We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite good value in London”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn London - Kensington High Street
Ranked #599 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Location is rather good in Kensington, and for London the price of this hotel was actually not too bad. Quality was quite good, which is actually important in London where hotels have a quite variable standard. Did not try breakfast, there was quite a few good alternatives in the vicinity.

The hotel was being redecorated during our stay, which caused some inconvenience, but not too bad, and I would assume it is finished by now.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank egilk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,298)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,147 - 3,153 of 4,298 reviews

Reviewed December 25, 2012

We booked this hotel via Agoda and got very good price. Room was cozy and brand new, toilet, shower and everything was normal european standard and that means better than english standard. We didn't used breakfast, but cocktail bar was nice, maybe a bit pricy.

Only bad experiense was spa area. After hard shopping day in London we wanted to relax in sauna and jacuzzi, but men's sauna was out of order and so was jacuzzi. Still the same 8 pound price to spa. Shouldn't happen. Pool was ok, some kids were training there, maybe some sports club too, but it was ok. There was also a steam room. Anyway it was maybe the best 3-4 stars hotel in London I've been to and it was easy to get around by underground. Also McDonald's near with "you know what you get" -breakfast was good for us. :)

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank E_from_Finland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2012

Had a 2 night weekend stay at the newly refurbished Kensington Close Hotel. The Hotel is just off Kensington High Street and the transport network is excellent. Have to admit we walked everywhere mainly as we had lovely weather for December but we did catch the bus (number 10) back to Kings Cross at a cost of 2.30 for me and nothing for Mum she used her Freedom pass. The journey takes about 40 mins depending on traffic but what a bargain.Large selection for breakfast with freshly cooked eggs. The room wasn't over big but was certainly fit for its purpose the beds were comfortable and everything was very clean. I would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank notsanyk21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2012

Needed somewhere for one night stay close to olympia. This did not disappoint. We had a room on first floor, not too big, small shower room, but huge bed!! Clean, did the job. Didn't have breakfast, but plenty if choice on kensington high street - less than 5 mins walk away (so handy for tube travel, which we did). Bar area lovely, but pricey- but its london!! Can recommend the Thai restaurant across the road too.
All in all, for £75 for a double, good links for tube/olympia we'd stay again.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank anna o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2012

We started our first trip to the UK with 5 nights in London staying at the Kensington Close. The room was recently remodeled, very clean, quiet and cozy (aka small). We had been warned the doubles were small, but that was OK because we were out and about touring England every day from early morning to late evening and all we needed was a clean, comfortable bed.

The hotel is located in a nice neighborhood and it was an easy walk to the tube station, the hop on/hop off buses and the beautiful Kensington Gardens/Hyde Park.

We purchased a package with the full buffet breakfast and found the food hot and tasty giving us a solid start to the day. Our only disappointment was the lack of free Wi-Fi in the room (there are several coffee shops near the hotel that offer Wi-Fi to their customers).

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CubFan1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2012

To be fair, the hotel has a beautiful lobby and fairly good location. Breakfast is okay but nothing special.

Also being fair, the room was absolutely terrible. We were expecting a 'luxury' experience'. What we got was a room that would be better suited to a 2 star hotel. It was small, unclean, paint peeling off the walls, a powerpoint was half hanging off the walls, three screws sticking out of the floor of the bathroom doorframe, tiny bathroom and on top of this, the shower did not properly work.

We had breakfast included on our booking but our room was never on the list and every morning we had to argue our case with the staff that breakfast was actually included. One morning we missed breakfast because we were told by the staff at reception it closed later than it really did. No apology, no offer of an alternative. They could not even tell us a local place to have breakfast.

If you are looking for a 2 star hotel, stay here - your expectations will be met. But if you are actually looking for a hotel where you get the 'luxury' experience you pay for, save yourself the frustration and disappointment and find another hotel. We certainly did not see anything apart from the glitzy lobby that was enjoyable.

Overall - a bad experience and unfortunately the last stop on a 'trip of a lifetime' for us. Would not recommend this hotel and will be voicing our opinion to our travel agent who booked this hotel never to do so again for anybody wanting a good experience in London. Save your money and go elsewhere.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BrStaff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2012

The Hotel is located in a nice area , there are a lot of shops and it is much more quiet than Oxford street, it is 15 minutes walking to the Portobello Market.The Lobby area is very pleasant but do not eat in the bar even if you are starving, the food is terrible and uneatable it is a shame that the Hotel has nothing to offer you, I ate a chicken breast that it seems the chef putted staight from the supermarket to the pan, let it dry and served with a few leaves. The room was small but nice and clean. There was an old TV , we had a problem with the tabs and the safebox, if the hotel improve these small things it can improve your stay at the Hotel and really enjoy it.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Irit E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
Holiday Inn London Kensington Forum
South Kensington
Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington
South Kensington
The Park City Grand Plaza Kensington Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
Crowne Plaza London Kensington
South Kensington
Park Grand London Kensington
Hilton London Kensington
#508 of 1,077 in London
4,356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn London - Kensington High Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn London - Kensington High Street

Address: Wrights Lane | Kensington, London W8 5SP, England (Formerly Kensington Close Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#74 Spa Hotel in London
#353 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: $131 - $246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn London - Kensington High Street 4*
Number of rooms: 708
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn London - Kensington High Street is a beautiful 4-star hotel centrally located near Kensington High Street tube station and a short walk from Kensington Palace & Gardens, Royal Albert Hall, Earls Court and the West End. The Hotel has 708 well-equipped non-smoking bedrooms including Executive bedrooms and Suites. Enjoy fresh seasonal dishes in the brasserie or a drink in the sunny private garden. Business traveller's appreciate the powerful WiFi service, wide ranging room service menu and an executive lounge for VIPs too. State of the art meeting facilities for up to 250 delegates are ideal for meetings, dinners and weddings. Shopping at Westfield and Oxford Street is a short distance away. Imagine Health Club and Spa includes a fantastic new gym and an 18 metre swimming pool with sauna, steam rooms and jacuzzi. The Spa offers an enticing selection of massage, facial and beauty treatments with our expert therapists. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Holiday Inn London - Kensington High Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kensington Close London
Hotel Kensington Close
Kensington Close Hotel London
Holiday Inn London - Kensington High Street England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing