We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Huge let down - room dangerous and terrible”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Holiday Inn London - Kensington
Ranked #615 of 1,068 Hotels in London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Huge let down - room dangerous and terrible”
Reviewed December 22, 2012

To be fair, the hotel has a beautiful lobby and fairly good location. Breakfast is okay but nothing special.

Also being fair, the room was absolutely terrible. We were expecting a 'luxury' experience'. What we got was a room that would be better suited to a 2 star hotel. It was small, unclean, paint peeling off the walls, a powerpoint was half hanging off the walls, three screws sticking out of the floor of the bathroom doorframe, tiny bathroom and on top of this, the shower did not properly work.

We had breakfast included on our booking but our room was never on the list and every morning we had to argue our case with the staff that breakfast was actually included. One morning we missed breakfast because we were told by the staff at reception it closed later than it really did. No apology, no offer of an alternative. They could not even tell us a local place to have breakfast.

If you are looking for a 2 star hotel, stay here - your expectations will be met. But if you are actually looking for a hotel where you get the 'luxury' experience you pay for, save yourself the frustration and disappointment and find another hotel. We certainly did not see anything apart from the glitzy lobby that was enjoyable.

Overall - a bad experience and unfortunately the last stop on a 'trip of a lifetime' for us. Would not recommend this hotel and will be voicing our opinion to our travel agent who booked this hotel never to do so again for anybody wanting a good experience in London. Save your money and go elsewhere.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BrStaff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    671
    1,477
    1,073
    551
    362
See reviews for
638
1,551
200
885
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (726)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hertzliya
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2012

The Hotel is located in a nice area , there are a lot of shops and it is much more quiet than Oxford street, it is 15 minutes walking to the Portobello Market.The Lobby area is very pleasant but do not eat in the bar even if you are starving, the food is terrible and uneatable it is a shame that the Hotel has nothing to offer you, I ate a chicken breast that it seems the chef putted staight from the supermarket to the pan, let it dry and served with a few leaves. The room was small but nice and clean. There was an old TV , we had a problem with the tabs and the safebox, if the hotel improve these small things it can improve your stay at the Hotel and really enjoy it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Irit E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2012

We stay here every Christmas for a long weekend just for the shopping and a bit of relaxation. Over the last few years we have watched the Hotel change considerable. The reception and dinning area have had a huge amount of money spent on it, and it shows. Very nice indeed.
Most of the rooms have also been refurbished but not all of them, so make sure you ask for a new room. The older rooms were done around 3-4 years ago and are starting to look tired and dated. Also be warned the rooms are very small.
We had a deal with breakfast included and its the usual buffet style. All quite tasty and lots to choose from. My only complaint was that the room was so hot it was quite uncomfortable.
The Hotel has its own gym/spa. Not really a spa though. The pool area is not very nice. Why spend all these millions on the hotel and nothing on the pool area. The jacuzzi wasn't working, the sauna wasn't working and the steam room is gross. mind you, it did work. :o)
I would recommend this hotel because it is in such a great location. Your only 10 minutes away from anything and its quite a good price.

Room Tip: ask for a new room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HiltonJ15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2012

The hotel is in a very good location for Kensington High Street and there is lots to do and explore in the area.

We paid £75 for one night (no breakfast) which for a 4 star hotel in London is good value. The room was clean albeit a bit small but absolutely fine for somewhere to sleep for a city break. As with other reviews the room was quite hot and turning down the air con didn't have any effect.

There is no bath in the bathroom and because it is so small there is just a folding door rather than a door that opens outwards. The bathroom is also very close to the bed in the bedroom! This didn't bother us for one night though.

We had a room on the first floor which had a window that looked out on to a flat roof. There were also sorts of rubbish on the flat roof such as a pair of old shoes, a soaking wet towel that had obviously been there a while and cutlery. Whilst I appreciate that you can't do much to make a flat roof look pretty, having odd items laying over the top of it is not good.

Overall a good stay and I would recommend this hotel for a short stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Everden99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delaware, Oklahoma
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2012

Recently stayed here with friends....checked in at gorgeous lobby area, cocktail area and all the way into beautiful dining room. Given keys to our room and SHOCKED when we opened the door....room WORSE than our college dorm days from the 60s!!!!!!! Bathroom....SMALL plus no where to set toiletries. No place to really put a piece of luggage and no place to hang clothes. Walls had to have been painted 30+ years ago, carpet FILTHY, window looked out onto roof heating system and surrounded by TALL BUILDINGS.....little to NO light from windows OR from poorly dimmed lightbulbs! TV size probably 13 inches. Went to front desk to complain.......given upgrade(?!?!?!?) down the hall with window overlooking front street (???), still poorly lit room from light fixtures, better TV, semi better sized bathroom, place to hang clothes and luggage rack available for one suitcase. FILTHY carpet in this upgraded room...... Truly would have preferred to stay in the lobby which was absolutely gorgeous.........something definitely wrong here. Would I stay here again........are you kidding?!?!? Not for the prices they charge for these terrible rooms. Location was outstanding and that's about it!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Silver Ya Ya V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these London hotels

Belfast
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for 7 days at the beginning of the month for business and personal. Stayed in the hotel before, which I previously reviewed on another site - unfavourably, but thought I would give it a 2nd chance. The last time the hotel was going under the refurbishment, which seems to have improved a number of things. Stayed in a executive room, which was modern, clean and tidy. The staff were pleasant and helpful. Ordered room service on a few occasions, each time, was delivered quickly, but more importantly the food was warm and tasty. Ate in the bar 1 evening and had breakfast another, again good quality and tasty.

I would have given a higher rating however, the following few things frustrated me.
- service charge automatically charge to each bill
- bill was wrong at check out, charges for a minibar, when there wasn't even a mini bar in the room
- had to wait 10 minutes in a queue to check in

Get this right next time, a higher review/rating may be possible!

Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Spencer1982Belfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2012

the hotel occured a very good choice for me when i was on urgent business trip and had meeting around kensington garden (5-15 min walk). It's not far from the city center too, undeground staion is nearby. The hotel staff is very friendly, polite, helpful. The room was very clean, quiet, nice to sleep, though the single room is not big but surely enough for one person. the bath room with shower and bath, that's additional plus. I went to swimming pool, steam room and sauna, and it was very nice and i recommend it to everybody. The only minus thing is you should pay extra for using it. It costs 8 pounds for a hotel resident, and should have been mentioned on reception or on website. Actually it was unexpected to pay for this as all other hotels with swimming pool I stayed never charge this. Anyway, it was quite enjoyable.
As for breakfast, perhaps it's better not to pay in advance when you book this hotel as they have choice of breakfast menu and you can pay less and get better coffee and whenever you'd choose from breakfast menu. But in general, hotel left a very good imression.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
Holiday Inn London Kensington Forum
South Kensington
Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington
South Kensington
Park International Hotel
Park International Hotel
#348 of 1,068 in London
2,064 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
Millennium Gloucester Hotel London Kensington
South Kensington
Park Grand London Kensington
South Kensington
Crowne Plaza London Kensington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn London - Kensington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn London - Kensington

Property: Holiday Inn London - Kensington
Address: Wrights Lane | Kensington, London W8 5SP, England (Formerly Kensington Close Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#74 Spa Hotel in London
#357 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn London - Kensington 4*
Number of rooms: 708
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn London - Kensington is a beautiful 4-star hotel centrally located near Kensington High Street tube station and a short walk from Kensington Palace & Gardens, Royal Albert Hall, Earls Court and the West End. The Hotel has 708 well-equipped non-smoking bedrooms including Executive bedrooms and Suites. Enjoy fresh seasonal dishes in the brasserie or a drink in the sunny private garden. Business traveller's appreciate the powerful WiFi service, wide ranging room service menu and an executive lounge for VIPs too. State of the art meeting facilities for up to 250 delegates are ideal for meetings, dinners and weddings. Shopping at Westfield and Oxford Street is a short distance away. Imagine Health Club and Spa includes a fantastic new gym and an 18 metre swimming pool with sauna, steam rooms and jacuzzi. The Spa offers an enticing selection of massage, facial and beauty treatments with our expert therapists. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TravelClick, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holiday Inn London - Kensington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kensington Close London
Hotel Kensington Close
Kensington Close Hotel London
Holiday Inn London - Kensington England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing