We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pros and Cons ”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Corus Hotel Hyde Park London
Ranked #468 of 1,081 Hotels in London
Reviewed February 26, 2014 via mobile

Pros
Free wifi with no password
Beautiful grand piano played nightly
Pretty good location
Excellent management - clued in and friendly
Cons
Rooms are so poorly sound proofed - I could even hear my neighbor sighing 'oh god yawn' food - breakfast at €25 ( €20 if you buy a voucher at reception the previous night is rather basic - pre cooked fries , yellow yolk eggs that are tasteless , tea serves in mugs ( we are not all builders ) ,
ROOMS
The rooms are very small - my wardrobe is so small it has no doors - just a steel rail screwed to the wall
It's about 7 ft by 12ft - that's about as small as a room can get .
Bed is fabulous - room service cleaning good too .
TV works
Coffee tea machine - no biscuits
Bathroom
Again very small -
Cheap as chips shower gels and soaps - travel lodge standard at best
Clean and well keep
Shower is a cheap one - but not bad for now
Reception
Nice bar area and entrance
Overall
The owners need to revamp - at they prices they charge there is a necessity for this - it could so easily be beautiful -
If they can't afford it - fine - make it up in the extras - good bathroom extras - give a fabulous breakfast - give vouchers to your bar and restaurant etc etc ,
I met the assistant manager stephen who is a good one - and keeps things upbeat and that man really cares about improving the experience or upholding it at least .
Tips
Get a room with a view of park,
Buy breakfast vouchers at reception the night before
Bring your own biscuits
Bring your own shower gels etc
Pack lightly - the rooms are very small /
You won't walk it from paddington it's 6 minutes in a taxi - 5 minutes walk from Lancaster gate tube .






Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
Thank D8Grant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nimo Abdi _, Guest Relations Manager at Corus Hotel Hyde Park London, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2014

Dear D8Grant,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Corus Hotel Hyde Park and sharing your experience with the online travelling community. We truly appreciate your feedback.

We were, however, disappointed that the room size you were allocated was small. Our building is over 300 years old and we have now become a registered building, as a result we are limited to what changes we can make. We do have various types of rooms that can afford you more space as well as other extra amenities. Our maintenance team is trying to find a solution to the noise travelling. Thank you for bringing this to our attention and please accept our sincere apologies for any upset caused.

Should you be returning, please contact us directly so we can better allocate you next time.

We look forward to seeing you soon,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,201)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,189 - 2,195 of 4,201 reviews

Reviewed February 26, 2014

You would have to be very very easily pleased to consider this place to be much better than a doss house.
Among the numerous downsides I would highlight:
Slow and incompetent reception staff
Tiny cramped rooms with undersized and uncomfortable beds - the double bed is set against one wall so be prepared to climb over one another.
The bathrooms are unbelievably cramped. I could barely use the shower as the cubicle was so small.
No hot water at 5pm
The sink was too small to shave in and barely drained
Breakfast of a very poor standard. They have a separate a la carte menu to the buffet but if you try and order from it the staff will have no idea what you are talking about.
I changed room twice so saw enough of the place to know nothing would possess me to return.

Room Tip: Choose a room in another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank smartalec67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here on business. Room tiny and bathroom even smaller. Just somewhere to sleep no more. Also pretty noisy with noise from street through wafer thin windows. Plus side right next to Hyde park and Lancaster gate tube station so very convenient

Stayed: February 2014
Thank karlbrown1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014

i stayed for a work event for one night. the room really tiny for a double room. the bathroom door is about 2/3rds the width of a standard door and had to go through it sideways. there is no turning space in the bathroom either. The bed is pushed against the wall with a small walkway on one side. the room was very clean and the air conditioning was very welcome. My biggest disappointment was breakfast.
we could see the tables and buffet laid out whilst we were waiting to be seated but when we gave our table number we were directed downstairs to what i can only describe as a grotty basement. the laminate on the tables was chipped, few had been wiped and relaid. there was no milk, no glasses for the juice. the waiter did bring a pot of tea but no cups to put it in and no milk either. when i asked for jug they didn't have one so i had to pour milk into a glass to take back to my table. that was of course after i had to ask for one and the waiter helped by tipping up the urn to give me the last dregs of milk. It was self service buffet but the food was cold, the plates were cold.
it was such a grotty place to eat. walls chipped, wall paper torn, the floor dirty with no carpet.
Such as shame as the upstairs looked so bright and sunny with hardly anyone seated so could not understand why we had been sent down there.

Room Tip: a previous review says that Room 806 is quite nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for work in February.

Check in took some time as the gentleman struggled to find our booking and then thought it was cancelled for some reason, before realising it wasn't.

The room was basic but had everything I needed including ac.

We went out for dinner but breakfast was ok. Cooked options via the buffet as well as international options for their clientelle. Juices were watered down though which was odd.

Location of the hotel is ideal. Short walk to the tube and a quick journey in to all of the main London hotspots.

Probably would stay again but knowing what to expect.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoeCobb1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014

We booked a two night break and used the Travelzoo offer £98 per night with breakfast and it included a free bottle of wine. We chose to upgrade to an executive room meaning £215 was the total cost but having stayed previously here, the rooms are tiny. We had room 806 and were pleasantly surprised, roomy, slippers and bathrobes, large fluffy towels, comfy bed ,

Hotel food very good choice although we only had breakfast
Just a short walk from Lancaster Gate underground - we had travelled up from North Wales and got the Tube from London Euston, just t change of train from Blue to Red and vise versa Zone 1 £4,.70 for single ticket.

Room Tip: I would select the executive rooms, ours overlooked the park becuase previously I stayed with a frie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lorraine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014

Besides being woken up at 7.30am both of the days that we stayed there - once by a fire alarm and the other by wake up call we never requested - the room was so small that it was not comfortable. We have stayed at B&Bs in London before and they had better accommodations than the Corus Hotel. Also there are no beverages in the room, not event a water bottle. The only positive was that the room was clean.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sutonic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Best Western Mornington Hotel
#394 of 1,081 in London
881 reviews
London Elizabeth Hotel
#788 of 1,081 in London
1,584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Elysee Hotel
#577 of 1,081 in London
672 reviews
Arbor Hyde Park Hotel
#252 of 1,081 in London
676 reviews
Paddington / Maida Vale
Park Grand Paddington Court
Park Grand Paddington Court
#178 of 1,081 in London
1,260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Corus Hotel Hyde Park London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corus Hotel Hyde Park London

Address: 1-7 Lancaster Gate, London W2 3LG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#307 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: $124 - $232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Corus Hotel Hyde Park London 4*
Number of rooms: 389
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Corus Hyde Park is a 4 star, 389 air conditioned bedroom hotel for business and leisure guests and is in a spacious location overlooking Hyde Park. Corus is 50 metres from Lancaster Gate tube on the central line, only 8 minutes walk to Paddington station and the Heathrow Express and 15 minutes walk to Oxford Street, Kensington, Notting Hill, Albert Hall and so close to all the major attractions including the new Westfield shopping centre and the Paddington Basin. The hotel features 4 meeting rooms up to 90 guests, free powerful WiFi in all areas, a fitness studio, large air conditioned lounge with an all day menu. The hotel has three restaurant concepts - seasonal and quality British dishes, an authentic Malaysian menu and Bel Canto Opera dining where opera students act as waiters and sing a wide range of Operatic classics whilst you dine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Corus Hotel Hyde Park London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corus Hotel London
Corus Hyde Park Hotel
Corus Hotel Hyde Park London England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing