We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Holiday Inn London - Kensington
Ranked #619 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
119 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great Location”
Reviewed June 21, 2013

The Location was really great and the reception on arrival also awesome, unfortunately he forgot to mention that we have to pay 8 sterling to use the swimming pool, which really shocked me as its never mentioned in the hotel ads?
I reckon leisure activity should have been offered FOC to resident? ….. The room was a wee bit tiny but I’ve already expected that for London, but its clean and fulfill with all what I needed as a weekend traveler
The staff was also lovely, and the entrance looks really nice, too bad I have to walk all the way through the lobby to go to the leisure facility, it’s a bit annoying but not gonna kill me …

I would stay here again for the location, 2 minutes from the tube/bus station and nice location , but for sure would pre alert my friends and colleague about the leisure facility …….

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ephie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul Q, Manager at Holiday Inn London - Kensington, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Ephie L,

thank you for your comments on your recent stay with us at the Kensington Close Hotel. I was pleased to hear you were happy with the service provided by our staff and that you were able to take advantage of our convenient location, within close proximity to High Street Kensington with all its
With regards to our prices for using the Spa, they are clearly stated in our website. The cost is £8 per day for hotel residents and £15 for non-residents.
I hope we will shall have the opportunity of welcoming you back in the near future!


Kind regards,


Laszlo Nyari
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,067 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    658
    1,446
    1,062
    545
    356
See reviews for
621
1,529
197
872
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (721)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toowoomba, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Standard Room was very clean, but don't expect size....which is fine because there is so much to do in London that you are hardly there. Beds were v.comfortable. Service was outstanding. The concierge service was especially good with Paul being one of the most efficient and friendly gentlemen on staff. Could not do enough for us. Organise to have the hotel car service for transfers to airport and train station. As first time travellers, we were very relieved to have such a positive introduction to London.

Room Tip: Upgrade from a standard room if you want size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LockeyAdventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul Q, Manager at Holiday Inn London - Kensington, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear LockeyAdventure,

I was delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your recent stay with us at the Kensington Close Hotel and how happy you were with our Concierge Service. I sincerely hope we shall have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future!


Kind regards,

Laszlo Nyari
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

I was expecting the worst after all the bad reviews I'd read but was pleasantly surprised.

Good points:
Great location close to shops, restaurants, tube and bus stop
Lovely spacious, clean & modern lobby, lounge & restaurant. Nice terrace
Lovely buffet breakfast of fruit, yoghurt, cereal, full English, continental, pastries, lots of juices
Excellent service at breakfast and no queuing for anything
Lovely comfy bed and pillows
Full length mirror, big tv, hot power shower, toiletries, good room cleaning service.

Bad points:
Not enough lifts for guests
Room and bathroom a little tired compared with rest of hotel
Had to pay to leave luggage on check out (£1) per bag
Not enough milks in room for coffee/tea so had to keep asking for more
No Nutella at breakfast (I love Nutella!) or bananas
Coffee not hot enough
Croissants not warm
Have to pay to use gym/pool

Altogether good value. Would stay again.


  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NPGG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul Q, Manager at Holiday Inn London - Kensington, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Dear NPGG,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at our hotel. We value all feedback whether it is positive or constructive. It is through such communication that we are given an opportunity to evaluate our performance, and focus on the areas that need to be addressed, ensuring we deliver the standard of service that our guests have come to expect from us.
Given your impressions from your first visit to our Hotel, I hope we shall have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the Kensington Close Hotel in the near future!


Kind regards,

Laszlo Nyari
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France
Level Contributor
96 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Recently spent a weekend here and overall the experience was very good. The staff were very friendly and extremely helpful. This is a large hotel and therefore quite busy which I can understand as the location is very good, very close to Kensington High Street Tube Station, a variety of shops and pubs and Kensington Roof Gardens. Our room, although a little on the small side was clean and well maintained. The cooked breakfast available in the buffet wasn't the best I'd had, but I think this is down to the size of the hotel and trying to cater for such a large amount of people. There was however an "a la carte" breakfast available and plenty of fruit, cereal, bread, croissants etc if you didn't want the Full English Breakfast which is included the buffet. I think it's great for a short break in London. The bar is very nice and makes a good cocktail, both alcoholic and non alcoholic. One more thing, the bed was exceptionally comfortable! I would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BJ5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul Q, Manager at Holiday Inn London - Kensington, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Dear BJ5,

I was delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your recent stay with us and how you took advantage of our convenient location, in close proximity to High Street Kensington with all its shops, cafes and restaurants. Given the impressions you had from your first stay, I hope we shall have the opportunity of welcoming you back at the Kensington Close Hotel!


Kind regards,

Laszlo Nyari
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Stayed here recently for four nights and convenience is fantastic. A short walk to underground and easy buses to Trafalgar Square. Rooms are quite small, hotel has an older feel. Breakfast was poor both in terms of service and quality. Concierge was very helpful with planning, directions, buses, timetables, helping with adhoc requests, etc. Did not like having to pay for WiFi at all. Would stay again but based on location rather than anything else at all.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul Q, Manager at Holiday Inn London - Kensington, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Dear Wendy P,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at our hotel. We value all feedback whether it is positive or constructive. It is through such communication that we are given an opportunity to evaluate our performance, and focus on the areas that need to be addressed, ensuring we deliver the standard of service that our guests have come to expect from us.


Kind regards,

Laszlo Nyari
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013

For last 20 years i' studied science and human perception. It also involve to travel into various locations in search of different standards of leaving and way customers are treated. Upon my arrival and entry to the building,there was no one to react to my presence. A single person operating switchboard and serving check in's. Well phone call was put before me so it tucked whole 5 min before i was able to check in. Rooms are small and compact design and wow toilet pan was dirty.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peter j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul Q, Manager at Holiday Inn London - Kensington, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Dear Peter J,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at our hotel. We value all feedback whether it is positive or constructive. It is through such communication that we are given an opportunity to evaluate our performance, and focus on the areas that need to be addressed, ensuring we deliver the standard of service that our guests have come to expect from us.


Kind regards,

Laszlo Nyari
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Hotel was lovely, my partner bought me a trip to London for my christmas present, and booked this hotel based on the positive reviews he had recieved from his firm who frequently use the hotel.
Rooms were rather small however, I'd say the bathroom was bigger than the hotel room itself! decor was very basic, wouldn't have said it was overly luxurious.

The hotel bar was very good, nice busy buzzing atmosphere, drinks weren't too expensive given that we knew london prices would be considerably higher here.

Location was brilliant, approximately a 5 minute walk from High Street Kensington which was very central for getting to the best sight seeing places.

The only negative we had from the entire weekend was prior to our departure on the Monday we were told on our arrival on the friday that breakfast was served from 7am-11am, so we decided to pack before our train so we arrived at breakfast at 10:30 only to be told that breakfast had finished serving at 10am... we then told the hostess what we were told upon arrival and she didnt apologise merely said "well, who ever told you, was wrong"

Other than that, lovely weekend break!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul Q, Manager at Holiday Inn London - Kensington, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Dear J T,

I was pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us. Please accept my sincere apologies for the miscommunication regarding the breakfast times of our Restaurant. I hope given your overall experience, we shall have the opportunity of welcoming you back at the Kensington Close Hotel in the near future!


Kind regards,

Laszlo Nyari
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
Holiday Inn London Kensington Forum
South Kensington
Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington
South Kensington
Park International Hotel
Park International Hotel
#352 of 1,067 in London
2,033 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
Millennium Gloucester Hotel London Kensington
South Kensington
The Park City Grand Plaza Kensington Hotel
South Kensington
Crowne Plaza London Kensington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn London - Kensington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn London - Kensington

Property: Holiday Inn London - Kensington
Address: Wrights Lane | Kensington, London W8 5SP, England (Formerly Kensington Close Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#72 Spa Hotel in London
#355 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn London - Kensington 4*
Number of rooms: 708
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn London - Kensington is a beautiful 4-star hotel centrally located near Kensington High Street tube station and a short walk from Kensington Palace & Gardens, Royal Albert Hall, Earls Court and the West End. The Hotel has 708 well-equipped non-smoking bedrooms including Executive bedrooms and Suites. Enjoy fresh seasonal dishes in the brasserie or a drink in the sunny private garden. Business traveller's appreciate the powerful WiFi service, wide ranging room service menu and an executive lounge for VIPs too. State of the art meeting facilities for up to 250 delegates are ideal for meetings, dinners and weddings. Shopping at Westfield and Oxford Street is a short distance away. Imagine Health Club and Spa includes a fantastic new gym and an 18 metre swimming pool with sauna, steam rooms and jacuzzi. The Spa offers an enticing selection of massage, facial and beauty treatments with our expert therapists. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, TravelClick, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn London - Kensington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kensington Close London
Hotel Kensington Close
Kensington Close Hotel London
Holiday Inn London - Kensington England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing