We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love the location..”
Review of Parkes Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Parkes Hotel
Ranked #749 of 1,075 Hotels in London
Reviewed May 6, 2008

Location is excellent, staff is unbelievably helpful. Hotel is very off the radar in an amazing part of London (Knightsbridge). Close to the tube, so work was easy - close to the sites and nightlife so fun was easy.

Hotel has no bar or restaurant, would I would argue is the only downside.

Bathrooms are AMAZING.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Bovi33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (111)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 111 reviews

Reviewed February 15, 2008

We stayed at Parkes as part of a treat for my parents Golden Wedding Anniversary.

I have stayed at Parkes several times previously and one thing I knew about them was that I could rely on this hotel not to let us down for a one-off celebratory weekend. Sure enough Parkes did not let us down.

Once again we were pleasantly greeted on arrival with that personal touch that makes you feel welcome, something you should expect from a 4/5 star hotel but you rarely seem to get.

We had two junior suites and they were lovely. The rooms at Parkes are all different, not the usual duplicate boxes, so every visit tends to be a new and pleasant surprise. At least it has so far and I suspect that will not change.

I love the little touches like the handwritten welcome note in a sealed envelope waiting for you in the room.

The junior suites were both lovely. I gave my parents the larger room, and there was not much 'junior' about it. A large room that permitted the deep red painted walls without any sense of claustrophobia. A walk in wardrobe and large lcd tv together with a soft king size bed with luxury beddings.

The other room was also lovely and typically quirky with the front door leading to a small mezzanine area overlooking the rest of the room with steps down to it. The mezzanine had a desk area with the bed and sitting area below.

Everything is typically classy, distinct and unique just as the owner demands. Furnishings are luxurious and the bathroom toiletries are Molton Brown, just like you would find at the Mandarin Oriental :-)

The hotel itself is located in a quiet leafy side street just steps from Harrods. At night the area is tranquil and silent with no through traffic to disturb you so even the front rooms are quiet at night.

The one drawback, for some, will be the fact the hotel does not serve lunch or dinner, although it does serve breakfast. But London is on your doorstep, with wonderful Knightsbridge restaurants just minutes away.

The people are lovely, friendly and they smile making you feel welcome from the moment you enter to the sad point of departure. Parkes is not cheap, but for a special weekend in the city, I wholeheartedly recommend it.

  • Stayed: September 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank nephalion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2008

We (7 of us) have just got home after a 2 night family stay at the Parkes Hotel and it was fantastic.....honestly, I couldn't recommend it highly enough. It was a special occasion and they made the weekend even more memorable with their excellent service.
We found and booked this hotel as a 60th birthday treat for our parents. Our parents regularly holiday in 4 or 5 star hotels so finding the right base for this weekend was a task I didn't think I would enjoy.
We arrived early and 2 of the 4 rooms were ready so we checked in and they took the luggage to the rooms and allowed us to explore the area.
Harrods is just a couple of minutes walk away, there are a great selection of cafe's, patisseries, restaurants and a couple of local pubs within 1-2 minutes walk. There is a taxi rank, bus stops (our big bus tour tickets were valid for 48hrs so we didn't need to use the tube) within seconds, I don't think we could have found anywhere more convenient for our weekend. The area feels very safe to walk around in the evenings and within 15min walk to Royal Albert and Hyde Park.
We had a single room for my 83yr old grandmother, 2 std doubles for my brother and his partner, and myself and my partner and a suite for our parents. The suite had a large lounge/dining area, small but v functional kitchen, and an additional bathroom for guests to use. It was a perfect space for the 7 of us to congregate in the mornings and evenings and to relax when we got home from our evenings out to enjoy a final night cap together.
As a guest of the Parkes hotel you are treated as VIP's. As its a smaller hotel they know your name as you arrive and address you by it each time they see you, giving you helpful pieces of information as you require. Most of the larger hotels we have stayed in previously know you by your room number and you are 1 of many guests passing through their reception area on an hourly basis. But not at the Parkes you will be please to know. All the staff were very friendly and knowledgeable and were happy to assist where ever they could. A couple of times my grandmother came back to the hotel by taxi alone whilst we continued to enjoy the sights of London and each time they escorted her to her room and ensured she had coffee and refreshments. The hotel has a guest lounge also which is very comfortable and relaxing.
Our father's birthday was on the Sunday 10 feb, and as a special surprise they arranged the most delicious birthday cake which they delivered to their room at the arranged time.

At the end of the weekend both our parents were still in shock at what we had arranged for their birthday treat and agreed that their room was the best they had ever stayed in. I wouldn't call them overly fussy but they certainly know what they like, so well done Parkes, we hope to stay with you again some time!! Thank you.

PS afternoon tea at the Park Lane Hotel was lovely too.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank HILLS20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2007

This was our 2nd stay this year and it was just as good! The staff are all so helpful and really care.

This was an 88th birthday treat for mum in law and we had invited our number 2 son and his fiancee to join us. We had booked a deluxe double and adjoining single and a standard double at a special rate arranged after our last stay.

We arrived early and only the deluxe double was ready. They then found that the other double reeked of smoke (smoking is not permitted anywhere!) so whilst we went to the Albert Hall for the Classical Spectacular they rearranged the rooms so we ended up in a one bedroomed suite and the kids had the deluxe double. Fantastic service.

The suite has a kitchenette area so that we could prepare tea and coffee and the lounge area was the meeting place for predinner drinks.

The bathrooms are small but delightful. The shower is so refreshing after a hard day with Moulton Brown toiletries.

They also arranged a complimentary gateau from Patisserie Valerie (just round the corner on Brompton Road.

Breakfast next morning was taken in the basement. Adequate and OK value at £12.50 for continental.

Mum travels in a wheelchair but can walk a little so access to the hotel was OK. It is not wheelchair friendly I'm afraid.

The Albert Hall is 5 minutes taxi ride or 15 minutes walk. Harrods is 5 minutes walk.

Euston Station has the taxi rank below the main concourse and there is no lift evident. At the top of a flight of stairs is a yellow phone for help. Used it, waited 10 minutes - nothing!

Saw the new St Pancras station. Visually stunning but sooooo cold in there. The longest champagne bar in Europe does not need to ice the drinks!

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2007

Very welcoming and nice staff. We had a 1 bed suite (room 44). Bedroom tiny but sitting room a better size with tiny kitchen (fridge, microwave, etc.). Great minibar. Great location and definitely stay there again, possibly in a room with an outside terrace.

M & K, Edinburgh

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Mo_Edin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2007

We stayed at the Parkes in London in late October. The hotel is loced in the heart of Kensington, in quite street near Harrods. The property is a period residence, however is really past its prime and needs restoration. Both rooms we were in had problems.

For the money I think there are much better options unless the location is critical to you.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank belladonna01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2007

We have just returned from a short stay at this boutique hotel, which is just a few short strides from Harrods - so not so far to carry all those bags back - before looking for the next purchase.

It is magnificent and we have never experienced such caring service before. The rooms are huge and lavishly decorated, indeed they make it so attractive and comfortable that one could almost decide not to go out visiting all the sites and sounds. I believe Harrods will deliver !.

The General Manager - MrsShaw - and her team looked after us from the moment we stepped into their reception. The Breakfast table offers a huge choice. We recommend dipping deeply into the fresh fruit salad bowl, and the freshly baked pastries - YES for breakfast. This of course can be followed by the 'excellent full english'

ENJOY YOUR STAY

Stayed: November 2007
6  Thank KKSAK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Knightsbridge
Claverley Court Apartments
Claverley Court Apartments
#521 of 1,075 in London
55 reviews
Knightsbridge
The Beaufort Hotel
The Beaufort Hotel
#317 of 1,075 in London
752 reviews
Knightsbridge
Millennium Hotel London Knightsbridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
The Franklin – Starhotels Collezione
Knightsbridge
The Capital Hotel
The Capital Hotel
#41 of 1,075 in London
766 reviews
Belgravia
Jumeirah Lowndes Hotel
Jumeirah Lowndes Hotel
#308 of 1,075 in London
552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parkes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parkes Hotel

Address: 41 Beaufort Gardens, London SW3 1PW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Knightsbridge
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#388 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: $319 - $385 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Parkes Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury townhouse hotel located on a quiet tree-lined residential cul-de-sac in Knightsbridge, 1 block from Harrods. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Parkes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parkes Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing