We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive but Lovely”
Review of Lancaster London

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Lancaster London
Ranked #235 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
59 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Expensive but Lovely”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

We stayed at the Lancaster London for 5 nights last spring. We didn't pick the hotel, it was hosting a conference that one of our fellow travelers was attending. Had I been able to pick my own hotel, I would not have paid these prices but, it was one of those things, so we stayed here.

Upon check in, we had a bit of a mix up with our room reservation. The front desk was calm and patient while we figured things out. In the end, one of our two reservations did not exist (again, we were with a conference and sometimes these things happen). They honored our price, got us a room close to our party, and everything worked out.

I thought it was a wonderful hotel. Beautiful views, across the street from Hyde park, and close to transportation. We spent a lot of time in the evenings at the hotel bar and I will always look back on those evenings with fondness... lots of laughter, wonderful service, great people.

The Thai restaurant in the hotel is one of the best I have ever eaten at. The hotel said it is ranked as one of the best Thai restaurants outside Thailand (not sure if true, but it really was spectacular).

Bottomline, if you have a chance to stay here you should. Overall a great hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tdenten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LancasterLondonHotel, Manager at Lancaster London, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank you for coming back to write about your stay at Lancaster London. We are very pleased that you enjoyed our service and our hotel. Do come again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,463 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,550
    1,306
    426
    121
    60
See reviews for
570
1,351
170
741
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (794)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
yorkshire
Level Contributor
153 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2013

The hotel is in a good position opposite Hyde Park with Lancaster Gate tube station in the immediate vicinity.Paddington station is only a 5 minute walk away where there are a number of shops for any incidentals you may have forgotten
We stayed on the 15th floor in a deluxe room and the views were stupendous.Too good to describe.
There was an extremely comfy large bed with crisp sheets and plenty of pillows
Huge bath towels,good hairdryer,iron,ironing board,room safe and tea/coffee making facilities.
Double sized shower with rainfall and handheld showers but no bath.
Lighting at the sink was not too good for applying make-up but there was a magnifying mirror which was a bit better.
Large tv with some freeview channels and foreign channels.
Breakfast was plentiful but just did not wow me. There were Chinese,Japanese and other options but I have had much better choices in lesser starred hotels.
Only problem was that because the room had such large windows on two sides of the room there was too much light coming in,in the early morning, even with the curtains completely closed.
Staff were all polite and friendly.
Will definately stay here again when I need to stay overnight and if there are good offers on the rooms!

Room Tip: The higher the better for views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anniefield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LancasterLondonHotel, Manager at Lancaster London, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for taking the time to write about it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 24, 2013

We stayed at the Lancaster for 2 nights at the end of our honeymoon trip. After 2 weeks in Italy and on a cruise ship we were used to overly small sleeping rooms. But we were pleasantly surprised when we arrived that they had complimentary upgraded us to a Royal Suite with a spectacular view of the park. The room was HUGE and exceeded our expectations. They even threw in some free champagne and cookies and decorated the bedroom and bathroom with rose petals for us! After such a long trip it was great to feel at home and be able to spread out a bit.

We ate dinner in the restaurant on the 2nd night and the service there was great as well. More complimentary champagne and the food was fantastic!

We would recommend this hotel to anyone who is staying in London. The price could not be beat and the staff was fantastic. We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shannon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LancasterLondonHotel, Manager at Lancaster London, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
We are glad that we were able to offer you the home away from home feeling at the end of your honeymoon. Hopefully you returned home refreshed and ready to embark on a long and happy life together. We do look forward to you coming back to visit next time you are in town – perhaps for an anniversary?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
1 review
Reviewed May 22, 2013

We chose to have a business meeting at the Lancaster London, and the participants also stayed at the hotel.

We were very satisfied with the service and the follow up from the Hotel. Mr Rafae Ahmed did his best to ensure that everything went according to plan, and was always helpful.

Thank you for excellent service!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kent K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LancasterLondonHotel, Manager at Lancaster London, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
You are most welcome! We have passed on your comments to Rafae and he is very pleased to have helped you with your meeting.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2013

We planned a three night break in London and after reading he reviews decided on the Lancaster London Hotel. By all accounts, this is a mid-priced hotel - book well in advance for a worthwhile price.
On (early) arrival, we were greeted by the concierege who took our bags and directed us to reception. Although we arrived at 11:30 am, we were given a room straight away -which is pretty impressive. At all times, the attitude of the staff was impeccable.
Our room was small but clean. Bath with power shower and complimentary toiletries. Average TV, with a VERY POOR selection of channels...that's about the worst thing we experienced.
The hotel is perfectly situated facing Hyde Park.......and a lazy 10-15 minute walk to Marble Arch and Park Lane.
We only ate in the Island grill (??) restaurant on the first floor (kind of). Food was decent enough without being impressive. Prices were moderate
There's an underground station right under the hotel, and it's serviced by buses and taxis.
One tip I was given for the future if arriving from Heathrow....get the Heathrow CONNECT service to Paddington Station...it's a 10 minute walk to the hotel and works out better value than the Heathrow EXPRESS service.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JpegDrive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LancasterLondonHotel, Manager at Lancaster London, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write about your experience at Lancaster London. We hope you will come back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
193 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2013

I was a on a 5-day mixed business and sightseeing trip. The hotel was a pleasure to come back to at the end of a busy day. The bed was comfortable, the room was pleasant, with a fine view over Hyde Park and beyond. Everything worked as it should, although the rooms could definitely benefit from some updating. The staff were superb: the concierges, the front desk staff and the room service staff went out of their way to be helpful, which I much appreciated. And of course, there are many bus routes running from the building, as well as an Underground station in the basement. It's very convenient. I'll almost certainly return.

Room Tip: It's worth the extra to choose a room facing the park on a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Enjoysgoodfood21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LancasterLondonHotel, Manager at Lancaster London, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
What a lovely review! We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2013

We have stayed here 4 times now and have never been disappointed. The hotel is in a great location, one stop down from marble arch and just around the corner from the tube. The hotel staff are always pleasant and give us a lovely welcome. We asked for a high room so we could appreciate the view. We were on the 13th floor and had a great view across the city and hyde park. Room was lovely and spacious as was the bathroom. Breakfast was lovely with a great choice (buffet) cereal, toast, meats, cheeses, Danish pastries and a choice of cooked breakfast. The bar area is relaxed and comfortable - definitely go back.....again :)

Room Tip: pick a high room and ask for a city or park view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiona I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LancasterLondonHotel, Manager at Lancaster London, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
It is always lovely to read reviews like yours. Thank you for writing it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
The Westbourne Hyde Park
#106 of 1,067 in London
314 reviews
Lancaster Gate Hotel
#435 of 1,067 in London
2,102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Paddington / Maida Vale
Park Grand Paddington Court
Park Grand Paddington Court
#198 of 1,067 in London
921 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lancaster London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lancaster London

Property: Lancaster London
Address: Lancaster Terrace, London W2 2TY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#130 Family Hotel in London
#153 Romantic Hotel in London
#176 Luxury Hotel in London
#206 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lancaster London 4*
Number of rooms: 416
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether looking down from one of the 416 well-appointed guest rooms and suites, or admiring the outlook from either award-winning restaurant, the 4-star deluxe Lancaster London hotel boasts some of the most panoramic views in the city, overlooking the lush green expanse of Hyde Park and many of the capital's famous landmarks. Walking-distance from Oxford Street, adjacent to Lancaster Gate Central Line tube station (providing a fast direct link to the CBD) and just a stone's throw from the Heathrow Express at Paddington, the hotel's location is perfect for all business and leisure visits to London. Renowned for its world-class function space, the Lancaster London's flexible meetings and events facilities can accommodate up to 3,000 guests. The vast Nine Kings and Westbourne Suites have their own dedicated entrances, sound-proofed dividing walls, state-of-the-art AV equipment and retractable Italian chandeliers. The Forest Suite is a collection of 13 contemporary spaces that can cater for smaller meetings and events of up to 200 delegates. Stylishly yet comfortably furnished using natural woods and fabrics, they are individually-designed to be inviting, calm and businesslike. Dining options at the hotel range from 24-hour room service, to traditional Afternoon Tea, to gourmet experiences in one of the highly-regarded restaurants. Inspired by the original Nipa Restaurant in The Landmark Bangkok Hotel, the 55-seat Nipa Thai Restaurant features a teak panelled interior and stunning traditional furnishings and ornaments, crafted in Thailand. Whether you judge it on its mouthwatering cuisine, subtle oriental décor or welcoming ambience, it is one of the most authentic Thai eating experiences in Europe. In contrast, Island Grill is a stylish modern venue featuring a delicious menu of wide-ranging European dishes alongside a varied selection of cocktails and wines to suit every taste and appetite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Agoda, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lancaster London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lancaster London Hotel London
Royal Lancaster London
Lancaster London England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing