We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall satisfied”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Royal Lancaster London
Ranked #234 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 21, 2013

This hotel is in a good position if you want to be in a quieter area of London with easy access to Hyde Park also the higher floor rooms have great views.
Although a little tired and in need of a refurbish or modernisation it was difficult to fault the overall experience.
The staff were very attentive....room service prompt even on a busy London Marathon weekend!
We would stay again if this area of the city was needed.
It was may wife's birthday and they gave her a lovely card and cake...well done!

Room Tip: Request a high floor and overlooking the park if not too huge a supplement!
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LancasterLondonHotel, Manager at Royal Lancaster London, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2013

We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that your wife liked the card and cake. Perhaps we will see you again for next year’s birthday?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,497)
There are newer reviews for Royal Lancaster London
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,998 - 2,004 of 3,497 reviews

Reviewed April 21, 2013

We stayed two nights at this large west end London hotel, which was part of a vacation package booked by our travel agent. We were very impressed with the staff, who were very helpful, especially he concierge, Lazlo, who helped us book our Big Bus Tour right in the hotel lobby. The bus stop on the Blue Line is just around the corner from the hotel, so very convenient to start the bus tour of the city. The hotel is about 10 minutes walk from Paddington Station and less to Lancaster Gate Tube station. It's right across from Hyde Park, so you can go for nice long walks, if you enjoy that. Buffet breakfast was included with our room and had a lot of selection and quality items. The room itself was large and comfortable. Free internet access was also provided in the Business Centre, so we could print our boarding passes for our flights. Would go back again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rudi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LancasterLondonHotel, Manager at Royal Lancaster London, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write about us – we look forward to welcoming you and your partner back next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2013

I have stayed at London Lancaster on numerous times, mainly on business trips to London. The hotel is very nice with welcoming staff who will try to fullfill any requirements from the guests. It's a large hotel so there's always something going on which brings a nice atmosphere but there's seldom any trouble with disturbance etc. The breakfast is good and having Lancaster Gate tube station just around the corner makes this one of my favourite London hotels.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Okatima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LancasterLondonHotel, Manager at Royal Lancaster London, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2013

It is so wonderful to hear that we are one of your favourites! We look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2013

We have attended two functions at this hotel and both have been disappointing. We booked our rooms separately to buying our function tickets and although our rooms on both occasions were fine, they were no better than a Premier Inn, just had thicker carpet and prettier wallpaper.
Lifts were tiny and a bit unreliable.
The food at the functions themselves was unappetising and cold. Tasteless, chewy, cold duck and the other course so bland I can't even remember them.
Breakfast was worse still. Everything was running out. Queues of people were standing around looking for plates, cutlery, milk, bacon...you name it, the dish was empty and there didn't seem enough staff to keep things topped up. Many people were complaining. When a dish of something was replenished, there were so many people waiting for it, that it was empty again in moments.
I've been to hotels with fewer stars, paid an awful lot less and had a far better experience.
I won't be going back here in a hurry...

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Louise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LancasterLondonHotel, Manager at Royal Lancaster London, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2013

We are very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your experience at the Lancaster London. It is such a shame, because we normally receive such complimentary comments about our events. Our Food and Beverage managers have recently been looking into improving the breakfast buffet offering, and we have seen an increase in guests satisfaction since the changes were implemented. We do hope that you will come back again and give us another opportunity to delight you as you should have been the first time you came.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2013

Here's what you really want to know.
Wi-Fi: FREE in the business centre, open 24 hours, using their computers. But if you stay too long, they'll ask for your room number to charge you. You can get away with about 20 minutes a couple of times a day. If that's enough, don’t bother paying for in-room wi-fi.

Location: less than 1 minute’s walk from Lancaster Gate tube – it’s basically part of the same train station building, on your left, so is impossible to get lost. The neigbourhood is gorgeous, safe, central to London’s highlights and some OK cafes and pubs, across the street from Hyde Park.

Rooms: my Superior City View on 15th floor (1504) was huge, with an awesome outlook over London. The décor is classic/neutral, not very modern, but nothing to complain about.

Sleep quality: 5/5. Big, comfy bed; quiet, thanks to double-glazed windows.

Bathroom: nice, spacious, even has a bidet. Cheap no-name toiletries – soap, shampoo, lotion, shower cap. No conditioner. Wall-mounted hair dryer.

Breakfast: 7-11am and a great selection. Get a table by the window for a Hyde Park view. Can also order Arabic and Thai specialty items from menu (this was included in the bed-and-breakfast package). I tried the Arabic stew - delicious.

Restaurants: I didn’t try any of them but they had good meal specials.
Staff: Friendly, efficient, on the front desk and restaurant. The doorman was nowhere to be seen (or busy) whenever I came or went. Concierge was a bit slow but OK.

Cons: No turndown service at night, so it was an exercise in rope-untying to close the curtains. It appears that if you purchase a cheaper deal, they remove the alcohol and snacks from the minibar (soft drink and water only) and restrict your ability to charge internet or movies to your room.

Freebies: A bottle of red wine (at least I think it was free!), bottle of water and bag of Easter eggs (it was Good Friday) upon arrival. Tea, coffee, hot chocolate and biscuits (2 shortbread and 2 ginger cookies)

Recommended: Yes! Not luxury but perfectly comfortable and very convenient.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CruiseyLife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LancasterLondonHotel, Manager at Royal Lancaster London, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review of your stay at the Lancaster London. Our turndown service for your room category is on request, next time just ask at reception and they will organize this for you. The mini bar is emptied in some room categories, but can be refilled instantly with a call to the reception. Otherwise, we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

What a letdown. For 200 quid a night I expect more than a nice view, decent bed and shower. There was a bloodstain on the duvet, the skirting boards desperately needed a luck of paint and the mirror was grubby. The room was very basic. Advertised as satellite TV but all you get is Freeview channels. And in this day and age I don't think it's too much to expect an iPhone charger in the room. I forgot to bring a plug and the lady in the business centre very helpfully said they would rent me one for £20. What a rip off! Finally, when checking out they attempted to charge me for a Thai meal I did not have. When I pointed this out, the receptionist said, maybe the person you were staying with had it? Won't be returning.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Scott7454
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LancasterLondonHotel, Manager at Royal Lancaster London, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2013

We are very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay at the Lancaster London. There is no excuse for a dirty duvet and we are sorry that this was not spotted before. The cost of renting a phone charger is just a deposit, but we understand that this was not explained properly to you. Rest assured that your comments have been passed along to the relevant departments. Please email lp@lancasterlondon.com if you wish to discuss this in more detail.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Lancaster Hotel is highly recommended: the best location, 5 minutes from Paddington station, one minute from the Hide Park and 10 minutes from Oxford Street. The rooms are lovely, the beds extremely comfortable, and the service is superb. I will definitely come back.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Galv V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LancasterLondonHotel, Manager at Royal Lancaster London, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2013

Thank you for recommending the Lancaster London – we look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
The Westbourne Hyde Park
#112 of 1,072 in London
384 reviews
Lancaster Gate Hotel
#449 of 1,072 in London
2,167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Paddington / Maida Vale
Park Grand Paddington Court
Park Grand Paddington Court
#221 of 1,072 in London
1,049 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Lancaster London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Lancaster London

Address: Lancaster Terrace, London W2 2TY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#130 Family Hotel in London
#153 Romantic Hotel in London
#177 Luxury Hotel in London
#206 Business Hotel in London
Price Range: $244 - $699 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Royal Lancaster London 5*
Number of rooms: 416
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether looking down from one of the 416 well-appointed guest rooms and suites, or admiring the outlook from either award-winning restaurant, the 4-star deluxe Lancaster London hotel boasts some of the most panoramic views in the city, overlooking the lush green expanse of Hyde Park and many of the capital's famous landmarks. Walking-distance from Oxford Street, adjacent to Lancaster Gate Central Line tube station (providing a fast direct link to the CBD) and just a stone's throw from the Heathrow Express at Paddington, the hotel's location is perfect for all business and leisure visits to London. Renowned for its world-class function space, the Lancaster London's flexible meetings and events facilities can accommodate up to 3,000 guests. The vast Nine Kings and Westbourne Suites have their own dedicated entrances, sound-proofed dividing walls, state-of-the-art AV equipment and retractable Italian chandeliers. The Forest Suite is a collection of 13 contemporary spaces that can cater for smaller meetings and events of up to 200 delegates. Stylishly yet comfortably furnished using natural woods and fabrics, they are individually-designed to be inviting, calm and businesslike. Dining options at the hotel range from 24-hour room service, to traditional Afternoon Tea, to gourmet experiences in one of the highly-regarded restaurants. Inspired by the original Nipa Restaurant in The Landmark Bangkok Hotel, the 55-seat Nipa Thai Restaurant features a teak panelled interior and stunning traditional furnishings and ornaments, crafted in Thailand. Whether you judge it on its mouthwatering cuisine, subtle oriental décor or welcoming ambience, it is one of the most authentic Thai eating experiences in Europe. In contrast, Island Grill is a stylish modern venue featuring a delicious menu of wide-ranging European dishes alongside a varied selection of cocktails and wines to suit every taste and appetite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Lancaster London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lancaster London Hotel London
Royal Lancaster London England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing