We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pretty good”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Holiday Inn London - Kensington
Ranked #620 of 1,064 Hotels in London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Pretty good”
Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for new years eve hotel in brilliant location 2min walk to kensington high street an tube station 1st impressions was good room was a little dated an maybe a bit small but more than adequate, room was also clean and no noise etc from anywhere overall the hotel was good the service was a bit of a let down tho, they couldn't find our booking for 20mins when checking in, the £ 32 hotel car park charge was a little steep an the £7 for an extended 2hours car parking really took the biscuit, then a slightly I don't care look of the receptionist when I told her I had being told there was no charge for the extension of the car parking! overall good for price as long as ya don't want car parking and not in ya room much

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank twiggy12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,026 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    645
    1,432
    1,053
    541
    355
See reviews for
610
1,516
195
867
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (717)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
N. Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Warm welcome from friendly, helpful staff. Spacious clean room and comfortable bed.
Excellent breakfast with hot and cold food, vast selection of fruit, cereals, rolls and breads including HOT coffee and teas. I would also recommend afternoon tea with delicious scones.
Near the Kensington High Street tube station.
What more can I say !
I will certainly stay there again and have recommended it to friends.

Room Tip: Within 5 minute walk to tube station
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tesstoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alnwick
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Spent long weekend and found the hotel and staff very friendly and helpfull, good room clean and tidy, lounge bar very good. Would recommend to family and friends.

Hotel was very clean and food excellent.

Room Tip: 8th floor rooms have been refurbished
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank john w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2012

All in all we had a very pleasant stay at the hotel. Its location is advantageous for the London traveller in that you are about a two block walk from the Kensington High tube stop. Rooms were comfortable (we did take an upgrade, though). We were disappointed, though, in some of the fees that are there for internet access and the phone use. It would have been nice to receive complimentary service or at least a business center portal. The steam room did have a musty, moldy smell to it, but it did not stop me from using it! My wife, on the other hand, would not have used it. Staff was mostly helpful and friendly. Our housekeepers would take away the wash/face clothes and not replace them so we would have to ask for extra to use. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Bcdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shoeburyness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012

The hotel is in a great location a few minutes walk from the tube and Kensington high street, great for exploring the city. The hotel has recently been refurbished and is very clean and modern. Our standard room was small and simple a bit like an upmarket travelodge but very good for the £70 that we paid. Food in the hotel was surprisingly good value, even a Christmas day menu was only £26.
The only down point was the £8 per person, per day fee to use the spa facilities which included the pool and gym. I had selected this hotel because of these facilities but did not think it was worth paying £16 for us to have a swim, shame this fee is not waved for hotel guests.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kenselbow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
126 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Location is rather good in Kensington, and for London the price of this hotel was actually not too bad. Quality was quite good, which is actually important in London where hotels have a quite variable standard. Did not try breakfast, there was quite a few good alternatives in the vicinity.

The hotel was being redecorated during our stay, which caused some inconvenience, but not too bad, and I would assume it is finished by now.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank egilk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo, Finland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2012

We booked this hotel via Agoda and got very good price. Room was cozy and brand new, toilet, shower and everything was normal european standard and that means better than english standard. We didn't used breakfast, but cocktail bar was nice, maybe a bit pricy.

Only bad experiense was spa area. After hard shopping day in London we wanted to relax in sauna and jacuzzi, but men's sauna was out of order and so was jacuzzi. Still the same 8 pound price to spa. Shouldn't happen. Pool was ok, some kids were training there, maybe some sports club too, but it was ok. There was also a steam room. Anyway it was maybe the best 3-4 stars hotel in London I've been to and it was easy to get around by underground. Also McDonald's near with "you know what you get" -breakfast was good for us. :)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank E_from_Finland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
Holiday Inn London Kensington Forum
South Kensington
Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington
South Kensington
Park International Hotel
Park International Hotel
#364 of 1,064 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
#58 of 1,064 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,620 reviews
South Kensington
The Park City Grand Plaza Kensington Hotel
South Kensington
Hotel Indigo London Kensington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn London - Kensington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn London - Kensington

Property: Holiday Inn London - Kensington
Address: Wrights Lane | Kensington, London W8 5SP, England (Formerly Kensington Close Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#70 Spa Hotel in London
#358 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn London - Kensington 4*
Number of rooms: 708
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn London - Kensington is a beautiful 4-star hotel centrally located near Kensington High Street tube station and a short walk from Kensington Palace & Gardens, Royal Albert Hall, Earls Court and the West End. The Hotel has 708 well-equipped non-smoking bedrooms including Executive bedrooms and Suites. Enjoy fresh seasonal dishes in the brasserie or a drink in the sunny private garden. Business traveller's appreciate the powerful WiFi service, wide ranging room service menu and an executive lounge for VIPs too. State of the art meeting facilities for up to 250 delegates are ideal for meetings, dinners and weddings. Shopping at Westfield and Oxford Street is a short distance away. Imagine Health Club and Spa includes a fantastic new gym and an 18 metre swimming pool with sauna, steam rooms and jacuzzi. The Spa offers an enticing selection of massage, facial and beauty treatments with our expert therapists. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TravelClick, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Holiday Inn London - Kensington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kensington Close London
Hotel Kensington Close
Kensington Close Hotel London
Holiday Inn London - Kensington England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing