We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, but VERY small rooms (well-equipped though!)!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Radisson Blu Edwardian Sussex Hotel
Ranked #372 of 1,078 Hotels in London
Reviewed November 28, 2011

I booked a single room, and it really could not fit more than one person. The room (#416) is the smallest hotel room I have ever seen. However, the standard of both the hotel and the room was good by London standards. The bathroom (also very small) was refurbished and hold a good standard. The room also provides an ironing board, an iron, hairdryer, TV, kettle and tea/coffee and a mini bar. So they have managed to get the most out of the space available.

There is also a gym in the basement, free of charge to hotel guests.

The hotel serves simple, but sufficient breakfasts.

This is a great alternative for short London visits. For shopping tourists, it is a true find! Located in a quiet street only 150 m from Oxford Street, makes this hotel quite unique.

NOTICE: If you are taller than 1,90 m (6f,3), you might have a problem ....

Room Tip: Single rooms are very small - even by London standards!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StianGiskeodegard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucie H, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Blu Edwardian Sussex Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2011

Thank you for your feedback. Our rooms do vary in size due to the structure of the building however, it was reassuring to know that you found everything you needed in your room.
Our boutique hotel is located just off Oxford street and couldn't be better for shopping, sight seeing or even just a get away. Thank you again for your your constructive comments and I hope to welcome you back to the Radisson Edwardian Sussex again soon. Warm Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,950)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,511 - 1,517 of 1,950 reviews

Reviewed November 27, 2011

This hotel is fine for spending a couple of nights - if you are staying in room 309! The bathroom is marvellous - almost as big as the bedroom! The problem is the 10 inches of room between the end of the bed and the wall - by far not enough room. The throw had slipped off the end of the bed one night and almost went my full length attempting to get to the bathroom in the dark!
Main concern was there was so surface large enough to put the kettle on when it was switched on except the floor - Very hazardous. They had squeezed everything in as best they could but not the best lay out. Television picture kept freezing - very annoying. The key cards were very unreliable - had to get them reactivated which didn't seem to make much difference then all of a sudden it worked??. Stuck outside our room for a good 5 minutes!
Good points - The staff were so very polite, nothing was too much trouble for them. The evening meal was lovely and good value. Best thing about this hotel was the location, it is so handy for Oxford Street and a Taxi ride to the Theatre district.

Room Tip: For two people ask for a larger double room - not the size of room 309!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucie H, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Blu Edwardian Sussex Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2011

Thank you for leaving your feedback. Please accept my apologies for the problems you have experienced in room 309. I would like to assure you that your valuable comments have been shared with the Hotel Manager and all the relevant departments and every effort will me made to address the issues you have highlighted. I was very pleased to learn of the good points you have picked up on during your stay with us; the staff, the restaurant and location and hope that you will be staying with us again in the future. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly if I could assist you with your next booking. Warm Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2011

WE stayed at this hotel November 2011 for two nights from 20-22, Very cosy hotel , very nice interior. Extremly clean... we had our room on the first floor, it was very spacious and we really enjoyed our stay here, the hotel is just off oxford street , a corner away from new look and next , it was super perfect for our shopping trip , we LOVED it !! Shopping or not this hotel is wonderfull... very cosy and Welcoming... the reception staff is very helpfull. Will stay here again when in london , For sure ..

Thank you,
Maria Attard, Josielle Gaffarena

Room Tip: we had a great room 116 and 118 very quiet and spacious...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MariaAttard163
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucie H, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Blu Edwardian Sussex Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2011

Thank you for your lovely review. I am so pleased you enjoyed every aspect of your stay with us , from our welcoming staff to the chic interior of our boutique hotel. With all the fantastic ammenities on our doorstep, we could not be in a better spot. When you're planning your next trip, drop me a quick email so I can sort everything out for you. I look forward to hearing from you, Warm Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2011

Took a while to find, room wasn't ready but we were early, went off shopping came back and was told by reception we would be getting a complimentry breakfast. Had booked restruant for 5.30.pm didn't get the meal we planned, but still very enjoyable. Staff were realy lovely and helpful, when we came back from the thearte and went in the bar for a night cap. Most enjoyable stay can't wait to go back

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lesley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucie H, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Blu Edwardian Sussex Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2011

Thank you for leaving your comments. I am so glad you had a most enjoyable stay . Please accept my apologies for not getting the meal you had planned for in our Restaurant. Mr. Nigel Younghusband our Restaurant Manager is aware of the issue and has already taken steps to prevent such drawbacks from occuring in the future. Thank you again for sharing your feedback and I look forward to welcoming you again soon. Warm Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2011

I have just stayed at this Hotel for 2 nights, the staff were very friendly the breakfast was very good , unfortunatley the room we were allocated fell well below the mark of what i expect from a Radisson Hotel ,

Firstly when we arrived at 2.15 pm we were told the room wasn't ready and would be about 1 hour , when we got into the room after a trip to the local pub behind the hotel the door cards we were given didn't work the foyer door every time , then when we tried to open the door to the room they failed every other time , why ?? its only a electronic card , once inside the room i was horrified to see that the room was really small , it has a corridoor style entrance with the bed some 6 mtrs down the corridor the bed was crammed in to a area with only 18inch space to walk past the bottom of the bed this made it feel a very very narrow room, off the corridor was the bathroom which was really small , you couldn't stand inside the bathroom to dry yourself as there is NO room AT ALL , you had to venture out and go down the corridoor to stand next to your bed to dry yourself , NOT GOOD , the air con didn't work correctly , the room didn't have any bedside table lamps , the lights were in the ceiling directly above were you lay shining straight into your eyes , the pillows on the bed also need to be improved , and the right hand side of the bed was wonky , this was before i put my 6 ft 17st rugby playing frame on it , after laying there feeling let down i decided to put a X mark in the dust on the telephone next to the bed , and it was there the very next day after the room ahd been cleaned and made up again .

For some reason the television was on a delay signal ??, and kept freezing up so that was pointless watching at 2-3 am when you have just arrived back after a very enjoyable night out ,the pull out draws in the small sliding wardrobe were not on the runners and overlapped so you had to lift them up to gain access to your items inside them , we usually stay at the Radisson Kenilworth next to the british musuem which has much more space in the rooms .

Room Tip: if they offer you room 25 , refuse it ,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Murray C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucie H, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Blu Edwardian Sussex Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2011

Thank you for leaving your feedback. I am sorry to learn of the inconveniences you had come across in room 25. Please be assured that your comments have been discussed with the Hotel Manager along with the relevant Departmental Managers. It was very disappointing to read your findings in the room and I am truly sorry that due to these points you have highlighted, your stay was not as enoyable as you might have experienced at our sister hotel the Radisson Edwardian Kenilworth , but, it was reassuring to know that you felt the staff and breakfast were very good. Thank you again for your constructve feedback as you allow us to review and improve our service standards. I do hope you will return to our hotel and allow us the opportunity to reinstate your confidence with us. Warm Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2011

Checked in and was greeted by a very friendly yet professional member of staff. Asked if it was possible to have a late checkout and he immediately agreed. Not only that, they upgraded us too. Only disappointments were the incredibly slow lift, noisy housekeepers at 8am and the lack of water in the entire hotel! We checked out at 1pm and they had no water since 9am. Had to brush teeth with mineral water. Couldn't shower or flush toilet...! Aside from that it was a great stay and we would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rachelmgibson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucie H, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Blu Edwardian Sussex Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. Firstly, may I offer you my sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused due to the lack of water in the hotel. There was a fault with the pump which could not be fixed immediately, however, our Maintenance Team were able to resolve the problem later on the day. I was also sorry to learn of the slow service that you hade experienced with our lift. The lift has been refurbished recently but it can be a little slow during busy times. I have noted your comments regarding noise from Housekeeping staff and would like to assure you that our Head Housekeeper Mr. Christian Taipe has addressed the issue with his team. It was reassuring to read that apart from that you had a great stay with us and I look forward to welcoming you again soon. Warm regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2011

I really had a great stay at this hotel.I would definitely recommend it to somenone who is interested in shopping and sightseeing in london.Just a 2 minute walk from 2 underground stations(BOND STATION+MARBLE ARCH).You can really go anywhere.Very friendly staff at the receprion and helpful.The rooms were really clean.Although the first day they gave us a small room they told us from the first minute that we would be transfered to a bigger room the next morning and we did.It was the best price i got for such a central hotel. If i ever visit london again this hotel will be my first choice.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 443_443
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucie H, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Blu Edwardian Sussex Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2011

Thank you for leaving your comments. I am so glad you had a great stay and found us at a convenience between Marble Arch and Bond Street stations, we really are in the perfect location for shopping , sightseeing as well as the theatres and nightlife of the west end. I hope it won’t be long before you plan your next visit to London and look forward to welcoming you again. Warm Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Marylebone
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - Marble Arch
Marylebone
Radisson Blu Edwardian Berkshire
Soho
Radisson Blu Edwardian Hampshire Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mayfair
InterContinental London Park Lane
Bloomsbury
Hotel Megaro
Hotel Megaro
#140 of 1,078 in London
2,623 reviews
Marylebone
Amba Hotel Marble Arch
Amba Hotel Marble Arch
#98 of 1,078 in London
1,876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Edwardian Sussex Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Edwardian Sussex Hotel

Address: 19-25 Granville Place, London W1H 6PA, England (Formerly Radission Edwardian Savoy Court)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Marylebone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#283 Family Hotel in London
#284 Business Hotel in London
#313 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range: $176 - $433 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Radisson Blu Edwardian Sussex Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked in a quiet spot beside Selfridges with Oxford St, Bond St and Hyde Park on the doorstep. Guests enjoy free high-speed Wi-Fi on unlimited devices; comfortable singles, doubles and family rooms with original layouts from the hotel's Victorian heritage; and 2 meeting rooms hosting 2-12 people. Fitness room with machines and free weights, open 7 days a week. Steak and Lobster serves mouth-watering steaks, lobster, salads and toasted brioche rolls. Close to Marylebone's cafes, Park Lane and Edgware Rd, with great transport links via nearby Bond St station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Blu Edwardian Sussex Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson London
London Radisson
Radisson Blu Edwardian Sussex Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing