We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really good”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn London - Kensington
Ranked #616 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Really good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2014

We were upgraded which was lovely. The room was lovely and clean. Lovely shower and a big bed. Staff were lovely and very helpful. Spa is lovely worth the £8 I think. Very close to tube station. With plenty around to do and go. Wonderful breakfast. Over all lovely stay. Will def use again.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shazzy282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew H, General Manager at Holiday Inn London - Kensington, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Dear Guest,

We very much look forward to seeing you again at Kensington Close – thank you very much for taking the trouble to post such a nice review.

Kind Regards,

Andrew Hollett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,963 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    632
    1,408
    1,033
    535
    355
See reviews for
607
1,496
191
844
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (710)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014

Very nice looking hotel, room had the usual amenities you would expect for standard class accommodation. It was clean and comfortable and i have to say the Burger on the room service menu was one of the best i had ever had, But i got a very frosty welcome from the staff, especially the unusual large number of security staff that idle in the reception area. Throughout my stay i didn't feel i was as welcomed as other patrons due to my alternative dress style and the fact i was staying with my lesbian partner. I wasn't particularly comfortable with the looks and manner i was addressed. It is a real shame as the trip was booked as an anniversary present for my girlfriend so i could take her to see cirque du soleil at the royal Albert hall. We had a wonderful time but i felt the hotel staff were very judgemental and therefore would not stay with them again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hannah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew H, General Manager at Holiday Inn London - Kensington, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear Hannah,

Thank you for your kind comments about our hotel, and I was especially delighted to read how much you liked our room service burger!

I was, however, disappointed to read that you felt my staff were judgemental about you and your partner. I honour your opinion, of course, but I can assure you that we do our best to make all our guests feel welcome and I am very sorry if this did not always appear to come across.

Kind Regards,

Andrew Hollett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these London hotels

Denpasar, Indonesia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

Good hotel with friendly staff! i only stayed on business but the room i had was great and i had a lovely bathroom. The breakfast in the morning was great and it consisted of every type of breakfast you could possibly want, i am staying again next month again on business due to my good experience. Thankyou to you guys at the Kensington Close.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Ezio D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew H, General Manager at Holiday Inn London - Kensington, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear Guest,

See you again next month – thanks very much for your nice review!

Kind Regards,

Andrew Hollett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014

It is with regret that I have to write this review. Lets start with the positives-the hotel is very smart and clean. The staff were friendly. Yes the rooms are small but well presented, single beds too close together. The shower had a few issues it flooded the floor of the room making it quite dangerous. On the whole it was an enjoyable stay.

HOWEVER-I did try to contact the manager on several occasions to express my concern over my credit card booking. I booked through the website of the hotel. So I feel this is a must to share as he/she was unobtainable for discussion... I do have all the info if the manager wants to privately contact me. Quite frankly it ruined my Christmas.. Enough said.

I wanted to book the hotel again but I have no confidence in using my credit card because of what happen which was highly distressing.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jayne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew H, General Manager at Holiday Inn London - Kensington, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear Jayne,

I was pleased to read that overall you had an enjoyable stay though I am sorry you had a problem with the shower. That has now been attended to.

I am sure that you can have confidence in using your credit card to book through our site for your next visit and I would like to get to the bottom of the issue you say you had with your credit card recently. I have just been appointed the new General Manager for Kensington Close Hotel and would be grateful if you could drop me an email about what happened via: duty.manager@kensingtonclosehotel.com and I will give this my immediate attention and get back to you.

Kind Regards,

Andrew Hollett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014

my husband had booked this hotel as a special treat for my birthday, he chose it because the rooms looked very comfortable and spacious. We arrived around 2pm Friday 31st January checked in and within 5 minutes we were back at reception complaining, The room we were given was so small the two of us could hardly move and the smell of paint was so over powering i immediately got a headache. We were given another room which was bigger but not that much. The only time we had a HOT cuppa was when we made it our selves in the room,the water in the restaurant was Luke warm. The menu never changed the 4 days we were there so we ate out all the time. The best part of our stay was the massage we had, 50 minutes of pure relaxation but at at cost of £64.50 each. Also the staff were very friendly and helpful. We would not recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: book another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sophiede190793
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew H, General Manager at Holiday Inn London - Kensington, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear Guest,

I was naturally very dismayed that you were disappointed with your room, particularly as it was a birthday treat. We have a big variety of rooms at different budget levels and I am sorry if yours felt too small.

I would just like to thank you for your kind remark about my staff and I do hope you change your mind and decide to stay with us on another occasion – I am sure you will have a better experience.

Kind Regards,

Andrew Hollett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014

The Kensington Close Hotel is an extremely nice hotel located in Kensington. The hotel is located close to The Underground station making travel very easy. The hotel is very beautiful in its architecture. The staff are very friendly and very helpful. The food made by the hotel staff is delicious. The breakfast served in the dining room is buffet style serving full English breakfast items. My wife and I had dinner in the dinning room one night and had the two course dinner. It was very good. I had the whiting and as I am not a big fish eater I loved the meal. The rooms are considered small compared to the hotel rooms but my wife and I thought the room was very comfortable and plenty big enough for the both of us to stay. Of course if you are in Kensington/London area and you are spending most of your time in your hotel room you are missing out on a beautiful city. Overall this is an excellent hotel with great accommodations and outstanding staff. I was very sad to leave and I hope and look forward to the chance to stay in the Kensington Close Hotel again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Billy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew H, General Manager at Holiday Inn London - Kensington, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear Billy,

I was delighted to see your very thoughtful review and to read how much you enjoyed your stay with us and no doubt your sightseeing in London too. My staff and I look forward to seeing you again – soon I hope!

Kind Regards,

Andrew Hollett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorks
Level Contributor
125 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

We stayed as a group attending a function at the natural history museum, for which the hotel is quite convenient. It's a 15 min stroll or £8 cab ride.

The communal spaces are well appointed, with a decent bar and nibbles provided with drinks. The room I had was pretty terrible. It was small with few amenities, and the bathroom was shocking and cold. There was no heating in there (the towel rail had been disconnected) and the tiled floor with bare feet was quite unpleasant.

Thankfully it was just one nights sleep so could put up with it.

On the plus side, boom early and it is quite cheap!! I think we paid £55 a room, so for London that is very good.

Would go back if on a budget, but will take a pair of socks or slippers for that bathroom!!!

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Suggers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew H, General Manager at Holiday Inn London - Kensington, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear Guest,

I was pleased to read how much you liked our hotel and its convenient location but disappointed that your room (as you imply, it was one of our good-value-for-money rooms) was not up to your expectations. I do hope we will have the opportunity of seeing you again. If your budget can stretch a bit to an upgrade I think you will be pleasantly surprised.

Kind Regards,

Andrew Hollett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
Holiday Inn London Kensington Forum
South Kensington
Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington
South Kensington
Park International Hotel
Park International Hotel
#373 of 1,088 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
#61 of 1,088 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,576 reviews
South Kensington
The Park City Grand Plaza Kensington Hotel
South Kensington
Hotel Indigo London Kensington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn London - Kensington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn London - Kensington

Property: Holiday Inn London - Kensington
Address: Wrights Lane | Kensington, London W8 5SP, England (Formerly Kensington Close Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#69 Spa Hotel in London
#360 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn London - Kensington 4*
Number of rooms: 708
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn London - Kensington is a beautiful 4-star hotel centrally located near Kensington High Street tube station and a short walk from Kensington Palace & Gardens, Royal Albert Hall, Earls Court and the West End. The Hotel has 708 well-equipped non-smoking bedrooms including Executive bedrooms and Suites. Enjoy fresh seasonal dishes in the brasserie or a drink in the sunny private garden. Business traveller's appreciate the powerful WiFi service, wide ranging room service menu and an executive lounge for VIPs too. State of the art meeting facilities for up to 250 delegates are ideal for meetings, dinners and weddings. Shopping at Westfield and Oxford Street is a short distance away. Imagine Health Club and Spa includes a fantastic new gym and an 18 metre swimming pool with sauna, steam rooms and jacuzzi. The Spa offers an enticing selection of massage, facial and beauty treatments with our expert therapists. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline, IHG, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TravelClick, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn London - Kensington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kensington Close London
Hotel Kensington Close
Kensington Close Hotel London
Holiday Inn London - Kensington England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing