We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent, but not amazing”
Review of London Town Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
London Town Hotel
Ranked #536 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Decent, but not amazing”
Reviewed July 21, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights at the end of June. We arrived late in the day (the last ones to check in!), and our room was right next to reception. The staff were friendly when we checked in. The room had very thin walls and we could perfectly hear the conversations of the people in the room next to us. The room was very clean and very tiny, but enough space for what anyone would need honestly! There was a super clean bathroom and shower with complimentary soap and shampoo. There was also a small safe in the room and extra blankets in the closet.

The room was hot and there was no temperature control in the room, so we left the window open at night. There was a room right across from us (not a hallway, though, through a tiny open air area - kind of hard to explain), so we were also able to hear their conversations. We had to leave our key at the desk when we left, but they were always nice about remembering us when we came back. The night staff was vigilant about keeping track of who was in the hotel - all visitors had to check in with them or they got on to them - it was nice.

Upstairs there was an area with local information and complimentary coffee through most of the day. I did not have their breakfast.

Overall, it was tiny and hot and a little old, but it worked for what we needed!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank amystar137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

437 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    219
    103
    21
    15
See reviews for
107
111
94
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2012

Stayed for 6 nights over the past 6 weeks and was very impressed that the staff remembered me when I returned after a month. Rooms are small, but clean and great location for public transport. Staff are very helpful and welcoming. Complaint re smoking in the next room was dealt with promptly.

Room Tip: Street noise was quite loud on Friday and Saturday nights for rooms facing the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LondonTownHotel, Manager at London Town Hotel, responded to this review, October 28, 2012
Dear Jan S , Thank you for your kind comments and taking the time to give us your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to the London Town Hotel in the near future. Kind Regards, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2012

Stayed for four nights recently and I loved the location, easy access to the airport and all major attractions, room wasn't too bad a size and the staff were friendly and very helpful. Have I stayed in more luxurious places, yes but you get what you pay for and I wasn't disappointed and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jacqui M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LondonTownHotel, Manager at London Town Hotel, responded to this review, October 28, 2012
Dear Jacqui M, Thank you for your kind comments and taking the time to give us your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to the London Town Hotel in the near future. Kind Regards, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heswall, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012

I commute down from Chester to London for work 3 days every fortnight, where I work long hours and just want a quiet, comfortable & preferably friendly place to get my head down. Earls Court is perfect for me because it's a pleasant 2.5 mile walk to our office in Victoria and right on a bus route, and there are lots of better-priced small hotels.
First impressions weren't good. I arrived at 10.30pm to a disinterested welcome and a tired, musty-smelling reception. Having asked for a quiet room, I was then disappointed to find I had the room next to reception and the main entrance overlooking the street at ground level - but, as my wife would say, that's what you get for turning up so late!
The room was also tiny, although I know that this is normal in this area for a single at "just" £75 a night! And at least it was clean and the bed comfortable, with a very clean & perfectly functional en-suite shower room.
In the morning, breakfast was a perfectly adequate continental with choice of cereals, fruit juices, fresh toast & coffee, boiled eggs & sliced cheese, and a croissant that could have been fresher!
Service was again disinterested although efficient.
I hope I won't be back, but I know what to expect next time if the price is right!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank westie13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LondonTownHotel, Manager at London Town Hotel, responded to this review, October 28, 2012
Dear Westie13,
Thank you for your feedback.
We are sorry that you did not feel welcome by our night staff upon check in. I will review the matter with the gentleman on duty.
I hope you do decide to stay with us again so that we can meet your expectations.
Kind regards,
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 5, 2012

An old victorian town house, we stayed for 6 nights, my girl friend and I we had a lovely, relaxing stay there, all the staff we encountered were welcoming, friendly and attentive from checking-in to the moment we left.
The room was clean and tidy and very comfortable, breakfast was quite good (not cooked though). Some refreshing of decorations required but not an issue.
We recommend this hotel .

Room Tip: We stayed in room 504
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gassem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LondonTownHotel, Manager at London Town Hotel, responded to this review, October 28, 2012
Dear Gassem, Thank you for your kind comments and taking the time to give us your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to the London Town Hotel in the near future. Kind Regards, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb, Croatia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2012

London Town hotel is the worst and the most overpriced hotel that I have ever stayed in. It felt more like a hostel than a 2 stars hotel.
A toilet in my room didn't flush properly – you had to pull it ca 20 times each time you used it, to make it flush. When I complained about it, I got a response from the reception girls that "there is no problem at all. We had the men to check it out and they said it was OK, considering it was a very old building." I found their response insulting, like they were implying that I was imagining problems. The problems with the toilet flush continued for days, until I asked for another room.
In another room they offered me, the toilet flush worked, but there was a curious notice from the manager on the bathroom wall, saying: "Important warning. Please make sure that the shower curtain is in its tracks all the time." I examined the shower curtain closely and it looked fine, so I moved to that room. I discovered what was wrong with the shower cabin the very first time I tried to take a shower. The shower was fixed to the wall at such an angle that when you turned on the water and tried to fix the right temperature, the water sprayed right onto you, standing in front of the shower cabin, and on the toilet seat behind you. I guess the idea of the manager who put that notice on the wall was that a guest should enter the shower cabin, close the shower curtain, and then wait and endure a few minutes of cold water running over him/her, until it warms up. How very considerate and kind advice, thank you very much, manager, but I don't think so.
Then there was no hot milk available for my breakfast cereals for a couple of days, because the microwave in hotel's kitchen didn't work.
Then I found a hole in the towel I was using, as well as a long black hair (I am blonde), and it all made me feel very sick.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LightSvj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at London Town Hotel, responded to this review, June 25, 2012
Dear LightSvj,
We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us. In response to your comments:
The toilet flush in your room was checked twice by maintenance who found it on both occasions to be in working order. I have asked the ladies at the reception and they have informed me that they went to your room and flushed it first time with no issues in your presence. It seems you were embarrassed by this and as a result demanded to change rooms. My staff did change your room and you were asked to check the second room was to your satisfaction before changing.
With regards to the shower, you could easily have turned the shower on and waited until it reached the desired temperature before stepping in. I do not understand why you did not do this?
We did experience a problem with the microwave on one morning during your stay. However, my staff informed you that they were heating the milk up on the stove but you chose not to wait for it. Please advise what more you expected them to do?
You did not inform us about any defect with your towel nor did you ask for a replacement. Without seeing the towel I am unable to raise the issue with my laundry company.
With all of your complaints you still stayed with us for 6 continuous nights and when asked upon check out if you enjoyed your stay, you said yes and did not mention any of the issues you have chosen to list in your review.
Regards,
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these London hotels

Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2012

Having read some of the previous reviews for this accommodation we were a little worried what we would find when we arrived in London. We were very pleased with the hotel and our room.

Location at Earls Court is excellent - close to the Underground (90 seconds) food and shops. Earls Court is close to the major attractions and only about 15 minutes to the center of London.

Our room was clean, quiet, well serviced each day, and the size was fine - bigger than we were expecting. There was room for our cases as well as leaving room to move around. The bed was comfortable and the sheets clean and crisp. Clean towels everyday. The shower was hot but the pressure very weak.

The desk staff were efficient, pleasant and helpful (especially the African man in the afternoons and evenings). There is a lift which services all floors. We were happy with the continental breakfast - choice of 3 cereals, yogurt, cheese, toast, spreads, tea/coffee, tinned fruit, croissant, and boiled eggs. The only thing I felt could be improved was the croissants are served cold. A choice of wholemeal for the toast would also be nice. Toast is bought out as soon as you enter the dining room and was often cold and dry by the time you got to eating it.

There is a lounge room on the 1st floor which supply tea/coffee all day and is available for entertaining in. Free WiFi is provided. Bags can be left on day of departure for a charge of 1 pound which is very helpful.

The overall decor of the hotel is a little dated and worn but did not detract from our stay. We knew we weren't paying for 5 stars. We were very happy with this hotel. It was good value for money and we would highly recommend it to others. If we went to London we would stay here again.

Room Tip: Our room was at the back of the property on the second floor. We found this a very quiet location. T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennywren3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LondonTownHotel, Manager at London Town Hotel, responded to this review, October 28, 2012
Dear Jennywren3, Thank you for your kind comments and taking the time to give us your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to the London Town Hotel in the near future. Kind Regards, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Earls Court
London Court Hotel
London Court Hotel
#398 of 1,068 in London
164 reviews
Earls Court
Mowbray Court Hotel
Mowbray Court Hotel
#448 of 1,068 in London
289 reviews
Earls Court
Best Western The Boltons
Best Western The Boltons
#511 of 1,068 in London
1,015 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Earls Court
Lord Kensington Hotel
Lord Kensington Hotel
#735 of 1,068 in London
421 reviews
Earls Court
Lord Jim Hotel
Lord Jim Hotel
#690 of 1,068 in London
281 reviews
Earls Court
Amsterdam Hotel
Amsterdam Hotel
#568 of 1,068 in London
646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to London Town Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about London Town Hotel

Property: London Town Hotel
Address: 15 Penywern Road, London SW5 9TY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Earls Court
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #536 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — London Town Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The London Town Hotel is situated in the tree lined Penywern Road, in the heart of Earls Court (in the Royal Borough of Kensington & Chelsea), minutes away from the Earls Court London Underground Station. The hotel is located close to the Olympia Exhibition Centre. With excellent transport links, the London Town Hotel is the ideal base for exploring & visiting London's tourist attractions, theatre shows, restaurants, shopping, or to do business. Our rooms provide a comfortable space to relax, work and sleep, making it the perfect place for your visit to London. They all have en suite facilities (shower & toilet), free WiFi, freeview digital TV, direct dial telephones, room safes, hairdryers and our rooms are non-smoking. Our spacious guest's lounge has complimentary tea & coffee making facilities, free WiFi connection and a public internet station. The lounge leads on to our terrace overlooking the garden. Our friendly, helpful staff look forward to welcoming you at the London Town Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your London Town Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
London Town Hotel England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing