We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor Value”
Review of Lancaster London

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Lancaster London
Ranked #234 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Poor Value”
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Great staff who were very helpful. Room was small and the en-suite was very old fashioned. Non-smoking room but at six in the morning we had a strong smell of fresh cigarette smoke persumably from the next room. Overall this was poor value for the price but maybe typical for London.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Applegate138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LancasterLondonHotel, Manager at Lancaster London, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay at Lancaster London. The team are a fantastic group of people who are always going out of their way to ensure a great guest experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,474 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,558
    1,309
    426
    121
    60
See reviews for
573
1,356
171
741
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (797)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

After watching the Italian Job as a child, Ive always wanted to stay here "one day" and what better occasion than our 25th Wedding Anniversary. We went for the lucky dip suite upgrade which had wonderful views but was quite dated. Perhaps Im being picky but things like door handles not matching, stains on the carpet,wallpaper pealing & scuffs on the furniture, was not what we were expecting. On the website it said there was an espresso machine but that was missing. Cynically I think this is the "lucky dip suite" which is offered at a discounted price. ALL of the staff were so helpful and courteous.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ROCKETRICK1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LancasterLondonHotel, Manager at Lancaster London, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed the service that the team provided to you and your partner. We are sorry that your room did not meet your expectations but we are currently preparing a revitalisation project for the hotel whereby the rooms will be refreshed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

An interesting find,very handy for Lancaster Gate underground & also a pleasant walk up to Oxford Street. Lovely breakfast room IF breakfast included in your deal. If not go across the street to the little artist's cafe, they deserve the support & the price won't break the bank!
Rooms come at a premium price, which would be sure to be a deciding factor when booking, especially if they compare unfavourably with the Marriott which is so much closer to Oxford Street.
The staff were without exception pleasant and interested in helping make the stay a good experience. If only they could influence their company & provide free wifi! Hard to understand why even hotels in this price bracket feel the need to be so parsimonious, have they noticed most high street cafes can manage free wifi these days?
Whilst we stayed here the hotel was very busy with mostly business groups from the Middle East. Presume the conference facilities are popular, but as we ate out we didn't feel the pressure of such large groups beyond the busy foyer, no queues for the lifts etc.

Room Tip: As it is off the main road, I would assume all rooms equally good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jan43_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LancasterLondonHotel, Manager at Lancaster London, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Thank you for writing about your stay at Lancaster London. We are pleased to hear that you and your family enjoyed your time here. The Wifi charges were changed at the end of February so as to be more flexible to the different needs of our guests, we have had plenty of good feedback on this and we are confident that this is working well for the moment. However we are continuing to monitor the situation and always endeavour to do our best. Do come back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camberley
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Following my last visit (and subsequent review on Trip Advisor), the hotel management contacted me, keen to discuss the issues that I had and to request that I gave them an opportunity to allow them to show the hotel at its best.
Please do not think that they offered me a free stay; another hotel has done this in the past, offering us a free weekend - and we refused. I write my reviews to provide an honest opinion, not to get freebies. On this occasion a great deal of effort was taken by the hotel management o contact me personally and to talk with my about my experiences. In hindsight I wondered if my Lancaster Hotel visit had probably been on a particularly bad night and therefore on this occasion took up the opportunity of accepting the offer of staying in an upgraded room at a reasonable price.
Reception staff were excellent, both on arrival and departure. Our room was lovely, but I would say that the bathroom was a tad on the small side. Although we were on the 18th floor, we didn’t have ‘the best room in the house’ but our view was fantastic - the hotel probably offers some of the best views across London of any City hotel. If you are lucky enough to get one of the park side rooms the views must be to die for. The decor was fresh and all fixtures and fittings were of excellent quality.
We ordered room service when we returned from the theatre and the food was hot, freshly cooked and delivered within 25 minutes which is what they quoted when we ordered. The standard buffet breakfast was ok and service was quick and efficient; there were speciality options to cater for the international guests. I’d love to try the al la carte breakfast – the menu looked great.
There was an event on in the hotel but we weren’t disturbed at any stage of our stay.
All in all, the hotel did what they said they would do if I came back –show that they could provide a high standard, quality service. In my last review I said that I would never return but I have and I probably will again in the future.

Room Tip: Go as high as you can afford.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CamberleyNel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LancasterLondonHotel, Manager at Lancaster London, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
We are delighted to hear that your stay was such a success! And we are glad that you took the time to give us a second chance and also to write about it. We look forward to welcoming you back to Lancaster London.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castleisland, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

I stayed at the Lancaster London for a two-night stay with twelve friends. The hotel was excellent, the staff were so friendly and helpful, the breakfast was great, with a great choice available. There was easy access to the London Underground and the bus tours of London.

Room Tip: I stayed on the 14th floor in a corner suite with panoramic views of the city and Hyde Park. Very co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LancasterLondonHotel, Manager at Lancaster London, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Lancaster London – we hope to see you and your friends soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cirencester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Good conference facilities and excellent service and food during our conference, good location for travel with Paddington station just around the corner, very nice modern hotel with friendly staff and good comfortable room and bed. Would recommend staying there.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LancasterLondonHotel, Manager at Lancaster London, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thank you for recommending Lancaster London!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2013

I used this hotel as a conference and awards dinner I was attending was held here. Conference facilities were very good but I wish that I had used an alternative hotel for my overnight accommodation.

Due to a broken bone in my foot I am on crutches and needed to ensure that I had a room with a stand alone shower, i.e. one that it not over the bath. I have stayed in several hotels recently where this has not been a problem, with an accessible room being available in one or two places. My colleague made the booking initially with the remit of booking a stand alone shower and was told that there would be no problem. When I called to check details I was told (in an abrupt manner) that the only rooms with stand alone showers were in the suites, which carried an additional charge of £132 per night, above and beyond the £180 charged already for a standard room.

£312 plus VAT per night for what turned out to be a very tired suite with a small bathroom!

On stepping into the small shower enclosure on the first morning, the shower head spurted water out the side and then fell off, hitting me on the head. I must recognise that this was repaired with a new shower head before our 2nd night, but I am disappointed that I had to encounter the problem in the first place as there had obviously been quick fixes attempted previously.

We read somewhere that the suites had free wifi but this was poorly advertised and when we queried it we were told to book it as if we would pay then it would be removed from the bill - an unnecessarily complicated step.

Due the problems with my shower I was not happy to pay the upgrade for my room on the first night - a stand alone shower was the only reason I had to book the suite but it did not work properly. I was initially offered 50% off the upgrade fee for the first night (which was insulting given my situation and the fact that the same room was available online the day before at a total price of £195 rather than the £312 we were being charged). In the end I paid for the standard room cost of £190 plus VAT for the first night and the full price the second night (which I still think was too much for the suite we were given in it's present state).

I am amazed that this hotel has no accessible facilities for people with disabilities!

The suite had great views of London when the weather was good but this is all it really had going for it. I would definitely not stay at this hotel again until it undergoes a full refurb and gets comfier beds.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LancasterLondonHotel, Manager at Lancaster London, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thank you for your comments about your stay at Lancaster London, we are very sorry to hear that your visit did not go as you had expected. We do realise that we are lacking in accessible facilities, this is mostly due to the fact that this was not a building requirement when the hotel was built in the late 1960s. However, we are currently investigating four designs for accessible rooms in order to include this in the building modernisation project that shall be commencing soon. Our hotel vision is “We Always Care” and we recognise that on this occasion we have not displayed this, and for this we can only apologise. We do genuinely hope that you will come back to try us again, perhaps once the work is completed and you can give us your valuable feedback. If you would like to discuss this further, please do not hesitate to contact the hotel directly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
The Westbourne Hyde Park
#110 of 1,069 in London
334 reviews
Lancaster Gate Hotel
#440 of 1,069 in London
2,128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Paddington / Maida Vale
Park Grand Paddington Court
Park Grand Paddington Court
#214 of 1,069 in London
972 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lancaster London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lancaster London

Property: Lancaster London
Address: Lancaster Terrace, London W2 2TY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#130 Family Hotel in London
#153 Romantic Hotel in London
#177 Luxury Hotel in London
#206 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lancaster London 4*
Number of rooms: 416
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether looking down from one of the 416 well-appointed guest rooms and suites, or admiring the outlook from either award-winning restaurant, the 4-star deluxe Lancaster London hotel boasts some of the most panoramic views in the city, overlooking the lush green expanse of Hyde Park and many of the capital's famous landmarks. Walking-distance from Oxford Street, adjacent to Lancaster Gate Central Line tube station (providing a fast direct link to the CBD) and just a stone's throw from the Heathrow Express at Paddington, the hotel's location is perfect for all business and leisure visits to London. Renowned for its world-class function space, the Lancaster London's flexible meetings and events facilities can accommodate up to 3,000 guests. The vast Nine Kings and Westbourne Suites have their own dedicated entrances, sound-proofed dividing walls, state-of-the-art AV equipment and retractable Italian chandeliers. The Forest Suite is a collection of 13 contemporary spaces that can cater for smaller meetings and events of up to 200 delegates. Stylishly yet comfortably furnished using natural woods and fabrics, they are individually-designed to be inviting, calm and businesslike. Dining options at the hotel range from 24-hour room service, to traditional Afternoon Tea, to gourmet experiences in one of the highly-regarded restaurants. Inspired by the original Nipa Restaurant in The Landmark Bangkok Hotel, the 55-seat Nipa Thai Restaurant features a teak panelled interior and stunning traditional furnishings and ornaments, crafted in Thailand. Whether you judge it on its mouthwatering cuisine, subtle oriental décor or welcoming ambience, it is one of the most authentic Thai eating experiences in Europe. In contrast, Island Grill is a stylish modern venue featuring a delicious menu of wide-ranging European dishes alongside a varied selection of cocktails and wines to suit every taste and appetite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Preferred Hotels, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lancaster London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lancaster London Hotel London
Royal Lancaster London
Lancaster London England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing