We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great bed and pillows”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Holiday Inn London - Kensington
Ranked #620 of 1,064 Hotels in London
Perth
Level Contributor
46 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great bed and pillows”
Reviewed November 19, 2012

I only stayed one night here, I had booked a single room sort of last minute online. Everything about the hotel was good, location, foyer, room, bathroom etc., however, the staff were more than good, they were excellent, always offering to help when it appeared you needed help.

Upon entering my room I had two singles joined together, which was great for sleeping, but it made getting around the room a bit tight. The bed was extremely comfortable as were the pillows, like sleeping on a cloud. I only wished I could have enjoyed a lay in, but I had a plane to catch.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DSJkjm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,027 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    645
    1,433
    1,053
    541
    355
See reviews for
610
1,517
195
867
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (717)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
uk
Level Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

I've stayed at this hotel several times as its often reasonably priced, particularly if you book last minute. It's very close to the tube station High St Kensington, so if I want to just quickly book somewhere I know I'll often go for this one.

The rooms are comfy and clean, with comfy beds and temperature control. Most of the rooms I've stayed in are quite small but that's never a problem for me. I had room service last time and was disappointed to see I was charged £3 "tray charge" twice, once for the drink and once for the food..even though they came on the same tray!! (Meaning I paid £8 for an orange juice?!)

I had breakfast included in this stay and it was a very good hot breakfast with lots of choice, the restaurant was very busy though as the hotel is so big.

I had a short queue for checkout but found the staff generally helpful and efficient. I didn't get to use the pool on this occasion but if its like the rest of the hotel it's probably very good.

In short I'd say this hotel is a safe bet for what is usually a good price given how expensive London can be, especially on weeknights. I would say this would suit both business and leisure travellers.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cathw66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Just returned after a great weekend in London. This hotel was idealy placed, near tube and shops. Helpful friendly staff.
Our Executive room was lovely with everything we needed to help make our stay a pleasant one. Only one negative thing was the £8 charge to use the pool, that is per person per day, a bit steep!

Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Sue T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2012

The first impressions were very good, with everything downstairs smart and impressive

But as soon as you move to your room, the standard was below Premier Inns

The room was clean, but after that, it was not possible to find anything complimentary about the hotel

Room Tip: Go elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kenclose, General Manager at Holiday Inn London - Kensington, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thank you for your review. We are pleased you found our Hotel impressive. We are however, disappointed you were not absolutely pleased with your room. Depending on the room category booked you may have not have received our Club, Executive Club or Suite category rooms. You will note, we do have room sizes up to 27sq.meters depending on the category.

In fact, we would have been delighted to show you alternatives, at your request.

We hope you can visit our Hotel again so that we may showcase these rooms and their featured amenities such as flat screen TVs, mini bars, bathrobes, etc.

Thank you for your attention. We remain at your service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these London hotels

San Clemente, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2012

This is by far one of the worst hotel experiences I've had all year. "Unfriendly" would be the word I would use to describe the staff here. It was as if I was "putting them out" the minute I checked in. Granted, I only stayed for one night but it was enough to make sure that I will never stay again. My room was tiny and the bed caved in the middle. The heat didn't work and I had to call to get them to actually turn it on. My electrical adapter had trouble fitting in the socket--I called and they offered NO help. I forgot my toothbrush and asked them to bring me one and it evidently took an act of God to make that happen. Also, the bed smelled of that sickening air refresher that hotels use to mask other orders. There is absolutely nothing impressive about this hotel. The only reason I am giving it a 2 is because it is in a good location. The whole staff here could use some serious customer service training.

Room Tip: Don't bother.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gregoryg63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kenclose, General Manager at Holiday Inn London - Kensington, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Thank you for your review sir. Our mission is to serve and exceed our guests' expectations by providing an unparalleled experience and attending to your every need. We are sorry to notice we fell short of those objectives.

It would have been most helpful, if you had been more specific in your remarks in order to assist us with addressing any possible challenges. In my humble opinion, it is fundamentally unfair to indict the entire team of 300 dedicated professionals without the opportunity to interact thoroughly with the team. I am confident you did not experience true Kensington Close hospitality during your very brief stay and would be delighted to host you again in order to rectify the distorted, in our opinion, view of our service and dedication.

If you in fact, did have any specific issues, did you communicate those to our Front Desk or Duty Manager? I notice you requested a tooth brush. While it does not take an act of God, it does take our concierge team the time to actually purchase it on your behalf. While we do not offer toothbrush kits at our Hotel, I am pleased that our team reacted swiftly to fulfil your request. Depending on the time of night/day, it may have been a short journey to the nearest available outlet.

Regarding the heat in your room, based on our Maintenance log, all you had to do was to insert the key card in the power port by the entrance to your room and press the on button.

I would also encourage you to book a larger category room in order to experience the luxurious settings those rooms offer, such as, flat screen TV, bathrobes, slippers, mini bar, etc.

Thank you for your attention. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Please do not hesitate to contact us, if there is anything at all we can do from this end.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2012

For the price of this hotel I thought it was very nice. The lobby is VERY nice and impressive. When I first walked in I thought I had the wrong place considering the price. The rooms are definitely nothing special though. They are small, dormitory style rooms. But.. They are clean and you have your own shower so I can't complain too much. The location is excellent, a few hundred yards from the tube. I'll stay again when visiting London on a budget!

Room Tip: Remember this hotel is for price. Rooms are pretty bare and nothing special but if you'll be sp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank megs0607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kenclose, General Manager at Holiday Inn London - Kensington, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear Megs0607,

Thank you very much for your positive review on your recent stay at the Kensington Close Hotel. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay, noting that you felt it was of very good value for a four star hotel in central London, only minutes from High Street Kensington tube station . I look forward to your next visit with us.

Kind regards,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
1 review
Reviewed November 16, 2012

Very impressed with the Kensington Close Hotel. The hotel was lovely; the service was excellent - very friendly and attentive staff. The food was great and the restaurant offered a very appealing atmosphere. I had a very wonderful stay and a great experience.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Opal G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kenclose, General Manager at Holiday Inn London - Kensington, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear Opal G,

Thank you for taking the time to write us on your October stay at the Kensington Close Hotel. I am delighted to hear that you were very impressed by our facilities and service and that you had a positive dining experience. I sincerely hope to welcome you back on your next London visit.

Kind regards,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
Holiday Inn London Kensington Forum
South Kensington
Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington
South Kensington
Park International Hotel
Park International Hotel
#364 of 1,064 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
#58 of 1,064 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,620 reviews
South Kensington
The Park City Grand Plaza Kensington Hotel
South Kensington
Hotel Indigo London Kensington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn London - Kensington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn London - Kensington

Property: Holiday Inn London - Kensington
Address: Wrights Lane | Kensington, London W8 5SP, England (Formerly Kensington Close Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#70 Spa Hotel in London
#358 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn London - Kensington 4*
Number of rooms: 708
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn London - Kensington is a beautiful 4-star hotel centrally located near Kensington High Street tube station and a short walk from Kensington Palace & Gardens, Royal Albert Hall, Earls Court and the West End. The Hotel has 708 well-equipped non-smoking bedrooms including Executive bedrooms and Suites. Enjoy fresh seasonal dishes in the brasserie or a drink in the sunny private garden. Business traveller's appreciate the powerful WiFi service, wide ranging room service menu and an executive lounge for VIPs too. State of the art meeting facilities for up to 250 delegates are ideal for meetings, dinners and weddings. Shopping at Westfield and Oxford Street is a short distance away. Imagine Health Club and Spa includes a fantastic new gym and an 18 metre swimming pool with sauna, steam rooms and jacuzzi. The Spa offers an enticing selection of massage, facial and beauty treatments with our expert therapists. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TravelClick, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Holiday Inn London - Kensington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kensington Close London
Hotel Kensington Close
Kensington Close Hotel London
Holiday Inn London - Kensington England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing