We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Customer service is lacking - Go somewhere else.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn London - Kensington High Street
Ranked #605 of 1,075 Hotels in London
Reviewed November 24, 2012

I chose the Kensington Close Hotel mainly for its location; but my experience there was SHOCKING.Checking-in was a little long winded but I put that down to the foreign receptionist, he even had the cheek to ask if he could take an extra £60 for breakfast etc (that I hadn't asked for) this suggested they don't trust their guests to settle their account on departure. The room looked tired and poorly maintained with chipped tiles and toilet; light not working and hand prints on the walls which had disturbed the dust and the carpet looked dirty; but this I put down to its star rating. The room was very noisy, heard all the traffic from the corridor outside my room as well as water flowing through the pipes (I'm guessing I was right by the main pipes). On the second night I came back to a call from reception telling me I wasn't booked in for the second night!! This contradicted my booking confirmation and what reception told me on checking-in when they had my card details. I highlighted my dissatisfaction when I checked-out but the receptionist was very dismissive with my comments and made it out that it was my fault; I felt very ill treated. My complaint about the maid knocking on my door not long after 8am was ignored. She ignored my booking confirmation and the fact that it was their fault; she also had the cheek to fob it off on a computer crash the night before when I pushed it further.
If you are thinking of going here, please think again as while they have refurbished the reception area, the room is crying out for help and the staff need training in basic customer service and a change in attitude!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KimothyT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,251)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,154 - 3,160 of 4,251 reviews

Reviewed November 24, 2012

My preference in hotels is for something very small. I was booked into Kensington Close for work reasons. It is HUGE.
First impressions, nice area., near to tube. Concierge came and helped with bags. Lovely, friendly, helpful but not in-your-face. Check in was very busy but similarly pleasant and friendly. Very efficient.
Room was pleasant and clean. Nice sheets. I care about sheets. Quiet room, good lighting, good shower, with shampoo and shower gel.
Got wi fi for £9.95.
Breakfast was ok but catering for large numbers means that the little bits of nonsense that can make it special are harder to provide. Coffee was ok but not fabulous but I am v picky. Great service tho'.
Checkout swift and helpful and we got taxi.
Not the hotel's fault but streets were jammed and we should have taken the tube... Just a note for others on a deadline.
High spot really was the staff, really nice.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kazz50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012

If you want to miss your (no matter how bad it is) apartment/house then book this Hotel.

Before you book:

- Make sure it has breakfast included and other features you want included, otherwise, they will over charge you in the checkout.

- Wireless is not free.

- So called standard rooms are BELOW standards (see photos). I have booked so many crap motels and hotels before but this hotel has the smallest rooms I ever seen.

- Staff is friendly but they barely speak English.

- Smokers should stay away from this Hotel. It has no balcony (for safety reasons) and it takes a while to go outside because of long corridors and small lifts.

- I wanted to use swimming pool but they said jacuzzi is not working.

- Don't be fooled from the lobby photos and see some photos taken from guests. (good tip)

Make more research and see other Hotels before you book this one!!!

Good luck!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BDema
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2012

I absolutely love this place and my whole experience being in London. It was fabulous the location, the food, the staff are very helpful and polite. I would recommend anyone to visit and experience the wonderful time I had here. I would definately like to make another trip at some point with my family.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sanike J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2012 via mobile

chips were burned on outside raw on inside and cold - fish was nasty. Breakfast was even worse than last nights meal. in fact it was that bad it made me physically sick.

Complained, asked to see the manager who was unhelpful and sarcastic and did nothing to either acknowledge or address the issues with food.

avoid.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JP T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2012

Great location, Great value. Very near central line tube station and major bus routes into central London. Everything about the hotel was positive. From the doorman who insisted on carrying our case into the lobby, the Reception staff that were welcoming and efficient to our warm comfortable first floor room that had been recently totally refurbished. It was not huge but it was a standard room with more than enough space, a comfortable bed and other nice touches for two people on a short stay. Breakfast was plentiful and excellent value, especially if it is part of a B&B deal. ALL staff were excellent. Welcoming and most attentive. The Bar prices were high, but hey ho it's London. We will use this hotel again. Eat at Sopranos restaurant close by on Kensington high street. Great food. Reasonable prices.

Room Tip: Ask for a refurbished room on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Monteleone10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Good location, but extremely overpriced for very small rooms. Door to the bathroom is a sliding door as there is not enough room between the bottom of the bed and the bathroom to have a opening out wards door.
The bar area is very nice, the staff are all very helpful and polite, but the bar prices are unbelievable....... £9.50 for a gin & tonic!!!!!! £5.00 for a pint and £7.50 glass of wine......

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Hankley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
Holiday Inn London Kensington Forum
South Kensington
Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington
South Kensington
Crowne Plaza London Kensington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
Park Grand London Kensington
South Kensington
The Park City Grand Plaza Kensington Hotel
South Kensington
Park International Hotel
Park International Hotel
#348 of 1,075 in London
2,170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn London - Kensington High Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn London - Kensington High Street

Address: Wrights Lane | Kensington, London W8 5SP, England (Formerly Kensington Close Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#74 Spa Hotel in London
#353 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: $138 - $240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn London - Kensington High Street 4*
Number of rooms: 708
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn London - Kensington High Street is a beautiful 4-star hotel centrally located near Kensington High Street tube station and a short walk from Kensington Palace & Gardens, Royal Albert Hall, Earls Court and the West End. The Hotel has 708 well-equipped non-smoking bedrooms including Executive bedrooms and Suites. Enjoy fresh seasonal dishes in the brasserie or a drink in the sunny private garden. Business traveller's appreciate the powerful WiFi service, wide ranging room service menu and an executive lounge for VIPs too. State of the art meeting facilities for up to 250 delegates are ideal for meetings, dinners and weddings. Shopping at Westfield and Oxford Street is a short distance away. Imagine Health Club and Spa includes a fantastic new gym and an 18 metre swimming pool with sauna, steam rooms and jacuzzi. The Spa offers an enticing selection of massage, facial and beauty treatments with our expert therapists. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holiday Inn London - Kensington High Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kensington Close London
Hotel Kensington Close
Kensington Close Hotel London
Holiday Inn London - Kensington High Street England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing