We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Non-offensive, if a little out of the way...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn London - Kensington High Street
Ranked #599 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Reviewed October 29, 2012

I stayed here for 3 nights in October for a business trip.
The hotel is close to Kensington High Street tube station, but this isn't exactly an easy location to get to & from around London. Getting a taxi from the hotel was impossible as it is off the main street, and the concierge were most unhelpful.
The reception/bar/restaurant areas were lovely and have clearly had a lot spent on them, but the rooms are a different story altogether. Step out of the lift bound for your room, and you could be in a different hotel entirely. Mine was a small, dated room, but had everything I required for a busy 3 days in the city.
I ordered room service and this was prompt, the food was hot & overall not too expensive.
Overall - my experience of this hotel was average, and and the title suggest non-offensive. Multiple stop tube trips got very old very quickly, but I knew the location when i booked!

Room Tip: Check your tube route on tfl before you book!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Siobhan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,297)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,244 - 3,250 of 4,297 reviews

Reviewed October 28, 2012

I stayed pre and post my tour to England, Scotland, Wales and Ireland. A big and very busy hotel when lots of tours depart from but I quite enjoyed my stay. The location is great with eateries nearby as are Kensington Gardens and Hyde Park and the tube. As I did not have a laptop an internet cafe on-site would have been very handy.

The breakfast was included and was a great range and delicious. the staff were also very prompt and courteous.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Geremiahc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kenclose, General Manager at Holiday Inn London - Kensington High Street, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2012

Dear Guest,

I am pleased we were your choice of London accommodation on your exciting tour. It is a pleasure to hear that you found our hotel to busy and vibrant, with great staff and ideally located within walking distance of great local eateries, attractions and transport.

I am also glad that you enjoyed our breakfast offering a large and delicious selection served in our new breakfast dining area.

I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again on your next London stay.

Kind Regards,

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights end of October. Compared to the price we paid and the service and room we got, I have to say this is the worst hotel I have ever stayed. We had a good trip, mostly because we were not in the hotel during our stay, only to sleep and have breakfast. Most of the things we encountered were not too important to us, however compared to the price we paid and the 4 star rating one may expect more. There are many better hotels in London for this price (and less).

Positives:
LOCATION: the location is perfect: very close to Kensington High Street and Hyde Park/Kensington Gardens.

Negatives:
WELCOME: we stayed here for honeymoon anniversary and stated that on the booking. However, no remarks whatsoever. During our stay the staff wasn't that friendly.

SERVICES/EXTRA FEES!: we booked this hotel partly because it has a swimming pool and gym, which can be relaxed after a day in the city. However, be aware that you have to pay for using this: 8 pounds per person, which we found very strange for a 4 star hotel for which we already paid more than enough. Also, one has to pay extra for using the gym (very unusual!?) and/or wifi. Although there are many restaurants in London in which you have free wifi access, the hotel does not offer any. When we asked whether there was free wifi, the reception just laughed and said 'of course not' (how rude and also a bit strange that they do not seem to know this is becoming a basic service, especially in higher priced hotels). Later we found out that there is a computer with internet access...for which you have to pay...

VERY SMALL ROOM AND BED: we got the smallest hotelroom I've ever stayed in.The room was definitely not 20 squared meters. It felt like we hardly had 3-5 square meters besides the bath room and bed/small table. Luckily we only stayed 2 nights and only had hand luggage. The room does not fit 2 travel cases. I could not walk around the bed (only 20cm behind the bed) and the bed was very short. Only people below 185cm could sleep in this.
Not too important to us, however the tv was very small and only had 5 channels.
The bath room was small and outdated. The floor tiles were broken and the floor looked a bit dirty. Both a lamp and hair dryer did not work.

BREAKFAST: the breakfast was ok, but not that good as some described. It is what you expect of a 3 star hotel; the basics like toast, eggs, ham, cheese, yoghurt. Nothing special. The 2nd day there was a waiting line of about 20 meters and we ended up only getting a yoghurt as we had to leave to catch our flight.

Room Tip: don't go for the standard double room, it's very small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Leon_Eindhoven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kenclose, General Manager at Holiday Inn London - Kensington High Street, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2012

Thank you for your review. I will address each point as it appears in your review. First and foremost, please accept our congratulations for your recent wedding - you mention honeymoon.

Provided you did communicate the information to our reservations team, I do apologize it was not properly document and recognized during your arrival and stay.

A recurring theme among many Hotels is the issue of internet and free access. Kindly note, the majority of Hotels in our category charge for internet use. Others, incorporate it in their rate. We have made a commercial decision to keep our room rates as low as possible and allow guests to choose internet use at their leisure. As you probably know, this additional charge is well documented on our web site and as such, should not come as a surprise.

While the Spa is part of the Hotel structure, it is independently operated and as such, a fee for use of the facilities is applied. We apologize if you found the £8 entry fee excessive.

Our Hotel features several room categories, ranging from standard to executive club and suites. Depending on your price range and reservation, a corresponding room would have been allocated. While we are sorry you did may not have enjoyed the room assigned, we would have liked to offer you upgrade options which I am confident would have exceed your expectations.

We would have liked to host you in one of our executive club suites which offer completely new furniture, beddings, flat screen TVs, bath robes, mini bar, etc.

We respectfully disagree on your comment regarding breakfast. With over 32 items to choose from, we are confident that everyone can find something to eat, eggs, live cooking station, pancakes, 2 types of yogurt, 3 types of juices, 6 different cereal types, scrambled eggs, bread station, etc.

Thank you for your attention. We look forward to hosting you again soon with a view to exceeding your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Thoroughly enjoyed our two night stay, o.k. it's still undergoing a major refurb and minor items like the over light mirror had yet to be fitted but the room was very comfortable, the staff were extremely helpfull, no sign of poor quality decor or anything being tired. The quality of food at breakfast was excellant, bar prices were reasonable for London, all in all considering the price it was very good value.
On the down side whoever designed the wet room should be shot, no towel rails next the wash hand basin, water runs far outside the actual shower area soaking most of the floor area, all about style not practicality.
Would we stay again? Without a doubt.

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear are very quiet with no traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kenclose, General Manager at Holiday Inn London - Kensington High Street, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive review on your recent stay at the Kensington Close Hotel. I am pleased that you had a positive experience with us, noting that you found the guestrooms refurbished to a high standard, the breakfast excellent and plentiful and our staff friendly and helpful.

I am sorry to hear that you experienced some difficulties with the design of the bathrooms. If you wish to share additional comments and/or suggestions in regards to this please do not hesitate to contact me directly at zs@kensingtonclosehotel.com

I look forward to welcoming you back soon on your next London stay.

Kind regards,

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Just back from a lovely 3 day stay at this hotel. The hotel is absolutely fantastic, with lovely staff and has had a lot of money spent on it in recently due to a huge refurbishment. The public areas are lovely and the rooms, although not massive are excellent and very clean. We arrived to be told that our room had been upgraded to an executive suite and I got quite excited by the thought of a huge suite but actually the room was pretty small, with not much of a view but was perfectly adequate and was kept immaculately clean by the extremely hard worked maid service. (These girls did work hard as the hotel has hundreds of rooms.) We had breakfast included with our stay and this again was extremely good with all that you could imagine to eat and very efficient staff within the restaurant. The only problem we had with the hotel was with the spa which was very badly in need of refurbishment as much of the gym equipment was out of order and the pool, which was not very clean looking, was absolutely freezing cold. Also the showers within the changing rooms were either cold or so hot you could not stand under them and the doors were hanging off!! Not good considering they did have the cheek to charge you £8 for the pleasure of using the so called "Spa" area. Not good!!!!!! All in our stay was great and would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 380 which did not have a great view (or any view at all) but it was very quiet and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dangod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kenclose, General Manager at Holiday Inn London - Kensington High Street, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us feedback on your stay at the Kensington Close Hotel. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed an overall pleasant stay, commending the quality and presentation of the guestrooms, our efficient housekeeping team, and excellent and vast breakfast selection.

I am sorry to hear that you did not share the same enthusiasm for our spa, and for this I do apologise. I will be sure to look into the mentioned issues so we may resolved these promptly.

Thank you for your helpful feedback and we hope to welcome you back soon to the Kensington Close Hotel.

Kind Regards,

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

We stayed for two nights here on a trip to London. The room was very small and the bed perhaps only just a double. That said, it was only £85 per night to stay here, and the bed was comfortable and the shower in the bathroom powerful. The health club is very pleasant, and it was great to enjoy a swim, jacuzzi and steam before breakfast. The staff were helpful and professional. We would return as the location is excellent and the price competitive.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Centrally located, close to subway, good prices, great rooms. Been here several times and will book here again when going to London. Some nice breakfast places nearby and great Indian restaurant around the corner.

Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
Thank Miekepl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
Holiday Inn London Kensington Forum
South Kensington
Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington
South Kensington
The Park City Grand Plaza Kensington Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
Crowne Plaza London Kensington
South Kensington
Park Grand London Kensington
Hilton London Kensington
#509 of 1,077 in London
4,355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn London - Kensington High Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn London - Kensington High Street

Address: Wrights Lane | Kensington, London W8 5SP, England (Formerly Kensington Close Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#74 Spa Hotel in London
#354 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: $131 - $245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn London - Kensington High Street 4*
Number of rooms: 708
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn London - Kensington High Street is a beautiful 4-star hotel centrally located near Kensington High Street tube station and a short walk from Kensington Palace & Gardens, Royal Albert Hall, Earls Court and the West End. The Hotel has 708 well-equipped non-smoking bedrooms including Executive bedrooms and Suites. Enjoy fresh seasonal dishes in the brasserie or a drink in the sunny private garden. Business traveller's appreciate the powerful WiFi service, wide ranging room service menu and an executive lounge for VIPs too. State of the art meeting facilities for up to 250 delegates are ideal for meetings, dinners and weddings. Shopping at Westfield and Oxford Street is a short distance away. Imagine Health Club and Spa includes a fantastic new gym and an 18 metre swimming pool with sauna, steam rooms and jacuzzi. The Spa offers an enticing selection of massage, facial and beauty treatments with our expert therapists. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Holiday Inn London - Kensington High Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kensington Close London
Hotel Kensington Close
Kensington Close Hotel London
Holiday Inn London - Kensington High Street England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing