We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Small room no view”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn London - Kensington
Ranked #615 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Small room no view”
Reviewed September 20, 2012

This hotel was part of a Package deal, so we were not expecting luxury, however the experience was disappointing.My first objection is the need to give over a payment in case I may buy (or something ??) whilst there, despite having had my prepaid booking for ages. I was assured the payment would not be taken, as I checked out - a matter of trust !!. Many hotels don't do it, so why here. Secondly the room was small, impossible to use the toilet at night, the light, door handle and ventilator all causing disturbance. The kettle plug couldn't be put in without moving out the chest of drawers. The breakfast was good, however it is the first time since my Russian trips that I ever queued for breakfast and waited so long for the tea or coffee.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Isobel13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,960 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    631
    1,408
    1,033
    534
    354
See reviews for
606
1,496
191
843
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (709)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Meath, Ireland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Prior to staying here, I had a few concerns after reading a number of the recent reviews. I needn't have worried at all. The hotel is in a Perfect location to the tube to Victoria - about 2 minute walk. The room was clean/cosy and perfect if all you are doing is using it as a base while in London. We literally used it for B&B and showers.
I have to say, I would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Psycho-sue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Saint Andrew, Jamaica
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Service was excellent,the staff were very accommodating. We had a great time would definitely recommend to family and friends. Great location, hotel is centrally located which made it very easy to get around.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julissa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

We stayed here in Sept 2012,, it is in a great location for The Royal Albert hall,,
Where as the reception area is really lovely the room we stayed in was a bit shabby to be fair, the carpet was old and worn, the room itself was tiny, the bathroom wasn't up to scratch either, chips in bath, rusty taps for shower.. the bed was tiny for a double and pushed up against the window so I had to climb over to get in,, it was also sagging in middle so my husband and kept sliding towards the middle,,, we were in room 153,,, first floor,
Not sure if they have got around to refurbishing that floor yet,,
It costs £33 to park the car for 18hrs,, which I think is a bit steep,
Bar shuts at 12 midnight and no coaxing will get you served after last orders, 3 small bowls of crisps in bar cost £9,,,
Cannot comment on breakfast as we choose to eat in the city,,,

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fairydustWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

This hotel is very nice for a 4 star hotel. Staff is very helpful and friendly. Also the location is good. Rooms are not so big and when you have a room on the first floor you could see trash thrown on the roof outside the window. the swimming pool is nice but you shouldn't pay for the swimming pool as it's part of the hotel itself.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diego_Caeiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moorhead, Minnesota
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Close to High street by subway and buses . Great location for exploring London. Easy to get to Tower Bridge on the tube, for example . The rooms were small, but the bed was OK ( 2 singles pushed together). It was a little difficult to get around the bed . The breakfast was very good . Lots of restaurants and shopping close by. The Goats Head pub and the Greyhound Sports bar isn't too far away, for evening relaxation after a day of sight seeing . Didn't use the pool.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pkfargo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton, Canada
Level Contributor
256 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Great lobby and terrific breakfast ( somewhat slow service for hot beverages)
elevators ancient. poor luggage storage service, all appears to be done in basement and by hand so they take up a lot of elevator time. appearrs bus tours stay at this hotel, so the morning check out was a nightmare.
had an upgraded room fortunately becasue the rooms are small. nice that hte windows open for fresh air that was terrific. clean room with coffee and tea and kettle; no "fluff" ameneties such as facial tissue, hand lotion, clock etc. TV old and limited channels.shower head poor, very light drizzle. location however terrific, walking to underground and hop on hop off bus.

Room Tip: if leaving beforfe 9 am, bring down own lugggage and dont wait for porters esp if you have a car / t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jackiefrombrampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
Holiday Inn London Kensington Forum
South Kensington
Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington
South Kensington
Park International Hotel
Park International Hotel
#370 of 1,088 in London
1,941 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
#60 of 1,088 in London
3,575 reviews
South Kensington
The Park City Grand Plaza Kensington Hotel
South Kensington
Hotel Indigo London Kensington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn London - Kensington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn London - Kensington

Property: Holiday Inn London - Kensington
Address: Wrights Lane | Kensington, London W8 5SP, England (Formerly Kensington Close Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#69 Spa Hotel in London
#358 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn London - Kensington 4*
Number of rooms: 708
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn London - Kensington is a beautiful 4-star hotel centrally located near Kensington High Street tube station and a short walk from Kensington Palace & Gardens, Royal Albert Hall, Earls Court and the West End. The Hotel has 708 well-equipped non-smoking bedrooms including Executive bedrooms and Suites. Enjoy fresh seasonal dishes in the brasserie or a drink in the sunny private garden. Business traveller's appreciate the powerful WiFi service, wide ranging room service menu and an executive lounge for VIPs too. State of the art meeting facilities for up to 250 delegates are ideal for meetings, dinners and weddings. Shopping at Westfield and Oxford Street is a short distance away. Imagine Health Club and Spa includes a fantastic new gym and an 18 metre swimming pool with sauna, steam rooms and jacuzzi. The Spa offers an enticing selection of massage, facial and beauty treatments with our expert therapists. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TravelClick, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, IHG, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn London - Kensington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kensington Close London
Hotel Kensington Close
Kensington Close Hotel London
Holiday Inn London - Kensington England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing