We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good points and bad”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Corus Hotel Hyde Park London
Ranked #515 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Norwich, UK
Level 6 Contributor
219 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Good points and bad”
Reviewed March 22, 2014

So the good points first, excellent location opposite Hyde Park and easy to get to on underground. Free wifi, good breakfast, room temperature good, hate those hotels where rooms are hot and styffy and you cant seem to do aything about it! Staff very professional and helpful. Disn't eat there but restaurant and menu looked lovely and not too expensive. For London hotel room a good size. However, dried blood on sink in bathroom, think last person must have cut himself shaving by the location of it, it was late so just wiped it off myself. Carpet threadbear on entrance to bathroom and so you begin to look about and see how much the edges of the skirtings badly need a refurb. Lifts small and at breakfast and checkout times very busy. Woken very early by a delivery truck as my room on 5th Floor was above the delivery area colleagues on 10th floor did not hear it. Breakfast very nice, you could order eggs cooked any style and smoothies in shot glasses were lovely, OJ weak and tastelss in comparrison. As it was booked by company had no choice but if I had to would stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DisneyNorwich_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,880 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    721
    1,478
    1,011
    445
    225
See reviews for
574
1,567
167
736
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (723)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Market Weighton, England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
264 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2014 via mobile

I had the most amazing sleep, no hotel or road noise which is so unusual for Central London in my experience. Good basic facilities, comfortable and clean room, helpful friendly reception staff, very good value.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Drumaqueen_MW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2014

I stayed at Corus for two nights as it was selected by the company who arranged by trip. Before traveling to London, I checked out their website and tripadvisor reviews, so I knew what I was in for and didn't expect much. Unfortunately, Corus fell below my already lowered expectations. Firstly, their reception was unfriendly and not very helpful; elevators and rooms extremely dated; beds extremely soft to the point where you can feel the springs against your spine; bathrooms small (but clean), no amenities and slippers provided aside from simple shampoo/conditioner; no mini fridge (i.e. not where to keep drinks cool). Internet was slow at times, but since it's free, I have no real complaints. Overall disappointed and would not spend my hard earned money there. Location-wise, the hotel is across from Hyde Park and walking distant (around 20 mins) to Bond Street, so the 2 stars are for location.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xksb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these London hotels

Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2014

Nice hotel good attentive staff. Room smallish but adequate. We ate in the hotel restaurant and the opera singing restaurant. 2 superb meals. Worth every penny. If you do eat here the opera restaurant should not be missed

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank androidpreston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nimo Abdi _, Guest Relations Manager at Corus Hotel Hyde Park London, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear Androidpreston,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Corus Hotel Hyde Park and sharing your experience of us with the online community.

It was a great delight to have you as our guest and to know that your stay with us was a pleasant one. Your satisfaction is our utmost priority.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon,

Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Bermuda
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2014

This hotel provided a great location, although the space in the room left a little to be desired. Breakfast was delicious, and the bed was rather decent as well. Staff was good. The only downfall was that there was little to no space to move about. Perfect for us as it just for one night, as we were in transit.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bda_dave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nimo Abdi _, Guest Relations Manager at Corus Hotel Hyde Park London, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear Bda_dave,

Thank you choosing to stay at Corus Hotel Hyde Park. It was a pleasure to welcome you as our guest.

It was a delight to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that the restaurant food met your expectations. The Chef was overjoyed to hear your feedback.

The rooms we have do vary in sizes, should you be returning, perhaps you would like to opt for one of our Executive rooms that are more spacious. Please contact me directly at guestrelations.londonhydepark@corushotels.com so I can allocate you to a room of your liking.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon,

Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2014

I stayed for 2 nights and was allocated room 417 which was adjacent to some of the nosiest lifts I have heard. I am not a light sleeper but after getting constantly disturbed by the lift doors I gave up and phoned reception and was very quickly offered a room transfer. I suspect this is a very, very regular occurrence as evidenced by the rapid reception offer to "move to a room away from the lifts".
The reception and foyer/bar area is worthy of the hotels 4* rating but the downstairs restaurant requires updating and the small, dated bedrooms would not look out of place in a guest house.
If you decide to stay here, ensure you ask for a room well away from the lifts but I wont be returning.

Room Tip: Ensure you ask for a room well away from the lifts
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TJC60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nimo Abdi _, Guest Relations Manager at Corus Hotel Hyde Park London, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear TJ60,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Corus Hotel Hyde Park.

We would like to apologise for the disturbance caused by lifts. I have forwarded your feedback to our Front of House Manager to ensure that this issue will not occur again in the future. Thank you for bringing this to our attention and please accept our sincere apologies for the upset caused.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon,

Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2014

My friends and I took tea this afternoon and despite there being only one other couple in the restaurant the service was very very slow our champagne was not properly chilled,we had a long wait before the food arrived when it did the sandwiches were dry on top as though they had been made much much earlier ,the scones of which there was one each ,were too large .The cakes of which there were two per person were uninspiring when we wanted more tea I had to go looking for a member of staff

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jean C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nimo Abdi _, Guest Relations Manager at Corus Hotel Hyde Park London, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear Jean C,

Thank you for reviewing your experience of us with the online travelling community. Your feedback is greatly appreciated.

I was very disappointed to hear that your Afternoon Tea did not meet your expectations. Please accept our sincere apologies for the upset caused. I have forwarded your review to the Food and Beverage Services Manager and he is currently reviewing the issues with his team members. Please let me reassure you that this is certainly not the standard we strive for and we will do whatever it takes to prevent the issues from occurring again.

Should you be returning, please contact me directly at guestrelations.londonhydepark@corushotels.com so I can ensure that your next Afternoon Tea with us is a pleasant one.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon,

Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Kensington and Hyde Park
Thistle Hyde Park
Thistle Hyde Park
#386 of 1,068 in London
895 reviews
Lancaster Gate Hotel
#439 of 1,068 in London
2,130 reviews
Best Western Mornington Hotel
#419 of 1,068 in London
777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Thistle Kensington Gardens
#297 of 1,068 in London
1,954 reviews
Paddington / Maida Vale
Park Grand Paddington Court
Park Grand Paddington Court
#217 of 1,068 in London
972 reviews
London Elizabeth Hotel
#800 of 1,068 in London
1,481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Corus Hotel Hyde Park London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corus Hotel Hyde Park London

Property: Corus Hotel Hyde Park London
Address: 1-7 Lancaster Gate, London W2 3LG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#320 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Corus Hotel Hyde Park London 4*
Number of rooms: 389
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Corus Hyde Park is a 4 star, 389 air conditioned bedroom hotel for business and leisure guests and is in a spacious location overlooking Hyde Park. Corus is 50 metres from Lancaster Gate tube on the central line, only 8 minutes walk to Paddington station and the Heathrow Express and 15 minutes walk to Oxford Street, Kensington, Notting Hill, Albert Hall and so close to all the major attractions including the new Westfield shopping centre and the Paddington Basin. The hotel features 4 meeting rooms up to 90 guests, free powerful WiFi in all areas, a fitness studio, large air conditioned lounge with an all day menu. The hotel has three restaurant concepts - seasonal and quality British dishes, an authentic Malaysian menu and Bel Canto Opera dining where opera students act as waiters and sing a wide range of Operatic classics whilst you dine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Corus Hotel Hyde Park London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corus Hotel London
Corus Hyde Park Hotel
Corus Hotel Hyde Park London England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing