We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A weekend in London!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn London - Kensington High Street
Ranked #592 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Reviewed November 25, 2013

We stayed in this hotel as my husband had stayed there a few times and not had any problems. It is a welcoming hotel and the staff are very approachable and friendly. It is ideally located for Kensington High Street as it is just round the corner from the tube station, less than a 5 minute walk away.
Overall we enjoyed our stay, however,
1. room - the room was lovely, spacious but apart from when we first checked it, each time we came back to it was cold. We tried to adjust the air con/heating and managed, eventually, to get warmed up.
2. bathroom - the bathroom was clean but the sink had a large crack in it and the bath enamel was damaged. This didn't bother me but it would some people.
3. general tidiness - there was a dirty cup left on the stairs for quite a while before it was removed.
Despite all this it would not prevent me from trying this hotel again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chocolate_Girl8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laszlo N, General Manager at Holiday Inn London - Kensington High Street, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2013

Dear Guest,

I was very pleased to read that you and your husband chose to stay with us following previous visits by him and that you would use us for another visit to London. We would certainly be delighted to see you both again.

Your comments about your room are well taken. If you need assistance with the heating controls on another occasion please just call down to reception and we will help you. As to the sink I will get this looked into.

Kind Regards,

Laszlo Nyari
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,368)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,647 - 2,653 of 4,368 reviews

Reviewed November 25, 2013

This was our first booking and prices were a lot lower than hotels in the area. From the minute we arrived when greeted by door man to the time we left all staff were friendly and helpful. We will be booking when we return next year. Derek King Managing DirectorVetbuild Solutions Ltd.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tossed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laszlo N, General Manager at Holiday Inn London - Kensington High Street, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2013

Dear Derek,

I am delighted that you have discovered our hotel and liked it so much. Thank you. My staff and I look forward to seeing you again next year.

Kind Regards,

Laszlo Nyari
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Good location, easy to access, near Underground High Street Kensington. Not noisy even close to frequent streets.
Good staff, breakfast good and time to serve generous.
Pretty small single rooms med nice and clean. I´m pleased.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LLindblom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laszlo N, General Manager at Holiday Inn London - Kensington High Street, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2013

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your review – we hope to see you again when you are next in London.

Kind Regards,

Laszlo Nyari
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2013

Located conveniently close to Kensington High Street underground station and all the shops in that area this is a large but well-run hotel. The rooms are comfortable and spacious enough with modern TV system and the usual features. The buffet breakfast is wide in range and good in quality of food offered. We were able to walk easily to the museums of South Kensington and the peace of Kensington Gardens. My sole gripe is that they have taken draught beer and lager off the bar and only bottled versions are available.

Room Tip: Keep away from rooms that face up Wrights Lane, the noise of Kensington High Street gets channelled...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank William H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laszlo N, General Manager at Holiday Inn London - Kensington High Street, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2013

Dear William,

I am grateful to you for posting your review about our hotel and glad that you still like us despite your comment about the draught beer!

Kind Regards,

Laszlo Nyari

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2013

I stayed here for six nights having booked a single room for a very reasonable price via the hotel website. Having read reviews stating how small the rooms were I was a little worried, but compared to other 4* single rooms I have slept in, the room was huge! Certainly more than big enough for one person. The furniture did have a tough of the halls of residence about it - it was certainly not the plushest hotel I've stayed in - but it was clean and comfortable and great for the price. I did not eat breakfast at the hotel - there are some good caffes less than 5 minutes walk away. A big bonus was the fact that there were proper bath sheets to wrap yourself in, and not the usual postage sized towels. The pillows are on the thin side - I simply asked for an extra two, which were supplied without any problem at all. The bar is very comfortable to sit in - and a big plus point to the staff who recognised me every time after the first night. All in all I found this a reasonable, comfortable hotel with friendly staff and very conveniently located for the high street and tube. One thing to note - the air conditioning is very noisy at night - the sound of others using water gurgled through it until late and started again early in the morning. Also, charging for internet use? Even budget hotels either offer it free or at a reduced price if wanted for more than three nights. This needs to be looked to.

Room Tip: I was on the fourth floor - there are three lifts, so take note of which is closest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lodesgymraeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2013

Invited by a friend to lunch at the bar in the hotel. Limited selection of food, Thai green curry made with peas, never had that before either in Thai restaurants or in Thailand but it was tasty. We also had Fish and Chips and it looked very good and was a good portion. Service was good and attentive.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Moosie57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2013

Stayed here in a twin - Fri/Sat nights in November 2013. Was worried having read very negative reviews via tripadvisor. But ill founded for us. Polite / efficient service throughout especially the breakfast / bar / reception staff. Room - clean / brightly decorated / quiet ( 2nd floor no. 290 ) Powerful shower. Not spacious but adequate for us. No problems with lifts. One disappointment - the bar wasn't serving beer/lager from any of the pumps. I was informed the hotel had decided to withdraw this facility permanently - so only bottled available - strange decision.

Room Tip: Our room 290 was quiet / brightly decorated / not huge but adequate / powerful shower / comfortable...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank andrew j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
Holiday Inn London Kensington Forum
South Kensington
Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington
South Kensington
The Park City Grand Plaza Kensington Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
#60 of 1,077 in London
3,883 reviews
South Kensington
Park Grand London Kensington
South Kensington
Premier Inn London Kensington (Earl's Court) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn London - Kensington High Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn London - Kensington High Street

Address: Wrights Lane | Kensington, London W8 5SP, England (Formerly Kensington Close Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#74 Spa Hotel in London
#347 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: $128 - $211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn London - Kensington High Street 4*
Number of rooms: 708
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn London - Kensington High Street is a beautiful 4-star hotel centrally located near Kensington High Street tube station and a short walk from Kensington Palace & Gardens, Royal Albert Hall, Earls Court and the West End. The Hotel has 708 well-equipped non-smoking bedrooms including Executive bedrooms and Suites. Enjoy fresh seasonal dishes in the brasserie or a drink in the sunny private garden. Business traveller's appreciate the powerful WiFi service, wide ranging room service menu and an executive lounge for VIPs too. State of the art meeting facilities for up to 250 delegates are ideal for meetings, dinners and weddings. Shopping at Westfield and Oxford Street is a short distance away. Imagine Health Club and Spa includes a fantastic new gym and an 18 metre swimming pool with sauna, steam rooms and jacuzzi. The Spa offers an enticing selection of massage, facial and beauty treatments with our expert therapists. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, IHG, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn London - Kensington High Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kensington Close London
Hotel Kensington Close
Kensington Close Hotel London
Holiday Inn London - Kensington High Street England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing