We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
London Marriott Hotel County Hall
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (2,812)
Filter reviews
2,812 results
Traveler rating
1,546
769
297
124
76
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,546
769
297
124
76
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbig benlondon eyewestminster bridgethe executive loungeriver viewsouth bankafternoon teatwo double bedsamazing locationtube stationelevatorconciergescaffoldingplatinumdoormanpoundswallpaper
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,262 - 2,267 of 2,812 reviews
Reviewed October 19, 2010

The location of the Marriott County Hall is right on the Thames, overlooking Parliament and Big Ben. Most of the rooms don't have views of this however. The pluses were the location, the size of the rooms, and access to the health club with 25 meter pool. The lobby is nice and the London Eye is in front of the hotel on the Thames. Also, the double decker tour bus companies have a stop in front of the hotel. It's easy to walk to Buckingham Palace, St. James Park, and even, Hyde Park, if feeling ambitious. The Westminster tube stop is just over the river fromt the hotel. The front desk was friendly and met our needs. The concierge personnel on duty were also friendly and helpful. The health club was excellent, a real health club used by locals. The pool is a 3 lane 25 meter pool that has lane lines and can be used by serious lap swimmers. The only significant downside was the erratic housekeeping service, sometimes cleaning the room, sometimes cleaning it partially, and other times, not at all. That was surprising given this is a high profile Marriott property and, typically, Marriotts can be counted on to maintain high standards. Also, the internet prices are insultingly high. Overall, this was a good property for our trip and we will return here again.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MaineTravel50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2010

We recently stayed at this hotel while visiting London. We lived in London for two years so wanted a hotel that was in a good location and had nice rooms.

This hotel has both. The hotel is an old historic building that has been beautifully converted to this Marriott Hotel. Our room had a view over the Thames to Big Ben and Parliament and the London Eye. We could easily walk to Waterloo station in less than 5 minutes or it was right on Westminster Bridge and we could walk across to Big Ben and St James Park easily.

It was a great place to easily see Westminster and central london.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mjrutledge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2010

The hotel is huge. The location is right in the middle of a tourist mob scene. If you like huge crowds right outside your door, this is your place.

The Pros:
Great location for Parliament/Big Ben, London Eye. Easy access to the on-off boat and bus. Well cared for property, good sized rooms for London. Pool and work out room very nice. They have a Concierge Lounge (but it's terribly understaffed, mobbed by guests and they run out of everything constantly.)

The Cons:
Very big, completely anonymous hotel. You are just another body to the staff and management. Unfortunately by contrast, we'd just come from a fantastic experience at a smaller hotel in Paris, where we were treated as truly valued guests. I'd contacted County Hall Rooms Manager three months in advance to explain a simple rooms request since one of our kids has special needs. Was told in writing our request should be no problem. When we got to County Hall, no one had the slightest idea what we had requested. I produced the emails, was told the computer reallocated our rooms - oh well....no human beings involved. We were begrudgingly offered an alternative and then lectured twice during our stay by different managers that we needed to be grateful for their attempt to accommodate us. My husband is Platinum, we paid for the stay (i.e. didn't use points) and were treated like we were an annoyance. With such a huge property, I guess each guest is just that - an annoyance to be shuffled in and out to make room for the next warm body.

The concierge desk is moderately helpful but be prepared to wait a long time due to huge crowds of guests. And don't expect help if you email questions in advance trying to plan your trip.

In fairness, it is not a bad hotel. Our experience with their management just ruined what could have been a great stay. We were not trying to be difficult with our rooms request - traveling with a special needs child is challenging. Usually, as a Platinum member, management makes some basic effort to be courteous and helpful. If they don't, it's not a big deal. But this is the first time in many years of family travel I felt management was beyond unhelpful and almost rude.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GreatCoupleWithKids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottCountyHall, Front Office Manager at London Marriott Hotel County Hall, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2010

Dear Guest

Thank you for your feedback and for completing an online review of your visit to County Hall in August.

It is clear on this occasion that the Hotel team failed to provide a suitable room allocation as discussed prior to your arrival. Whilst I understand some efforts were made to offer alternatives to you and your family, I appreciate that these rooms remained unsuitable for the duration of your visit.

We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to London so that we may restore your faith in County Hall and subsequently Marriott Hotels. As a valued and loyal Platinum Elite guest, it is disappointing to learn that on this visit you did not receive the levels of service we strive to provide.

Kind regards, Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2010

A wonderful old building that for many year was the City Hall is now a wonderful unique hotel. The location couldn't be better right across the Thames from Parliament Buildings and Big Ben and within a hundred metres of the tube station and many various bus stops. An excellent location for walking or touring around London.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CanadianTraveller200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottCountyHall, Front Office Manager at London Marriott Hotel County Hall, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2010

Dear Guest

Thank you for your review of The London Marriott Hotel, County Hall.

We are delighted that your stay was a memorable and that you experienced the history and elegance of County Hall.

As we are ideally located, may we suggest using our Virtual Concierge service prior to a future visit so that we may have the opportunity to provide more assistance with your travel plans.

We look forward to welcoming you back to County Hall in the future.

Kind regards, Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2010

We stayed for 5 nights using Marriott reward points. We had a room just down the hall from the concierge lounge. There was a great view of the river and Big Ben. It was odd that in such a large room, there was only one window. Only had one neighbor, so the room was fantastically quiet. We stayed with our 2 teenage children. There was plenty of room for all of us with 2 queen beds and a huge walk in closet, which turned into the changing room when the bathroom was occupied. We used the pool 3 out of the 5 days. It was great to have a place to cool off after the hot days. The hotel was convenient for the London Eye and the river cruise. Overall, a wonderful experience! We had dinner one night at the Italian restaurant out the back door, which was very loud but tasty.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jhamm01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottCountyHall, Front Office Manager at London Marriott Hotel County Hall, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2010

Dear Guest

Thank you for your review of The London Marriott Hotel, County Hall.

We are delighted to learn of your memorable visit and your spacious and comfortable family accommodation.

May we suggest that on a future visit to London, perhaps upgrade your accommodation to a stunning Balcony View suite (which is also suitable for families) offering unrivalled outdoor views from your private balcony.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel.

Kind regards, Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews