We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good but Some renovation is needed” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lancaster London

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lancaster London
Ranked #235 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Casablanca
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Good but Some renovation is needed”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

The hotel is Very well Located ; it is only 10 minuters walk from Paddington station and 10 minutes from Oxford street. You don't need a car or bus to have around there. it is in front of Hyde Park and has an excellent restaurand "Islander" with very nice food, you will enjoy the food there for sure!!
However, there is no Wifi in the rooms, rooms are quite small especially the bathroom.
I beileve that some upgrade is necessary.
We have booked a B&B but was surprised to know that the rate paid is only for bed without including the breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mounia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,421 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,524
    1,295
    423
    120
    59
See reviews for
556
1,340
170
729
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (786)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
237 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

Stayed for 1 night beginning of November. Was told I had a small up-grade to a room with a park view. Room was on the 13th floor, which, when you finally get to the room after waiting 5 minutes for a lift, is about average for a London hotel i.e. just enough space. Room is pleasant enough, bathroom though leaves a lot to be desired. All in all, a good view, a great position but lousey value for money. Room was a 'special rate' of £185/-, but no breakfast (that I knew), no free wi-fi (ridiculous for this day and age) and no VAT! So over 200 quid for 1 night. Suggest you look around, you can do better than the Lancs.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BigTaps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012 via mobile

Located 10 minuters walk from Paddington station and 10 minutes from Oxford street so you can't complain about the location. However its 2012 and they have no Wifi in the rooms and the rooms shows some age. Clean but a renovation upgrade is necessary to get higher score at least from me. Service is friendly

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Protravellerswe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

The hotel and room layout and comfort nice. Location, across from Hyde Park, and easy-access to Lancaster gate... perfect for our needs. Concierge very helpful for "last minute show tickets!"
Attractive lobby - nice fireplace, and eye-catching floral arrangements!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank L S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

This was my second stay at the Lancaster London. The location is perfect for those going to London for either business or pleasure since Paddington Station is a 5-10 walk after taking the Heathrow Express from the airport into the city...very convenient. Lancaster Gate Tube station is around the corner from the hotel, which is 4-5 stops on the Central Line to the Financial District. Hyde Park is literally across the street from the hotel. Staff is attentive and helpful in pointing out areas of interest. There is a great neighborhood pub called The Victoria on Strathearn Pl just 10 mins from the Hotel. Rooms are in decent shape and provide a reasonable desk space for work. I'll be back in November.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mvert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Givat Shmuel
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

Enjoyed very much our stay. Comfortable rooms, splendid breakfast, cozy lobby and very good service. Staff does it utmost to keep guests happy. Only few steps from underground and on the Hyde Park. Good value for money

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lea S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
71 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

Okay, stayed here this time last year and loved everything about the place. This year however, did not come up to my memory of the previous stay. On the positives, the Lancaster is a nice Hotel, well furnished and close to Lancaster Gate Tube and many buses. The Hotel has a great restaurant in the Islander - fully recommend this place for all meals including breakfast which is cheaper than the buffet. The rooms are what I would expect from a Hotel of this standing and price. The doorman and concierge very nice friendly people who go out of there way to assist.
Now as to my problems which will have me think twice before booking again -
I booked a double room, on check in advised I had a twin room - insisted on the double room I wanted. No, pushing two twin beds together is not the same as a double bed, especially when the twin bed is tired and hollowed. This no doubt added to my back problems I experienced during the week. I may be strange but I really don't like being asked to pay for an upgrade, I booked at the price I was prepared to pay any upgrade is on you. Grab and Go breakfast, advertised for the 1st floor - no one there at the time specified. Staff on that floor directed me down to the lobby - person just setting up told me it was going to take some time and I shouldn't have been directed down there. Come on, you advertise something have it set up and going. The biggest pain was the fact for some reason the Lancaster decided to charge my credit card some £300 more than the £60 I was aware of for mini bar etc. Obviously I did not have access to all my funds like I should have which then had me incurring costs on my other credit card and left very embarrassed when my card was declined. Imo, there is no excuse for mistakes like this, especially when there are two unauthorised transactions. When queried they couldn't find one of the transactions - not good enough from a Hotel of this calibre.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ms_Scanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Lancaster Gate Hotel
#432 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,041 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Paddington / Maida Vale
Park Grand Paddington Court
Park Grand Paddington Court
#200 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 785 reviews
Arbor Hyde Park Hotel
#170 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 592 reviews
The Darlington Hyde Park
#193 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,071 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lancaster London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lancaster London

Property: Lancaster London
Address: Lancaster Terrace, London W2 2TY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#130 Family Hotel in London
#153 Romantic Hotel in London
#177 Luxury Hotel in London
#206 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lancaster London 4*
Number of rooms: 416
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether looking down from one of the 416 well-appointed guest rooms and suites, or admiring the outlook from either award-winning restaurant, the 4-star deluxe Lancaster London hotel boasts some of the most panoramic views in the city, overlooking the lush green expanse of Hyde Park and many of the capital's famous landmarks. Walking-distance from Oxford Street, adjacent to Lancaster Gate Central Line tube station (providing a fast direct link to the CBD) and just a stone's throw from the Heathrow Express at Paddington, the hotel's location is perfect for all business and leisure visits to London. Renowned for its world-class function space, the Lancaster London's flexible meetings and events facilities can accommodate up to 3,000 guests. The vast Nine Kings and Westbourne Suites have their own dedicated entrances, sound-proofed dividing walls, state-of-the-art AV equipment and retractable Italian chandeliers. The Forest Suite is a collection of 13 contemporary spaces that can cater for smaller meetings and events of up to 200 delegates. Stylishly yet comfortably furnished using natural woods and fabrics, they are individually-designed to be inviting, calm and businesslike. Dining options at the hotel range from 24-hour room service, to traditional Afternoon Tea, to gourmet experiences in one of the highly-regarded restaurants. Inspired by the original Nipa Restaurant in The Landmark Bangkok Hotel, the 55-seat Nipa Thai Restaurant features a teak panelled interior and stunning traditional furnishings and ornaments, crafted in Thailand. Whether you judge it on its mouthwatering cuisine, subtle oriental décor or welcoming ambience, it is one of the most authentic Thai eating experiences in Europe. In contrast, Island Grill is a stylish modern venue featuring a delicious menu of wide-ranging European dishes alongside a varied selection of cocktails and wines to suit every taste and appetite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Lancaster London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lancaster London Hotel London
Royal Lancaster London
Lancaster London England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing