We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient place to stay”
Review of London Town Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
London Town Hotel
Ranked #548 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Reviewed October 19, 2012

If you need to stay around Earls Court, this is one of the best hotels to stay in. I have stayed in a number of the hotels around Earls Court and this is just about the quietest. Far enough from the tube to be quiet but close enough to walk to, about 3 minutes. The rooms are small but comfortable and the continental breakfast is fine. If you are expecting luxury and cordon bleu, this is not for you. If you want a good place to rest your head for a night or two, this is the place for you. Nice residents' lounge for tea and coffee and a multitude of eating places within a two minute walk. Stayed here three times now and will do so again. Do not stay in a hotel on the other side of Penywern Road unless you are a train spotter.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ImmigrantTyke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LondonTownHotel, Manager at London Town Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

Dear ImmigrantTyke, Thank you for your kind comments and taking the time to give us your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to the London Town Hotel soon.
Kind Regards, Manager ,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (450)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

144 - 150 of 450 reviews

Reviewed October 10, 2012

We had a night here during our London stay. The rooms were very clean & the bedding was comfortable.
We picked a triple room & it was a good size.
The service was fantastic. The gentleman on reception was very pleasant.
The location was great - just around the corner from the underground station.
There was a laundromat nearby (a huge plus). This was just a short walk from the hotel.
The walls are a little thin (we could hear everything from the rooms all around us), but do not let this deter you from staying here. Once 10pm came around, it was very peaceful and quiet.
We would definitely consider staying here again in the future.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank flutterbybecs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LondonTownHotel, Manager at London Town Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2012

Dear Flutterbybecs, Thank you for your kind comments and taking the time to give us your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to the London Town Hotel in the near future. Kind Regards, Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We stayed 4 nights the location was fantasic just around the corner from the tube station. The staff are very friendly and nothing is too much of trouble, the rooms are small but spotless and as we were sightseeing all day this was not a problem. Breakfast was very good and there was plenty of it. I cannot recommed this Hotel highly enough and will be staying there again when we visit London again..

Col & Jill Mt. Warrigal n.s.w. Australia

Room Tip: We were facing the main road on the 6th floor and had no problem with traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jillnorris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LondonTownHotel, Manager at London Town Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2012

Dear Jillnorris, Thank you for your kind comments and taking the time to give us your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to the London Town Hotel in the near future. Kind Regards, Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

This hotel is very good value for money compared with other London hotels that I have stayed at. Very polite and effective staff. Good breakfast, No traffic noise. Good choice if you are on a quick visit to London and are not looking for top class luxury. Tube station just round the corner and reasonable resaurants nearby.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Swingelish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LondonTownHotel, Manager at London Town Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2012

Dear Swingelish,
Thank you for your kind comments and taking the time to give us your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to the London Town Hotel in the near future. Kind Regards, Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

This hotel was perfect for me. I would definitely recommend and stay again but if you are a stickler for the details, read on. 

Very convenient location, about one block from the Earls Court tube stop. Earls court has wheelchair access - which means there's a lift/elevator if you are hauling luggage. Earls court also has access to the central and district lines so VERY easy to get to anywhere you want to go. (to get to the hotel, turn right out of the station and turn right on the first street, hotel is on the left, approx 2-3 minutes walk).  

The area is busy but not sketchy or run down. As a single woman, I felt safe walking at night. Within 2 blocks, there is a coin laundry, a grocery, bottle shops, Gregg's (a type of convenience store with light food, toasted snacks, and coffee), pharmacy, Boots (health and beauty), coffee shops and a couple of restaurants. My favorite is Masala Zone (reasonably priced Indian)

The staff were really quite friendly and even arranged a bit of an earlier check in on a busy day. I was half sleeping in the lounge and they came snd got me, already having carried my bags to my room. (The hotel does have a 2 person lift/elevator but you may still need to go down 1/2 a dozen steps depending on your room number.)

I always seem to get the room with no wifi access in these hotels but this one actually has 4 routers to connect to and i had no problems . Wifi was totally free.  The information card in your room has the password which is the same for all. 

The hotel and room (single, 4th floor) were clean and had no funky odors (no mildew or stale smoke smell!) there were some areas of the hallway wall that had been damaged but nothing that made you think it was used as a the set for a horror film. My room carpet had a stain but was clearly clean. Walls were clean as well. 

The room was very small/narrow which I expected, but I could still move around the bed. The pics the hotel posted seemed accurate to me. My twin bed was firm (no memory foam unfortunately), a little hard but didn't creak and I couldn't feel any springs :) sheets were pristine - crisp, white, like new. Extra blanket in the tiny closet. The room has a shoebox size safe, nightstand and desk w chair that serves as vanity, desk and table (mirror above). You leave your key w reception when you go out. 

Small, 19inch flat screen mounted high in the corner (with remote)

NO AIR CON that I could see, but I could be missing it. Window was left open which gave a nice breeze, but if you're a light sleeper there's pedestrian noise from the street for awhile. I stayed in October so didn't have an issue with heat. 

Bathroom. Hot water was good, water pressure was fine, especially for Europe but the shower stall was small (approx 2.5 feet or 70cm x 70cm). I'm 5'7 and when I bent to get the shampoo my backside pressed to the wall and my face was about an inch from the other wall! Noisy fan and rough but clean towels (2 towels, no face cloth). A very small round of soap and a sample size packet of shampoo was provided but I would recommend stopping by Boots and getting something a bit better. 

Entire hotel is no-smoking. 

Continental breakfast was simple but good - muesli, wheatabix and corn flakes. Fresh bananas, canned peaches, filter coffee, tea of course, orange and apple juice, milk, croissants and Danish, soft boiled eggs, cheese slices, and someone brought out warm toast.  

There's no tea/coffee service in the rom but there is one in the lounge. The lounge was a nice little gathering place if your staying with friends and got some fresh air from a small balcony. Seats are a bit faded and my bottom could have used some extra cushion but It was a nice perk just to have the lounge at all. 

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank angelc74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LondonTownHotel, Manager at London Town Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2012

Dear Angelc74,
Thank you for your kind comments and taking the time to give us your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to the London Town Hotel soon. Kind Regards, Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

We stayed for 6 nights recently and found the Hotel clean and comfortable. the rooms are small but as we were out all day sightseeing it was good. Our room was at the back of the building so no street noise. Breakfast was good and there are plenty of Pubs and fastfood places to get meals. Earls court tube station is just around the corner and bus stops close by. we found the staff to be friendly and helpful. one night we had some loud tv noise from the room next door, we spoke to the desk staff and had no other problems after.would stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LondonTownHotel, Manager at London Town Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2012

Dear Ian B, Thank you for your kind comments and taking the time to give us your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to the London Town Hotel in the near future. Kind Regards, Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

I stayed at the hotel on two occasions as part of my Olympic Volunteer duties in London (stayed for 1 night and 16 nights) I found the room size fine as was in there on my own, staff were all great, friendly, helpful and always happy to help. Location was great for everything as was based in Earls Court for my volunteer role, just round the corner from the underground to get anywhere in London. Would recommend and defo go again if back in London for another visit in the future.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Alex H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LondonTownHotel, Manager at London Town Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2012

Dear Alex H, Thank you for your kind comments and taking the time to give us your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to the London Town Hotel in the near future. Kind Regards, Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Earls Court
Mowbray Court Hotel
Mowbray Court Hotel
#458 of 1,076 in London
340 reviews
Earls Court
Hotel Rushmore
Hotel Rushmore
#592 of 1,076 in London
465 reviews
Earls Court
London Court Hotel
London Court Hotel
#384 of 1,076 in London
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Earls Court
Best Western The Boltons
Best Western The Boltons
#508 of 1,076 in London
1,052 reviews
Earls Court
Amsterdam Hotel
Amsterdam Hotel
#648 of 1,076 in London
658 reviews
Earls Court
Trebovir Hotel
Trebovir Hotel
#843 of 1,076 in London
740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to London Town Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about London Town Hotel

Address: 15 Penywern Road, London SW5 9TY, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Earls Court
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #548 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Price Range: $105 - $200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — London Town Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The London Town Hotel is situated in the tree lined Penywern Road, in the heart of Earls Court (in the Royal Borough of Kensington & Chelsea), minutes away from the Earls Court London Underground Station. The hotel is located close to the Olympia Exhibition Centre. With excellent transport links, the London Town Hotel is the ideal base for exploring & visiting London's tourist attractions, theatre shows, restaurants, shopping, or to do business. Our rooms provide a comfortable space to relax, work and sleep, making it the perfect place for your visit to London. They all have en suite facilities (shower & toilet), free WiFi, freeview digital TV, direct dial telephones, room safes, hairdryers and our rooms are non-smoking. Our spacious guest's lounge has complimentary tea & coffee making facilities, free WiFi connection and a public internet station. The lounge leads on to our terrace overlooking the garden. Our friendly, helpful staff look forward to welcoming you at the London Town Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your London Town Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
London Town Hotel England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing