We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantistic! Great location!”
Review of Lancaster London

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Lancaster London
Ranked #234 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
United States
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Fantistic! Great location!”
Reviewed May 17, 2013

This hotel is modern, has larger rooms (similar to USA hotels), reliable wifi (although with fee). The staff is friendly and provides great service (upon check-in, my TV was not working, but they fixed it while I went out for dinner).

My room was very quiet. I had a great view of Hyde Park and the city. Given the angle of the hotel, I image most rooms would have a nice view. I was on the 7th floor. The windows open, so you can get fresh air if you want. And great curtains to black out city lights at night. Also good air conditioning if you need it.

The location is fantastic. Two minute walk to the subway (Lancaster Gate station), 5 minute walk to Paddington Station (for subway, and also many trains to visit outlying areas like Bath, or the 15-minute Heathrow Express). Also several bus stops on the triangular block this hotel is on (I found the buses are sometimes easier than taking the subway). Also near Paddington there are some decent pubs with both locals and tourists -- and some tiny convenience type stores if you want to buy bottled water, snacks, etc. And of course, it's just a walk across the street to the beautiful Hyde Park. Also a Barclay's bike rental station within 2 minute walk. Plus, for tourists, if you are using the "hop on, hop off" bus tours ("Big Bus" or "Original"), there is a stop on the back side of the hotel -- which makes it even more convenient.

Plenty of taxis out front, if you need one.

The hotel also has roomy, quick elevators (not always the case in busy hotels like this).

The only slight complaints:
- the mini bar wasn't fully stocked. No snacks, no diet drinks. But the refrigerator did have lots of room for me to store my bottled water.
- the bathroom in my room was slightly elevated (about a 3 inch step). After stubbing my toe twice, I put a pillow in front of the doorway to the bathroom to remind of the step.

This is an outstanding hotel, and I will definitely be staying here on my next visit to London.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SW t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LancasterLondonHotel, Manager at Lancaster London, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
We are thrilled that you enjoyed what the Lancaster London has to offer, and we are most grateful that you took the time to write about it in such detail. Thank you and we hope that you will come and stay at the hotel again next time you are in London.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,474 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,558
    1,309
    426
    121
    60
See reviews for
573
1,356
171
741
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (797)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kingston upon Thames, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Firstly I would like to thank April for her attentiveness and support throughout the booking process relating to a 3 day global meeting I arranged for 35 people. April is informative and remained calm regardless of our constant changes :-)

Rafae who works to support such events was an absolute pleasure to deal with. He was always welcoming and there to offer any support. Checking that all was OK every time I passed his office.

I have to say that having organised many corporate events and travelled personally on many occasions I don't think I have been to a hotel where ALL of the staff are so polite. From the lovely doorman, concierge, staff refreshing the meeting rooms and reception. Their staff training must be top notch.

About the hotel.
Location: Fantastic. Close to Paddington train station and Lancaster Gate tube station. On top of Hyde Park so wonderful walks are on your doorstep (if you have time which we didn't!)

Rooms: I received no complaints about rooms at all from attendees. I do feel that quite soon they may start to refurbish (if they haven't already started) as I can see that although the rooms are very clean and comfortable, they are not however modern. My bed was very comfortable, the towels were all new and sparkling white as was the bed linen. The views were amazing, the first thing I did was photograph the skyline and send it to my husband !

We only ate the day delegate rate food at lunchtime which was more than acceptable. There was a choice of approx 6 different menus which I hope they change every so often.

Breakfast offers everything you could possibly want both healthy and indulgent and is served from 6.45-11.00 which was great for us as a few people chose to eat their breakfast during our first break. I have never stayed anywhere else where the breakfast is offered for such a long period.

There is currently no Gym but April advised me that one is currently being built. I am not sure of completion date.

Would we use the Lancaster again ? YES another meeting has been discussed and I have already started discussion about using the facility again. Mainly due to the staff, fantastic location and the relationships built in the last 3 days.

Any questions just shout.

Room Tip: I personally feel the 9th floor has the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flosslovesjimi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LancasterLondonHotel, Manager at Lancaster London, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
What a fantastic review! Thank you so much for taking the time to write it. April and Rafae are wonderful members of the Lancaster Team and are always going out of their way to ensure guest satisfaction. We are pleased to tell you that our gym opened at the beginning of July and it looks splendid. You must try it when you stay with us next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mauritius
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

stayed for one night as we were off to see pink at the o2, we wanted somewhere a bit better than ya normal travel lodge or inn in london and with good reviews we got a very good deal for the room booked online a good month before the bed was huge and although it was 2 mattresses joined together they were lovely and firm. the room was a nice size to and had a great view of all of london on the 16th floor.
breakfast was nice we went buffet but you can go a la carte reasonable priced to for london with loads on offer overall more than happy with our stay

Room Tip: book early for a better discount
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barney H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LancasterLondonHotel, Manager at Lancaster London, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
It’s great to hear that you enjoyed your stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Just spent a lovely two night break in this hotel. The room was lovely, a little on the small side despite being a "executive". Plumbing was a bit noisy. Staff were very friendly & the breakfast was good. Island Restaurant was very nice food & really reasonable. Would recommend it & definitely go back.

Room Tip: High level, east facing for a lovely view over the park & London skyline.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paz2108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LancasterLondonHotel, Manager at Lancaster London, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
hank you for taking the time to write about your stay on Tripadvisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013

I'd have like to have put this hotel at a rating of "good" but there doesn't seen to be a category for this it jumps from average to very good. Stayed here one one night attending a function in April. The hotel is very convenient for the Tube as its sat right on top of Lancaster Gate station on the central line. Check in was quick and friendly.

The room was nice but was obviously well used and probably could have done with a lick of paint here and there, but I will stress it was good and for one night or even a few nights no complaints except one. Whe checking in I was not asked if I wanted a smoking or non-smoking room and I ended up in a smoking one. The cleaning staff had done well to reduce the smell but it was still there and the ash tray was the give away. The management need to address this.

Surprisingly I have to say that the food served during our event was absolutely fist class and no complaints whatsoever from me. Reading a couple of reviews on here I was a little apprehensive, but no problem at all. The let down was the buffet breakfast which was fairly basic and not much flavour to anything. The Bacon looked like it had a passing aquaintence with a grill or pan and may have even got up and walked off. Again the management need to offer some alternative. However it was generally OK and as I'd eaten well the previous evening I wasn't in the mood for much anyway.

The bed was confortable and I had a good nights sleep, although this may be down to the red wine in part.

Overall a nice hotel for a few nights in central London with good tube access. Kudos for providing an iron and ironing board in the room.

Room Tip: make sure if you want a non-smoking room then specifiy this on booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank custardcannon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LancasterLondonHotel, Manager at Lancaster London, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience at Lancaster London. We are sorry to hear that you were given a smoking room and were not asked for your preference beforehand. Your feedback from the review has been passed on to the relevant departments. We hope we will see you at Lancaster London again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2013

This was obviously a very elegant hotel at one time but has faded a bit. Having said that, the stay was enjoyable. Rooms are nicely furnished and comfortable, bathrooms are great, location can't be beat, and the staff was polite and friendly. Approximately one block from the entrance to the tube, and directly across the street from Hyde Park. Ideal location for taking the tube to get around this wonderful city.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BigJoeNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LancasterLondonHotel, Manager at Lancaster London, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rognan, Norway
1 review
Reviewed May 2, 2013

We stayed a weekend april 2013. 47 in the group. This was my second experiens with the Lancaster hotel. The group had a nise stay. The servise was wery god and the rom are lightfull. Nice to have The underground station Lancaster Gate under the hotel. From there you can reache Londons attarctions

Room Tip: Best location in upper floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Truls P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LancasterLondonHotel, Manager at Lancaster London, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Thank you for the lovely review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
The Westbourne Hyde Park
#111 of 1,068 in London
332 reviews
Lancaster Gate Hotel
#442 of 1,068 in London
2,127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Paddington / Maida Vale
Park Grand Paddington Court
Park Grand Paddington Court
#214 of 1,068 in London
965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lancaster London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lancaster London

Property: Lancaster London
Address: Lancaster Terrace, London W2 2TY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#130 Family Hotel in London
#153 Romantic Hotel in London
#176 Luxury Hotel in London
#206 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lancaster London 4*
Number of rooms: 416
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether looking down from one of the 416 well-appointed guest rooms and suites, or admiring the outlook from either award-winning restaurant, the 4-star deluxe Lancaster London hotel boasts some of the most panoramic views in the city, overlooking the lush green expanse of Hyde Park and many of the capital's famous landmarks. Walking-distance from Oxford Street, adjacent to Lancaster Gate Central Line tube station (providing a fast direct link to the CBD) and just a stone's throw from the Heathrow Express at Paddington, the hotel's location is perfect for all business and leisure visits to London. Renowned for its world-class function space, the Lancaster London's flexible meetings and events facilities can accommodate up to 3,000 guests. The vast Nine Kings and Westbourne Suites have their own dedicated entrances, sound-proofed dividing walls, state-of-the-art AV equipment and retractable Italian chandeliers. The Forest Suite is a collection of 13 contemporary spaces that can cater for smaller meetings and events of up to 200 delegates. Stylishly yet comfortably furnished using natural woods and fabrics, they are individually-designed to be inviting, calm and businesslike. Dining options at the hotel range from 24-hour room service, to traditional Afternoon Tea, to gourmet experiences in one of the highly-regarded restaurants. Inspired by the original Nipa Restaurant in The Landmark Bangkok Hotel, the 55-seat Nipa Thai Restaurant features a teak panelled interior and stunning traditional furnishings and ornaments, crafted in Thailand. Whether you judge it on its mouthwatering cuisine, subtle oriental décor or welcoming ambience, it is one of the most authentic Thai eating experiences in Europe. In contrast, Island Grill is a stylish modern venue featuring a delicious menu of wide-ranging European dishes alongside a varied selection of cocktails and wines to suit every taste and appetite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Preferred Hotels, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lancaster London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lancaster London Hotel London
Royal Lancaster London
Lancaster London England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing