We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“business traveller stayed 2 nights in single room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn London - Kensington
Ranked #617 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Telford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“business traveller stayed 2 nights in single room”
Reviewed June 24, 2014

Single room was clean, compact and quiet with effective air con slept well.

Staff generally helpful. Housekeeping needs attention (I found towels to be old, shapeless and scratchy) On second day amenities had not been replenished, used towels unchanged and mattress pad had not been straightened. These are localised problems associated with 1 hasty cleaner.

Disappointed that the wifi (charged at 10 pounds for 24 hrs access!) was VERY weak signal which could not connect at all by 11.15pm.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KIA57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin J, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn London - Kensington, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Dear KIA57

Many thanks for your review on your stay at the Kensington Close hotel,

It was great to see that the room met your requirements and that you slept well.

I will be certain to relay your comments to the relevant people to address the concerns raised; we are already looking at changing the supplier of the linen.

Kindest regards

Justin Jolly
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    667
    1,472
    1,071
    551
    359
See reviews for
632
1,549
199
885
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (724)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2014 via mobile


We are currently staying at the hotel for 3 months. Very dissapointed by the quality of the rooms. I'm afraid this isn't 4 star standard at all.

The room we have is matchbox size, poorly furnished and the mattress is extremely uncomfortable. Furthermore the Internet offer is misleading. The website suggests it is free for guests but it isn't. When we attempted to clarify this, staff were rude.

If you're keen on location then stay here otherwise there are many better options in the neighbourhood.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank A A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin J, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn London - Kensington, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Dear AA,

Please contact the Duty Manager in the Hotel so that we can discuss and resolve the issues you have reported. Following your post on Tripadvisor, I sent you a message but have yet to receive a reply.

Kindest regards
Justin Jolly
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these London hotels

Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2014

This hotel was sold to us as location, location. It is indeed in Kensington, 2 minutes from the High Street shopping centre but unless you have heaps of time it’s too far to walk to London’s main attractions. There are buses and a tube station nearby however.

The hotel looks attractive, it has a very nice lobby, dining room, bar, seating areas and many conference rooms. But be careful of what type of room you book.

Read the many complaints about the size of the rooms and their reply is that they are cosy and exceptional value for money. I can’t agree, they are not cosy, they are pokey and are definitely not value for money.

Basic room
Advertised size – They don’t say.
Why even build bedrooms this small, let alone charge premium price for them.
The blurb says this room is cosy and compact. It might “just” be ok for a single, but we unknowingly booked it for a twin. The two beds are butted up against each other, making in effect a double bed.
The end of the bed nearest the door was only inches away from the wall and to get to the bed nearest the window you have to shimmy sideways past the end of the other bed (if you are a large person, forget it) or clamber over the other bed. There was nowhere to put our suitcases and we were constantly falling over them trying to get to the door.
In the half of the room without the beds, you can stand with your arms outstretched and touch both walls.
The bathroom is tiny.
If you have ever been on a cruise ship in a standard cabin, well, I believe the cabin is actually larger – at least you can put your suitcases under the beds.

Superior
Advertised size – 17 to 20 sq metres
We stayed one night in a superior room. Don’t get too excited, these rooms are still tiny and pokey but at least the beds are not butted up against each other and you can walk behind the ends of them (just)
The room was hot and stuffy, and the air conditioning had absolutely no effect.
The rooms are not very soundproof, we could hear the people in the next room and the hallway.

Executive
Advertised size 20 – 24 sq metres
If you really want to stay in this hotel and want an acceptable size room I suggest you book an executive room.

They advertise WiFi, but it is not free unless apparently you are staying in an executive room.
Except for the doorman who was very helpful, the staff have a standoffish and self important attitude and have a poor command of English. On two occasions I witnessed reception staff being quite rude to people whose command of English was not up to their own standard.
The traditional English breakfast was ok but get down early for breakfast. One morning we had breakfast at 8.30 and the staff were finding it hard to cope as it was very busy. We had to ask for coffee and then had to wait quite some time. I saw several people becoming agitated because they couldn’t get their morning coffee. At one stage they ran completely out of the little jam containers and also bread for toast.
This hotel is rated four star. Most three star hotels I have stayed in I believe are far better than this.
Overall, this was the worst hotel we stayed in during our six week holiday.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Avntheothers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin J, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn London - Kensington, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear Avntheothers

Thank you for your very detailed review on your recent stay with us.

It was disappointing to hear that you were not overly impressed with your stay here. I have checked our website as I was quite taken aback by your comment that the room size for the standard room wasn’t advertised but can confirm that these details are on the website. Having booked through an agent the details may not have been shared by them prior to your arrival.

I have fed back your comments with regards to the areas mentioned with regards to staff and breakfast to the relevant heads of department to address with the team.

Although not situated in the very centre of London, The Kensington Close hotel is ideally situated for attractions such as the Royal Albert Hall, Kensington Palace and the Royal Gardens of Hyde Park, Holland Park and Kensington, with excellent transport links to the heart of the city.

Once again, thank you for your comments and sorry that we were not able to meet your expectations on this occasion.

Kindest regards

Justin Jolly
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2014

Hotel rooms were small, however recently renovated to a high standard. Staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Great location, short walk from Kensington high street tube. Perfect stay for either business or social trip.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin J, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn London - Kensington, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear Sam R

Thank you for your feedback on your stay at the Kensington Close hotel.

It’s great to see that you enjoy the changes we’ve made so far. I will be sure to convey your compliments to the team.

We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kindest regards
Justin Jolly
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2014

Small rooms and bathrooms, you have to shimmy around the bed in order to move around the room. Room was very clean with a newly renovated bathroom. Good restaurants in the area. Near tube station. Considering how busy the hotel was, it was amazingly quiet. Bar deep rinks were expensive.

Room Tip: We ordered one breakfast to the room, it was plenty for two.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BelleBig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin J, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn London - Kensington, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Dear BelleBig

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay at the Kensington Close hotel.

It’s good to see that you enjoyed the location and found us convenient for your stay in London. Although some of the rooms can be seen as cosy, we do have others room categories available and find that they provide good value for money.

Although the bar prices can be seen as expensive, they are competitive for the area.

We do hope to welcome you back next time your travels bring you back to London.

Kindest regards

Justin Jolly
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 6 Contributor
82 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2014 via mobile

This property is centrally located and almost everything is within walking distance. The staff is courteous, the rooms very clean and in-house restaurant good. The only real downfall is that nearly every room is different, and each that I've had very small.

If room shopping in London, this property should be on the short-list of options.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dbtogi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin J, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn London - Kensington, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Dear Dbtogi,

Thank you for your recent visit and review on the Kensington Close hotel.

It’s great to see that you find the hotel and area which surrounds us to your liking. I agree that all our rooms are slightly different and that some of the room can be cosy. We do offer full details including room sizes on our website, for longer stays or special occasions I would highly recommend the Executive Club rooms which will not disappoint.

I will be sure to convey your comments to the team and hope you will visit us again soon.

Kindest regards

Justin Jolly
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2014

We stayed for three nights and would have moved to another hotel if we could, the room was incredibly small and no place to pack or unpack your bags one bed had a concrete pillar at the end which was hard for a tall guy, the bathroom was long and narrow with the toilet pan jammed between two walls about 75cm apart, shower water ran hot and cold, on the good side the location was very good, close to shopping and the tube and breakfast was excellent. Could not believe there was NO wifi even in the lobby. I think we would stay at another hotel if we return to London

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin J, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn London - Kensington, responded to this review, June 22, 2014
Dear JohnT

Thank you for your recent visit and stay here at the Kensington Close Hotel.

Although our rooms can be described as cosy, we do provide a wardrobe with hanging space in all our rooms so am a little confused with the comment. We do have a selection of room types and advertise as such with full details and room dimensions on our website.

We do provide complimentary Wi-Fi access to all guests in Executive rooms and Wi-Fi is available in the Lobby (charged @ £9.95 for 24hrs), as well as computers available to use for quickly checking mail and printing boarding passes in the business centre.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and I will be sure to pass your comments onto the team.

Kindest regards

Justin Jolly
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
Holiday Inn London Kensington Forum
South Kensington
Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington
South Kensington
Park International Hotel
Park International Hotel
#351 of 1,068 in London
2,058 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
Millennium Gloucester Hotel London Kensington
South Kensington
Park Grand London Kensington
South Kensington
Crowne Plaza London Kensington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn London - Kensington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn London - Kensington

Property: Holiday Inn London - Kensington
Address: Wrights Lane | Kensington, London W8 5SP, England (Formerly Kensington Close Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#74 Spa Hotel in London
#358 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn London - Kensington 4*
Number of rooms: 708
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn London - Kensington is a beautiful 4-star hotel centrally located near Kensington High Street tube station and a short walk from Kensington Palace & Gardens, Royal Albert Hall, Earls Court and the West End. The Hotel has 708 well-equipped non-smoking bedrooms including Executive bedrooms and Suites. Enjoy fresh seasonal dishes in the brasserie or a drink in the sunny private garden. Business traveller's appreciate the powerful WiFi service, wide ranging room service menu and an executive lounge for VIPs too. State of the art meeting facilities for up to 250 delegates are ideal for meetings, dinners and weddings. Shopping at Westfield and Oxford Street is a short distance away. Imagine Health Club and Spa includes a fantastic new gym and an 18 metre swimming pool with sauna, steam rooms and jacuzzi. The Spa offers an enticing selection of massage, facial and beauty treatments with our expert therapists. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn London - Kensington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kensington Close London
Hotel Kensington Close
Kensington Close Hotel London
Holiday Inn London - Kensington England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing