, we wouldn't stay anywhere else.

Room Tip: Corner suites are bright with good views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CarylH0010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LancasterLondonHotel, Manager at Royal Lancaster London, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

Dear CarylH0010,

We are delighted to learn that you have had a wonderful stay.

I am glad to know our Guest Relations team took great care of your and made your stay just that little bit special.

Thank you for your positive comments about our restaurants, I will share this with the Managers and teams.

We hope that we will be your choice once again when you visit your friends in the future.

Regards
Thoralf Kretzschmar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2013

Great hotel. Great room overlooking Hyde Park. Service was great. Nothing bad to say about our five day stay there. Tube station and bus to main sites only two minutes from hotel entrance. Get "oyster" card for tube and buses, it made it so easy to travel around London.

Room Tip: We had a park view room on the 14th floor which was well worth the extra cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank William S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LancasterLondonHotel, Manager at Royal Lancaster London, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

Dear William S,

Thank you for your feedback about your recent stay with us.

We are glad that our team has provided you with great service. Your tip regarding the oyster card is great for other visitors as it is indeed the easiest and cheapest way to get around London.

Regards
Thoralf Kretzschmar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel multiple times for business and just returned from a week vacation with the family and the Lancaster London did not disappoint. We arrived from the US on an overnight flight, so we were at the hotel early and thankfully I booked an early arrival room that allowed us to get some sleep until our room was ready at 2pm. When our rooms were ready at 2pm, the check-in was easy and we had a nice knock on the door from a hotel staff member with our welcome gift. Booking a hotel in London can be hit or miss, so here is why I recommend this one (and no, I do not work there or have any monetary interest):

1) Location - take the Heathrow Express to Paddington. The walk to the Lancaster takes 10 minutes. Not even worth waiting for a Taxi since you will walk 1/2 the distance to the hotel getting to the taxi queue at Paddington.
2) Tube - do yourself a favor and get an Oyster Card before you go or at any Underground station. The Lancaster Gate tube station is literally around the corner from the front door of the hotel and is on the Central line, which is key if you want to go to Notting Hill, St. Pauls, Southbank (Eye), etc.
3) Neighborhood - having a local shop, pub, restaurant close by is helpful and the Lancaster is in a good spot for all. If you need a quick dinner at the end of a long day, there are a couple great choices across the street from the hotel and the Victoria pub is just a 10 min walk

Room Tip: If you have a family of 4-5, book a suite with an adjoining room. Nice to have the kids next to you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mvert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LancasterLondonHotel, Manager at Royal Lancaster London, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

Dear Mvert,

Your tips are fantastic, I am sure they will make the trip for other reviewers easier.

I am glad you enjoyed every aspect of your stay and are glad your enjoyed your welcome gift.

We look forward to being at your service in the near future.

Regards
Thoralf Kretzschmar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

I had the daunting prospect of late evenings and constant work for a conference this summer but my company booked us into the Lancaster London for both our stay and conference. The Island Grill is an amazing restaurant with an impressive variety of food! It certainly made my stay more palatable!!! The staff were friendly and went out of their way to help.
During our 3 day conference Rafae Ahmad was very accommodating and always at hand with his reassuring smile and attention to detail. No job was too big or small, and this ethos seems to have been adopted by all the staff members we met.
The bedrooms were slightly dated and I have been told that an impressive revamp is imminent! all the more reason to stay there again and I would and have definitely recommended to others!!!

Room Tip: Park side is beautiful!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank celeste b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LancasterLondonHotel, Manager at Royal Lancaster London, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

Dear celeste b,

We are delighted to have had you as our guest.

Thank you for your truly amazing feedback about our Island Grill as well as Rafae, we know we have a star working for us in him. I have shared your feedback with him. We are also thrilled that all our staff have been able to show you our “We always care” vision.

We hope you have a conference soon again and look forward to welcoming you back.

Regards
Thoralf Kretzschmar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We have recently returned from a three night stay at the Lancaster. Our bedroom was spacious and well maintained with views over London. Enjoyable breakfasts in the Island Grill and the
lounge bar was a comfortable setting for drinks in the evening. The staff throughout the hotel
were extremely pleasant and professional which reflects well on the management.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fussy202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LancasterLondonHotel, Manager at Royal Lancaster London, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

Dear fussy202,

Thank you for your kind words about your recent stay at the Lancaster London.

We are glad you enjoyed your room and the fabulous views.

Our a la carte Island Grill breakfast is indeed very popular, even for local residents. We are glad that our staff has displayed the magical mix of professionalism and at the same time have a friendly and personal touch we strive to achieve.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Regards
Thoralf Kretzschmar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

London hotels are always a minefield - those available at reasonable cost anyway. I tried the Lancaster London recently, wanting to be close to Paddingtion (which it, reasonably).

Although the entrance and reception all looks fairly fresh, the decor in the room I had was pretty dated. That said, I have no other complaints, and the service throughout the stay was both efficient and very friendly.

The room had a great view all the way across London towards the Shard. It was a large room, big comfy bed, and a nice big wooden desk. Bathroom was good too.

Breakfast was a highlight, versus many others. I particularly like the variety - not often you can chose hummus and olives for breakfast!

Overall, would definitely go back, and for the rate I paid it was good value.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobinOwen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LancasterLondonHotel, Manager at Royal Lancaster London, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2013

Dear RobinOwen,

Thank you for your great feedback.

We are delighted to know that you have enjoyed the views from your room and our teams have provided you with excellent service.

Our breakfast more and more becomes a highlight for every guest. We are thrilled to know that our daily changing special offering was to your taste.

We are very pleased you found us value for money and hope to see you again in the not too distant future.

Kind regards
Thoralf

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Lancaster Gate Hotel
#448 of 1,077 in London
2,194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Westbourne Hyde Park
#92 of 1,077 in London
452 reviews
London Elizabeth Hotel
#724 of 1,077 in London
1,543 reviews
South Kensington
The Kensington
The Kensington
#32 of 1,077 in London
3,000 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Lancaster London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Lancaster London

Address: Lancaster Terrace, London W2 2TY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#130 Family Hotel in London
#152 Luxury Hotel in London
#153 Romantic Hotel in London
#206 Business Hotel in London
Price Range: $231 - $543 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Royal Lancaster London 5*
Number of rooms: 411
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located across from Hyde Park, 15 minutes from the financial district and a quick taxi ride to popular sight-seeing locations such as Buckingham Palace. Royal Lancaster London hotel is uniquely positioned to serve the needs of any distinguished guest. Business travelers are invited to take advantage of the hotel’s impressive meeting spaces while enjoying the accessibility of our state-of-the-art on-site gym, hot breakfast and hotel bar. Don’t miss out on their award-winning restaurants, Nipa Thai – offering authentic and delicious Thai dishes, and Island Grill – known for its fresh and sustainable cuisine. The hotel has just inaugurated a collection of brand new rooms and suites, showcasing an effortless blend of mid-century design and contemporary luxury. Curated down to the smallest detail, all rooms feature Smart TVs, heated bathroom floors, quality linen, USB charging port and much more. Choose one of the suites to discover the meaning of “a view with a room”. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Splitty, Agoda, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Lancaster London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lancaster London Hotel London
Royal Lancaster London England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing