We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't be fooled by reception”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Holiday Inn London - Kensington
Ranked #616 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Don't be fooled by reception”
Reviewed February 13, 2013

The reception refurb is impressive and like other reviewers said the staff are great but there are so many negatives. I had to pay for an upgrade as just couldn't stay the room I was given ...and not a cheap rate. The lift configuration meant carrying suitcase between floors, bits broken off in room, rationed coffee, shower either boiling hot or freezing cold ....I could go on but you get the gist. Just a shocker. Think twice before you book.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tiffanys57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,032 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    647
    1,435
    1,054
    541
    355
See reviews for
611
1,521
195
867
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (718)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kidderminster
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 13, 2013

We stayed here on 9th February, The hotel was busy but generally impressive; helpful staff; our room was good. However, in the morning the shower was briefly warm but thereafter stone cold for each of us. I did inform Housekeeping who offered to send someone straight away, and apologised, but we needed to leave so went, shivering slightly! However, in the lift down from the 8th floor we discovered that another couple had had exactly the same experience, and yet another had had "warmish" showers that morning but stone-cold ones the day before. So... do go to the hotel, but check the shower the instant you cross the threshold, and perhaps continue to do so at intervals!

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2013 via mobile

Recently stayed at the hotel for 2 nights room only, rooms were ok size, very clean and newly furnished, would struggle if it was longer as there wouldn't be enough room for luggage.
Reception area and location are great and first impressions were excellent and would recommend this hotel, at the price I paid.
My only grumble was the spa facilities, we paid £8 each which was reasonable if it wasn't so bad, but the jacuzzi wasn't working, the sauna rooms are separate in the changing rooms. The pool was dirty and needed a good clean. The changing rooms are awful, doors hanging off, the showers didn't work properly and the temperature couldn't be changed from extremely hot. Don't spoil your stay by using these facilities.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ALW1077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2013

Stayed here last week. Hotel is huge despite the exclusive air it gives itself. It is clean and recently refurbished. Also near tube. Beds are comfortable and rooms are a decent size. However you need to be a high hurdler to get in the bath.
Breakfast is a mass production affair. Highly diluted fruit juice, powdered scramble egg, leathery bacon.
Nice bar but I nearly choked on my £ 3 miniature bottle of coke, so beware of ripoff prices.

Room Tip: Best room tactic is not to stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Melbrandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Consett
Level Contributor
149 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Stayed for one night B&B on Sat.9th Feb, and enjoyed it. Our double room on the 4th floor had clearly been recently renovated, and had a brand new feel to it. Although not overly luxurious, our room was spotlessly clean, with brand new fixtures and fittings. A great bed with new sheets, and probably the best pillows i have slept on at any hotel. The wall mounted HD tv was great, and bathroom & shower great.
The breakfast was good, with a buffet style proving popular. The decoration in the downstairs area was nice and presentable. All the staff that we encountered we pleasant and friendly.
After reading some of the recent reviews, i was a litter concerned, however this hotel is very good indeed from what i encountered. Already looking forward to another visit later in the year.

Room Tip: 4th floor rooms appear to have been renovated recently and are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andres1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenixville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
67 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

I stayed here for 8 nights in the middle of winter. The hotel has nice, renovated, spacious public areas on the ground floor. The staff are friendly and efficient. The rooms are small, but typical for British hotels. My room had been updated. The queen bed was comfortable but took up most of the room. There was a desk, desk chair, large HDTV (mounted to the wall because there was no other place for it), safe, mini-fridge, closet, and trouser press. The bathroom was quite tiny but had a full sized tub. Two complaints: 1) there was only 1 shelf in the closet, no dresser and no folding luggage rack - so had to live out of luggage on the floor; 2) the heat completely shut off when you were out of the room / took out key card - so that the room was cold upon return hours later. Because of this, I give my room 3-stars - but I give the hotel 4 stars, because for 65 pounds a night (plus tax) it was great value for London. The hotel is well situated a short walk from High Street Kensington - but be aware that the Circle and District lines frequently shut down on the weekends. The Holiday Inn Kensington Forum and Radisson Vanderbilt near the Gloucester Road tube station are both better located. The HI is nicer - with large rooms (you know exactly what you will get) - but is also over 100 pounds a night. For 65 pounds, you cannot beat the Kensington Close for value.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tsl1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Every moment of my dealings with the staff - welcome, check-in, internet issue, restaurant etc. etc. was brilliant. They were friendly and helpful at every turn. The room was pretty good, bed very comfortable, good TV. Bad points, stiff/broken loo handle pull that had clearly been like it for ages, interactive hotel TV is painfully slow, and no instructions anywhere on how to get connected to the internet (a friendly call with the concierge helped solve this). The evening meal again had the highlight of very friendly staff, the soup was good, however the lamb shank just wasn't cooked enough meaning that there was a lot of inedible fat that had to be hacked away at, rather than being enjoyed. This is yet another hotel that think they can charge £14 for a buffet breakfast, so I checked out in a flash before finding breakfast elsewhere.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
Holiday Inn London Kensington Forum
South Kensington
Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington
South Kensington
Park International Hotel
Park International Hotel
#361 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,994 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
#57 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,625 reviews
South Kensington
The Park City Grand Plaza Kensington Hotel
South Kensington
Hotel Indigo London Kensington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn London - Kensington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn London - Kensington

Property: Holiday Inn London - Kensington
Address: Wrights Lane | Kensington, London W8 5SP, England (Formerly Kensington Close Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#71 Spa Hotel in London
#354 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn London - Kensington 4*
Number of rooms: 708
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn London - Kensington is a beautiful 4-star hotel centrally located near Kensington High Street tube station and a short walk from Kensington Palace & Gardens, Royal Albert Hall, Earls Court and the West End. The Hotel has 708 well-equipped non-smoking bedrooms including Executive bedrooms and Suites. Enjoy fresh seasonal dishes in the brasserie or a drink in the sunny private garden. Business traveller's appreciate the powerful WiFi service, wide ranging room service menu and an executive lounge for VIPs too. State of the art meeting facilities for up to 250 delegates are ideal for meetings, dinners and weddings. Shopping at Westfield and Oxford Street is a short distance away. Imagine Health Club and Spa includes a fantastic new gym and an 18 metre swimming pool with sauna, steam rooms and jacuzzi. The Spa offers an enticing selection of massage, facial and beauty treatments with our expert therapists. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TravelClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Holiday Inn London - Kensington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kensington Close London
Hotel Kensington Close
Kensington Close Hotel London
Holiday Inn London - Kensington England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing