We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location for visit”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Corus Hotel Hyde Park London
Ranked #493 of 1,078 Hotels in London
Reviewed July 17, 2013

we were looking for a hotel near Imperial College London as well as close enough to walk to Oxford / Regent St
This was perfect location which was very good price and excellent quality
we arrived early as we had an open day visit planned at ICL 9:30am the hotel gladly kept our luggage as we to early to check in, Just a nice slow walk across Hyde park (25mins) you arrive at Albert hall we had a nice snack very reasonably priced , went across to ICL spent most of the day at the open day , then headed of back to Hotel, we arrived back around 4.30pm went to check in but found out that our online booking via last minute .com was not registered we had booked a family room for 2 adults 1 teenager (1 double & 1 single) to cut along story short 1 hr later after numerous phone calls by reception ,2 beers we eventually were told unfortunately no family rooms available for the price we paid, however as we had all documentation of our booking we told we will be upgraded to the executive sweet at no extra cost , so although it was quite stressful can not fault the hotel or staff- Just remember to bring all documentation when you book on line as you never know !!
The location for walking to Regent street slightly further than we thought however as it was a pleasant evening the 45mins walk was not to bad - taxi back cost around £12 - taxi to Euston again around £12-£15,,
also outside hotel turn right there a lovely small coffee shops. Italian restaurants or the more tradition British pub with great food and very good prices without sacrificing quality - fully recommend the Fish & Chips ..

Just another small point gym was very small although adequate for 2 people as nobody really used it..

Room Tip: can not fault the executive room if money allows 2 double beds with chairs / desk etc.. plenty of sp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SMC108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nimo A, Manager at Corus Hotel Hyde Park London, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

Dear SMC108,
Thank you for your feedback following your visit to the Corus Hotel Hyde Park, London.
I am glad to hear that Terry and the team looked after your bags so you could go out for the day. Apologies for the problem caused regarding your booking, we do check every reservation 7,5,3 and one day out so mistakes do not happen, not sure what happened on this occasion however.
As you mentioned it is an ideal location for visiting London, as it is a lovely walk through Hyde Park, especially with the weather we are experiencing at present, which I am glad you enjoyed.
SMC108, once again thank you for your feedback and look forward to welcome you back to the Corus Hotel Hyde Park London, in the not too distant future.

Many thanks

Simon McLaughlin
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,108)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,279 - 2,285 of 4,109 reviews

Reviewed July 17, 2013

The room we were initially allocated was six inches wider than the length of a double bed. The price was just under$AU400 per night. We upgraded to a larger room for an additional $AU120 per night. Enough said.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank bill j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nimo A, Manager at Corus Hotel Hyde Park London, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2013

Dear Bill J,
Thank you for your feedback following your visit to the Corus Hotel Hyde Park, London.
Apologies for the cosy room you received, as you will be aware we do have some rooms that if we could knock down a wall we would, however in a grand old listed building such as this, it just is not possible.
Bill J, once again thank you for your feedback and look forward to welcome you back to the Corus Hotel Hyde Park London, in the not too distant future.

Many thanks

Simon McLaughlin
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

As part of my 50th birthday celebrations we had tickets for a concert in Hyde Park so decided to make a weekend of it in London.
We chose this hotel for its location and price, looking for something mid range for London.

We found a deal for the Bel Canto Opera Restaurant situated in the basement and made a reservation and must say, what a fantastic evening we had and would thoroughly recommend it.

Service in the hotel was prompt and very friendly.

Our double room was on the 9th floor and overlooked a lower roof. It was clean but did have a strange odour. The biggest surprise was how small the room was, essentially a box room with the bed against one wall which led to a tricky manoevre during the night, having to slide to the bottom and then angle onself to the open corner as there was a desk situated at the foot of the bed!

The Ensuite had a small corner sink without shelving nearby, a toilet and a small shower with corner entry sliding doors - we are small and found it a squeeze so cannot imagine a large person being comfortable at all.

We did not eat in the hotel and found there were a quite few places nearby for breakfast and Paddington a short walk with lots of choices of restaurants.

The location of this hotel on the edge of Hyde Park/Kensington Park was perfect for our needs on this occassion.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jnofrills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nimo A, Manager at Corus Hotel Hyde Park London, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2013

Dear Jnofrills,
Thank you for your feedback following your visit to the Corus Hotel Hyde Park, London.
Great to hear the feedback regarding out team here at the Corus Hotel London, with the very prompt service, your feedback will be passed onto our team.
As you mentioned Bel-Canto is a great experience, and I am sure that Chris and his team will be glad to hear this feedback, thank you.
Apologies for the lack of space in one of our cosy rooms, again as you have probably read we do try to upgrade when possible, but it seems we failed on this occasion.
Jnofrills, once again thank you for your feedback and look forward to welcome you back to the Corus Hotel Hyde Park London, in the not too distant future.

Many thanks

Simon McLaughlin
Operations Manager
PS. Happy belated 50th Birthday

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for one night with the main reason for choosing it being the location. We went to see the Rolling Stones in Hyde Park and for anyone else going to any events at this location it is pretty much perfect.
The hotel itself is quite nice, they have a good lobby and restaurant which is nice for a spot of lunch and the breakfast which we had as complimentary was perfect for choice (hot and cold choices, exactly what you would expect of a hotel breakfast).
We had an executive room, which was a good size for the two of us and, although not looking completely brand new, was far from shabby.
The only reason it doesn't get 5 star rating is because I have stayed in other hotels where the quality is just slightly better, but it certainly gets 5 stars for location and service (all the staff were extremely delightful).

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AirwavesFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nimo A, Manager at Corus Hotel Hyde Park London, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2013

Dear AirwavesFan,
Thank you for your feedback following your visit to the Corus Hotel Hyde Park, London.
Great to hear your feedback during your stay with us, especially regarding the team here and it’s great to hear someone at last mention the good sized room given.
Really hoped you enjoyed the Rolling Stones, I was here some of these nights, and you could hear the concert in Hyde Park from the hotel, it really did sound great! And the weather nice also it must have been a great experience
AirwavesFan, once again thank you for your feedback and look forward to welcome you back to the Corus Hotel Hyde Park London, in the not too distant future.

Many thanks

Simon McLaughlin
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

The Hotel looks very grand and the foyer and public areas reflect this, until you head for your room. All very small and cramped in. I had a double room and could only really get into the bed from the bottom. Room smelt a little damp. Bathroom small and had to duck down to get into shower. Mind Your head the sign states!
Staff pleasant, and hotel presents itself well. When checking in a gentleman was complaining about the size of his room to reception.
Plus points are location, and when I arrived very early they did allocate me a room.
Breakfast OK. Did not eat evening meal.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Malcolm A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nimo A, Manager at Corus Hotel Hyde Park London, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2013

Dear Malcolm A,
Thank you for your feedback following your visit to the Corus Hotel Hyde Park, London.
I am more than happy to hear your feedback regarding our team, and that they could get you accommodated early.
I am of the understanding that there are some cosy rooms in the hotel, and we upgrade where possible, however it is not always possible with demand in London.
Malcolm A, once again thank you for your feedback and look forward to welcome you back to the Corus Hotel Hyde Park London, in the not too distant future.

Many thanks

Simon McLaughlin
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

Stopped here with a group of colleagues from work for a function in Park Lane.

Ideally located hotel which I have used before.

The rooms need an update, I had a plumbing problem where the sink was leaking so I had to use the bin as a makeshift bucket which when full had to be poured into the toilet (what a funny way of brushing your teeth!). The room was a bit small buy functional.

The hotel is opposite Hyde park so centrally located for all the sights.

Verdict: I would stay there again but not take any customers with me until they have refurbished the rooms.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank abe030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nimo A, Manager at Corus Hotel Hyde Park London, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

Dear abe 030,

Than you for your feedback following your recent stay with us at the Corus Hotel Hyde Park London. I am disappointed to hear of the problems you experienced during your stay, especially with our plumbing in your room.

It does sound like you stayed in one of our cosy rooms, and you experienced a problem with our 200 plus years building, I will follow up with our maintenance department as to the actions taken as this should have been fixed if reported.

Once again abe030, thank you for your time and your feedback and hope to welcome you once again to the Corus Hotel Hyde Park London

Simon McLaughlin
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

My doubts about the hotel arose as we tried to check in. We called in the morning to confirm we had a booking for a twin room, only to be argued with that we had a double, even when showing the booking confirmation for a twin room to the lady at the check in desk. 20 minutes later we were shown to a 'twin' room that was yet to be unzipped. The room was an executive, and it was fine but not remarkable or at all 4*, but clean and comfortable.

Breakfast was actually quite shocking. I am not sure why we were told breakfast was until 11am when at 1040, after being ignored by several members of staff as we waited for a table for 10 minutes we were eventually seated to be told the buffet was closing. Still before 1045, there was very little in hot food, no plates and the staff were not at all helpful when we pointed out a plate and bowl might be useful.

It has a good location near the tube but I know from experience the Thistle up the road is a far better option for the same price. Surly staff, 3* at best rooms and expensive and not good value for money. Avoid.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vix P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nimo A, Manager at Corus Hotel Hyde Park London, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

Dear Pandapups,

Thank you for your recent feedback following your stay with us at the Corus Hotel Hyde Park London.

I am disappointed t hear of the problems that you experienced, with the room allocation and then later on at breakfast. I am offering no excuse for the mix up in the room, however the hotel has just changed over it’s reservation management system, and in a hotel this size it is quite a task. Processes were put in place to ensure that every booking was double checked; however it appears on this occasion we failed.

Pandapups, breakfast however is a different issue and one that should never have happened. I can assure you that if breakfast is served it should be kept until the last person leaves the restaurant, with every item fresh and available until that happens, your feedback has been forwarded on to the relevant department head.

Once again Pandapup thank you for your feedback and do hope you will visit us again at the Corus Hotel Hyde Park London


Simon McLaughlin
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Best Western Mornington Hotel
#407 of 1,078 in London
841 reviews
London Elizabeth Hotel
#749 of 1,078 in London
1,563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lancaster Gate Hotel
#447 of 1,078 in London
2,208 reviews
Paddington / Maida Vale
Park Grand Paddington Court
Park Grand Paddington Court
#160 of 1,078 in London
1,169 reviews
Elysee Hotel
#605 of 1,078 in London
655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Corus Hotel Hyde Park London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corus Hotel Hyde Park London

Address: 1-7 Lancaster Gate, London W2 3LG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#312 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: $108 - $219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Corus Hotel Hyde Park London 4*
Number of rooms: 389
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Corus Hyde Park is a 4 star, 389 air conditioned bedroom hotel for business and leisure guests and is in a spacious location overlooking Hyde Park. Corus is 50 metres from Lancaster Gate tube on the central line, only 8 minutes walk to Paddington station and the Heathrow Express and 15 minutes walk to Oxford Street, Kensington, Notting Hill, Albert Hall and so close to all the major attractions including the new Westfield shopping centre and the Paddington Basin. The hotel features 4 meeting rooms up to 90 guests, free powerful WiFi in all areas, a fitness studio, large air conditioned lounge with an all day menu. The hotel has three restaurant concepts - seasonal and quality British dishes, an authentic Malaysian menu and Bel Canto Opera dining where opera students act as waiters and sing a wide range of Operatic classics whilst you dine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Corus Hotel Hyde Park London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corus Hotel London
Corus Hyde Park Hotel
Corus Hotel Hyde Park London England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing