We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location but only if you get a decent sized, warm and pleasant room!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Radisson Blu Edwardian Sussex Hotel
Ranked #377 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good location but only if you get a decent sized, warm and pleasant room!”
Reviewed January 25, 2014

I stayed just the 1 night for business. I was allocated top floor and my room was tiny and just sad. I had to go out to get away from the unpleasant atmosphere. The heating did not work, it is an antiquated system with a massive air con above the bed, which will blow out cold air (in January) and when switched off continues to blow out cold air until the receptionist 'isolates' the switch in the basement so that your room is still as cold hours after arriving! Take jumpers and socks to sleep with! I've traveled extensively and my thoughts just went to the times I remember being in a comfortable hotel. For a Raddison, I really felt this place was just a dump. They do try like leaving soaps and magazines but the room and size makes a very uncomfortable stay. On a positive note the Staff are lovely!

Room Tip: Ask for a large room even though you might be on a corporate rate!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Newyorke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shyam_Antyah, Front Office Manager at Radisson Blu Edwardian Sussex Hotel, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to give us a constructive feedback of your stay with us.

Whilst we are pleased to read your comments regarding our staff, we are disappointed to know that you did not enjoy your stay overall. Further to your comment regarding the AC in your room, we have initiated an investigation of the ACs of all room on that floor and we will resolve the issue you have highlighted. Please accept our sincerest apologies for not having been able to resolve this issue during your stay.

We appreciate that our single rooms are more suited towards the short stay traveller, however, majority of our rooms are of a decent size. We would very much like to reach out to you to stay with us again and try one of our larger rooms. Please contact me directly and let me take care of your next reservation and ensure your next stay with us is a memorable one in all aspects. I am confident that we will be able to change your perception.

I hope you will give us another opportunity of being your host and enable us to reinstate your confidence with us. I look forward to welcome you back.

Sincere regards,

Shyam Antyah
Front Office Manager
email: antyahm@radisson.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,845 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    717
    606
    268
    141
    113
See reviews for
238
379
248
724
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (278)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ascot, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2014

This hotel is perfectly located for Oxford Street shopping and other central London base activities, 2 mins from Oxford Street tube. From the minute we arrived, the service couldn't have been better (and, read my other reviews, I'm not normally effusive about service).

The welcome was very warm and everything they promised, they delivered on. We had a family room, which for central London (we do this fairly frequently) was spacious enough. The pull out bed for my 13 year old started life as a very wide arm chair, leaving the room uncluttered when not needed (we folded it straight back up in the morning), yet it was good enough quality to have a decent mattress (not the normal very thin Z-Bed type). The staff made up the bed when they said they would.

We didn't use their breakfast facilities or eat in the hotel so can't comment on those.

Finally on the final day our car's turbo died just as we were about to leave, the AA had to be called, car towed away and we had to get a taxi home. We camped in reception with all our stuff, waited for the AA and tow truck. The staff couldn't have been more helpful, we were plied with complimentary tea and coffee and taxi quotes were got, generally they couldn't have done more to help.

Thank you so, so much. we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Joy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gamal_Sadaka, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Blu Edwardian Sussex Hotel, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Dear Joy,

Thank you ever so much for sharing your fantastic experience with the world. Your comments serve as a motivation for us all and I am truly delighted to know that you had a memorable stay with your family at the Sussex.

It was thrilling to read that you were well looked after by our friendly and passionate team from the welcome until your departure and it makes it much more rewarding when displayed on our Tripadvisor page. You are right about our location, we are in the middle of everything whether you are in London for shopping, sight-seeing or on business.

Perhaps on your next visit you will be tempted to try some of the wonderful dishes in Scoff & Banter Marble Arch. We serve Great British food, sourced locally and cooked with passion.

The team and I are eager to welcome you back for more wonderful experiences in the nearest future.

Kind regards,

Gamal Sadaka
Guest Relations Manager
Email: sadakag@radisson.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2014

Spent two nights in this hotel in early December. It is ideally placed for shopping in Oxford Street and convenient for travelling to other locations in London. It is a nice hotel with friendly staff. Our room was very small and clean, but quite dark overlooking the back of the hotel. Unfortunately our room was also very cold. We adjusted the heating controls without effect and were informed that a central control point would be altered to heat the room. However on our return from the Theatre the room was still very cold. We were assured that this would be rectified on our second day but the best they could do was supply an electric heater which proved inadequate. Breakfast was very good but we did have to queue for seats and then ask for crockery, glasses etc. on both mornings. There did not seem to be enough staff to keep up with demand. On the whole we enjoyed the location and the food but not the cold.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smithee2468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gamal_Sadaka, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Blu Edwardian Sussex Hotel, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at the Radisson Blu Edwardian Sussex. It was a pleasure to know that you have enjoyed our location, usual high standard of cleanliness and our delicious breakfast.

I was sorry to learn about the issues you faced with the heating and the service at breakfast. I have addressed your comments with our team and I assure you we are working diligently to ensure a similar situation does not occur again in the future.

We appreciate the feedback and will use it to fine tune our operations in the hope that upon your next visit we can exceed your expectations.

It will be my pleasure to help if you require any assistance and I can be reached on the below email address. I hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you again in the nearest future.

Warmest regards,

Gamal Sadaka
Guest Relations Manager
Email: sadakag@radisson.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed January 21, 2014

The hotel is very well located, 2 minutes from the underground station. It is a charming old building with quiet rooms despite of the busy shopping area.
The personnel are friendly and welcoming. Defently a great place to stay in London.

Room Tip: Rooms facing interior are quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ana J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gamal_Sadaka, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Blu Edwardian Sussex Hotel, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Dear Ana,

Thank you ever so much for staying recently with us and for recommending the Radisson Blu Edwardian Sussex on Tripadvisor. It was a pleasure knowing that you enjoyed the service at our hotel, our members of staff are one of the strongest assets of our business.

As you have mentioned, our location is unbeatable; just on the doorsteps of Oxford Street, yet it seems that we are a million miles away, tucked away in a quiet corner.

I do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to our hotel and serving you when in London.

Warmest regards,

Gamal Sadaka
Guest Relations Manager
Email: sadakag@radisson.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed January 20, 2014

Overall hotel was lovely and clean and staff were lovely but a few disappointing bits..
Room not ready upon arrival so placed in alternative room with promise of child's bed to be sorted immediately but took an hour for someone to arrive! Room nicely decorated but very small and not as advertised with bath and shower but just a shower. No pay per view movies available as advertised as apparently new tv system recently fitted?! Restaurant staff and food fab although they had run out of all Rose wine (only had enough left for two glasses) which was very poor as no alternative offered yet what we paid for those 2 glasses was near bottle price. Very friendly and helpful staff though just poorly organised.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jules B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shyam_Antyah, Front Office Manager at Radisson Blu Edwardian Sussex Hotel, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for reviewing your recent experience with us and please accept my sincere apologies for the slight disappointments that occurred during your stay. We very much appreciate that you got in touch with us directly as this gave us the opportunity to look further into the points you had raised.

Your compliments about our friendly staff, the hotel’s décor and cleanliness is most encouraging. However, we note your point about our staff being poorly organised and take valuable learning from this. In reference to your room allocation, may I clarify that whilst most of our rooms come with baths, some are with showers only and I am sorry that we were not able to allocate you one of our rooms with a bath on this occasion. We have no doubt updated your profile with your preferences and hope that we can make it up to you on your next stay with us.

Regarding the TV system, we have removed our old TV's and pay movies as we did not feel it provided our guests the facilities of up to date technology and value for money. We have therefore invested in the latest model of Samsung Smart TVs to provide the best there is in terms of in room facilities to our guests. Apart from boasting 400 channels, these TV's come with their own internet and allow guests to connect their own devices making it as interactive as modern technology allows.

Thank you again for your valuable feedback, we continue to learn, we will review and fine tune our operations towards exceeding your expectations upon your future visit.

Please stay in touch and visit us again soon.

With best regards,

Shyam Antyah
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
1 review
Reviewed January 20, 2014

For a little weekend in London, this hotel were located just perfect! The service was exelent and the room was clean and nice. The room was a little tiny for two persons. We did not eat at the hotel because it was too noisy in the restaurant. Because of the brilliant location and service, we probably will stay there when it's time to visit London again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Corn2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gamal_Sadaka, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Blu Edwardian Sussex Hotel, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Radisson Blu Edwardian, Sussex for your recent weekend escape in London. It was a delight to learn that you enjoyed our location, service and high standard of cleanliness.

Your comment about the room sizes is appreciated, this due to age of the building. It will be my pleasure to personally oversee any future reservations and room allocation. Please do contact me on the email address below. I hope you will have the opportunity to Wine and Dine in Scoff & Banter Marble Arch on your future visit.

Thank you once again, we look forward to hosting you in the not so distant future.

Warmest regards,

Gamal Sadaka
Guest Relations Manager
Email: sadakag@radisson.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holmes Chapel, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed January 20, 2014

Another year of this being my go to hotel for business, not only for the fantastic location, but the amenities and the people. Yes, several of the rooms are very small, but this is made clear when booking and the fact that the hotel has single rooms, kind of suggests what you will be getting! That said, everywhere is clean and the fact you have docking stations in the majority of rooms, a working area and free wifi makes this a fantastic business hotel. Having stayed here so often the team led by Shyam are like family and I truly feel 'special' by the warm welcome and service I always receive. Difficult to name names but George and Daniel are stand out for wanting to ensure that the experience is first rate. Thank you as always and here is to another year of the Sussex!

Room Tip: Single rooms are by their nature small with not much space. Prefer the back of the hotel for quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank MJG44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gamal_Sadaka, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Blu Edwardian Sussex Hotel, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you ever so much for making us part of your family, we are here to ensure that you feel ‘home away from home’ while at the Radisson Blu Edwardian, Sussex hotel.

It is always motivating to learn from our regular guests on the consistency of our service delivery. Shyam, Daniel, George and the rest of the team are delighted to read your wonderful feedback.

Whether on business or pleasure, the hotel is located 20 steps away from Oxford Street, great for shopping and sightseeing. Major attractions like Marble Arch, Hyde Park and Madame Tussauds are all within walking distance.

Thank you again for making us your second home, and I look forward to welcoming you back with us for another pleasant stay.

Warmest regards,

Gamal Sadaka
Guest Relations Manager
Email: sadakag@radisson.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Marylebone
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - Marble Arch
Marylebone
Radisson Blu Edwardian Berkshire
Marylebone
The Leonard Hotel
The Leonard Hotel
#302 of 1,068 in London
670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marylebone
Amba Hotel Marble Arch
Amba Hotel Marble Arch
#76 of 1,068 in London
1,606 reviews
Marylebone
The Cumberland
The Cumberland
#407 of 1,068 in London
6,074 reviews
Marylebone
The Zetter Townhouse, Marylebone
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Edwardian Sussex Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Edwardian Sussex Hotel

Property: Radisson Blu Edwardian Sussex Hotel
Address: 19-25 Granville Place, London W1H 6PA, England (Formerly Radission Edwardian Savoy Court)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Marylebone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#284 Business Hotel in London
#284 Family Hotel in London
#314 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Radisson Blu Edwardian Sussex Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a quiet corner close to Marble Arch, this boutique hotel is 30 seconds from Oxford Street and only a stone throw away from the expanses of Hyde Park. A calming, peaceful retreat from the hordes, the hotel’s sleek, contemporary design brings modern chic to an Edwardian listed building. Free Wi-Fi in all public areas and bedrooms, allow all guests to work and relax at the same time. If you wish to escape the rush of Oxford Street our Nova Bar & Grill offers a fine cocktails with relaxing and modern surrounding with cool designer comfy leather chairs with urban soundtracks to unwind to. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Blu Edwardian Sussex Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson London
London Radisson
Radisson Blu Edwardian Sussex Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing