We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For one night only...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn London - Kensington
Ranked #617 of 1,068 Hotels in London
England
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“For one night only...”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We stayed here for one night 14/02/13 - felt the room was a bit small (we had a double) and on checkout we queried if we were actually given the wrong room as it certainly didn't feel like a superior room!

The room was OK for one night, the shower was lovely if a bit narrow and it did look like the room had recently been renovated, it had tea & coffee facilities, a safe and tv and loads of plug points.

Plus points - it's in a great location, there is a wide selection for breakfast and it has a comfortable lounge/lobby bar. The Concierge and Doorman were also very helpful.

Minus points - the lifts - seemed to wait for ages for the lift and then it would miss floors! Also there seemed to be a lack of communication between the website booking site and the hotel reservation team, we booked B&B but were questioned four times whilst eating breakfast if we did in fact prebook breakfast - it was only when the paperwork was presented that it was accepted by the Reception Team.

All in all, for the amount of time we spent in the hotel it was 'OK' - would I recommend or use again, probably, but just for the location if I was staying on that side of town again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LNCUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kenclose, Group Operations Director at Holiday Inn London - Kensington, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear LNCUK,

Thank you for providing feedback on your recent stay with us at the Kensington Close Hotel. I would like to express my sincere apologies for the confusion regarding breakfast- having been asked on multiple occasions whether or not you’re your booking included this service. Thank you for your understanding and patience regarding this matter, and I assure you that training programs have been initiated to ensure that communication between departments is efficient and consistent.

I am however glad that our newly renovated rooms, lobby/bar, breakfast service and convenient location were all to your liking and that you consider staying with us again should you wish to return to the Kensington area.

Thank you once again for your feedback and for choosing the Kensington Close Hotel.

Kind regards,
Zeljko Stasevic
Group Operations Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    667
    1,472
    1,071
    551
    359
See reviews for
632
1,549
199
885
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (724)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
maynooth Co.Kildare
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We just spent the weekend at this hotel and found the staff to be wonderful.
Our room was one of the updated rooms and it was very modern but quite small. The room was spotlessly clean and had a flat screen tv. There was air conditioning but it did not seem to work adequately.
The breakfast was buffet style but you could get fresh fried eggs at the buffet. The breakfast was more than adequate.
The staff from the front desk to the concierge were very helpful.
The location is perfect as it is 5 minutes from the High street Kensington tube station , which is two stops from Victoria if you are arriving in from Gatwick.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jenjacknick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Very good for central London stays with plenty of shopping and dining nearby and handy for the tube. The staff were considerate and helpful. Unfortunately the decor generally is tired and the room I had (double for single occupancy) was bordering on the store cupboard size with tatty decor. The bathroom was sad indeed: I waited a full five minutes for warm (not hot) water. The noise from other 'residents' was noticeable. Worse still was the noise from the plumbing of adjoining rooms. Recommended for a full refurbishment. I shan't return.

Room Tip: At the rear.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Vega77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these London hotels

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Booked this hotel through super-break as part of a valentines get away. I felt a little put off after reading the comments about this hotel, however we had no problems during our stay.

Check in was a breeze and our room had clearly been refurbished recently. Got to be honest that it was on the small side but was clean with a lovely comfortable double bed. Breakfast was included in our deal, and was your normal buffet style. Nothing exciting.

Cant comment on the spa as we never had time to use these facilities.

Location is perfect for exploring London, 2 minute walk from Kesington High Street Tube.

The hotel was still undergoing some refurbishment and the lifts were a little bit rubbish! Apart from that our stay was comfortable and relaxing, would recommend the afternoon tea, was delish!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fern843
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

This hotel is 2 minutes walk from High Street Kensington Station (on the Circle and Dsitrict Lines). Some parts of the hotel has been newly renovated and its seems comfortable when you enter the hotel. If you don't want to be disaappointed with the room, you should check if your room is newly renovated or not before the reservation because the other rooms are quite neglected. The breakfast was more than an ordinary continental breakfast (scrambled eggs, fresh fruit juice etc)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kruyela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyne and Wear
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

I have just recently returned from the Kensington Close Hotel last weekend. I stayed for two nights with my Mum and must say some of the negative reviews I had read before travelling had slightly put me off. How wrong they were. The hotel is situated just around the corner and down a small street from High Street Kensington tube station. The hotel was very clean and they were actually redecorating whilst we were there. The breakfast was very nice, and could eat as much as you liked. Our room was situated on the 7th floor. It was clean and tidy although quite small (but what do you need for a two night stay). The TV allowed you to view freeview channels, although you did have to pay £5 to rent a movie. We didn't actually have time to use the spa facilities so I cannot comment upon them. Overall I really enjoyed my stay and would most certainly return to this hotel again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank belleah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013

This hotel is very handy being only 2 mins walk from High St Kensington Tube Station.The staff were really helpful-lovely concierge and doorman and reception staff.The rooms were clean.We had a twin room which was quite small but for what we paid I did not mind.The bathroom was white and tiled with a power shower-only downside was the shower curtain which as not long enough to go round the bath,so no matter how you positioned it, the water went all over the floor.Had to use towels to mop it up as floor became very slippy when wet.Think hotel could put screens there instead.Breakfast was fine, could have done with more variety of fruit and cereal.Didn't try the spa.Would go back there-so near the parks and good shops and handy for travelling into London to see the sights.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aligbsn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
Holiday Inn London Kensington Forum
South Kensington
Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington
South Kensington
Park International Hotel
Park International Hotel
#351 of 1,068 in London
2,058 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
Millennium Gloucester Hotel London Kensington
South Kensington
Park Grand London Kensington
South Kensington
Crowne Plaza London Kensington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn London - Kensington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn London - Kensington

Property: Holiday Inn London - Kensington
Address: Wrights Lane | Kensington, London W8 5SP, England (Formerly Kensington Close Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#74 Spa Hotel in London
#358 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn London - Kensington 4*
Number of rooms: 708
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn London - Kensington is a beautiful 4-star hotel centrally located near Kensington High Street tube station and a short walk from Kensington Palace & Gardens, Royal Albert Hall, Earls Court and the West End. The Hotel has 708 well-equipped non-smoking bedrooms including Executive bedrooms and Suites. Enjoy fresh seasonal dishes in the brasserie or a drink in the sunny private garden. Business traveller's appreciate the powerful WiFi service, wide ranging room service menu and an executive lounge for VIPs too. State of the art meeting facilities for up to 250 delegates are ideal for meetings, dinners and weddings. Shopping at Westfield and Oxford Street is a short distance away. Imagine Health Club and Spa includes a fantastic new gym and an 18 metre swimming pool with sauna, steam rooms and jacuzzi. The Spa offers an enticing selection of massage, facial and beauty treatments with our expert therapists. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holiday Inn London - Kensington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kensington Close London
Hotel Kensington Close
Kensington Close Hotel London
Holiday Inn London - Kensington England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing