We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay in the lobby........BEAUTIFUL”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn London - Kensington High Street
Ranked #605 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Reviewed December 19, 2012

Recently stayed here with friends....checked in at gorgeous lobby area, cocktail area and all the way into beautiful dining room. Given keys to our room and SHOCKED when we opened the door....room WORSE than our college dorm days from the 60s!!!!!!! Bathroom....SMALL plus no where to set toiletries. No place to really put a piece of luggage and no place to hang clothes. Walls had to have been painted 30+ years ago, carpet FILTHY, window looked out onto roof heating system and surrounded by TALL BUILDINGS.....little to NO light from windows OR from poorly dimmed lightbulbs! TV size probably 13 inches. Went to front desk to complain.......given upgrade(?!?!?!?) down the hall with window overlooking front street (???), still poorly lit room from light fixtures, better TV, semi better sized bathroom, place to hang clothes and luggage rack available for one suitcase. FILTHY carpet in this upgraded room...... Truly would have preferred to stay in the lobby which was absolutely gorgeous.........something definitely wrong here. Would I stay here again........are you kidding?!?!? Not for the prices they charge for these terrible rooms. Location was outstanding and that's about it!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Silver Ya Ya V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,206)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn London - Kensington High Street
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,077 - 3,083 of 4,206 reviews

Reviewed December 19, 2012

Stayed here for 7 days at the beginning of the month for business and personal. Stayed in the hotel before, which I previously reviewed on another site - unfavourably, but thought I would give it a 2nd chance. The last time the hotel was going under the refurbishment, which seems to have improved a number of things. Stayed in a executive room, which was modern, clean and tidy. The staff were pleasant and helpful. Ordered room service on a few occasions, each time, was delivered quickly, but more importantly the food was warm and tasty. Ate in the bar 1 evening and had breakfast another, again good quality and tasty.

I would have given a higher rating however, the following few things frustrated me.
- service charge automatically charge to each bill
- bill was wrong at check out, charges for a minibar, when there wasn't even a mini bar in the room
- had to wait 10 minutes in a queue to check in

Get this right next time, a higher review/rating may be possible!

Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
Thank Spencer1982Belfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2012

the hotel occured a very good choice for me when i was on urgent business trip and had meeting around kensington garden (5-15 min walk). It's not far from the city center too, undeground staion is nearby. The hotel staff is very friendly, polite, helpful. The room was very clean, quiet, nice to sleep, though the single room is not big but surely enough for one person. the bath room with shower and bath, that's additional plus. I went to swimming pool, steam room and sauna, and it was very nice and i recommend it to everybody. The only minus thing is you should pay extra for using it. It costs 8 pounds for a hotel resident, and should have been mentioned on reception or on website. Actually it was unexpected to pay for this as all other hotels with swimming pool I stayed never charge this. Anyway, it was quite enjoyable.
As for breakfast, perhaps it's better not to pay in advance when you book this hotel as they have choice of breakfast menu and you can pay less and get better coffee and whenever you'd choose from breakfast menu. But in general, hotel left a very good imression.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2012

Standard room was on the small side but clean and well maintained. Adequate accomodation for a one night stay but would prefer a larger room for a longer stay. Staff were friendly and helpful. Good location close to Kensington HIgh Street and the underground station.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank willow20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2012 via mobile

Well located close to Kensington High street tube station.
The hotel lobby is very attractive and hotel is clean. Thats the good points.

Bad points.
Rooms are TINY ! Really very small.
Order a beer at the bar they insist you sit down and bring the beer over 10mins later with a 15% surcharge!
WIFI is nearly a tenner a day which in this day and age is ridiculous ! IT SHOULD BE FREE !


Next time I'll stay in the Copthorne hotel next door which while not as fancy dont try to rip you off at every opportunity !

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mac1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2012

Stayed at the hotel for one night on 11th dec. Booked two twin rooms but were allocated doubles. After a tiring day travelling, shopping and seeing a show we got to the hotel at 11pm. We received a warm welcome from the doorman and the reception area was very warm and inviting.However, the rooms were a different matter. When we finally got changed to twin rooms they were unbearably cold. We had to turn on the air con which took a long time to warm up. i ran a hot bath to warm myself up. it was cold for most of the night. When i mentioned this to the lady on the desk she said, 'oh well the good news is there is nothing extra to pay for'!!! The rooms were £100 each but I was not impressed. Icy cold sheets and hard towels. Impressive foyer but very basic cold rooms. If you are staying here don't forget your bedsocks and hot water bottles.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ros-Scott52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2012

I stayed at the hotel in autumn and liked it so much Everything was nice beginning with the porter, the people at the reception desk, and all that staff in the restaurant Everybody was friendly and nice. The time I spend there was really wonderful The only minus was the TV set that didn't work properly/

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Diakina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
Holiday Inn London Kensington Forum
South Kensington
Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington
South Kensington
Park Grand London Kensington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
Crowne Plaza London Kensington
South Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
#64 of 1,072 in London
3,762 reviews
South Kensington
The Park City Grand Plaza Kensington Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn London - Kensington High Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn London - Kensington High Street

Address: Wrights Lane | Kensington, London W8 5SP, England (Formerly Kensington Close Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#74 Spa Hotel in London
#355 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: $150 - $256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn London - Kensington High Street 4*
Number of rooms: 708
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn London - Kensington High Street is a beautiful 4-star hotel centrally located near Kensington High Street tube station and a short walk from Kensington Palace & Gardens, Royal Albert Hall, Earls Court and the West End. The Hotel has 708 well-equipped non-smoking bedrooms including Executive bedrooms and Suites. Enjoy fresh seasonal dishes in the brasserie or a drink in the sunny private garden. Business traveller's appreciate the powerful WiFi service, wide ranging room service menu and an executive lounge for VIPs too. State of the art meeting facilities for up to 250 delegates are ideal for meetings, dinners and weddings. Shopping at Westfield and Oxford Street is a short distance away. Imagine Health Club and Spa includes a fantastic new gym and an 18 metre swimming pool with sauna, steam rooms and jacuzzi. The Spa offers an enticing selection of massage, facial and beauty treatments with our expert therapists. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holiday Inn London - Kensington High Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kensington Close London
Hotel Kensington Close
Kensington Close Hotel London
Holiday Inn London - Kensington High Street England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing