We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Hotel except for Fire Alarm”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
London Marriott Hotel County Hall
Ranked #157 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 9, 2014

This hotel exceeded my expectations in almost every way. From the moment we checked in for our 6 night stay, the staff was unbelievably accommodating and friendly. We were lucky enough to have one of those terrific rooms with a view and if you can afford it, it really does make a difference even if you are not in your room a whole lot if time. The hotel is just beautiful and since it has been described in many other reviews I am not going to repeat it again. Our room was perfect with two queen beds which was great for two adults and a teenager and if not an easy thing to find in London. The shower was one of the best I have encountered in a hotel and a nice spacious bathroom with a table outside to do your hair/makeup was a nice touch. It was so easy to walk to all the major sites, the tube station was a 2 minute walk across the bridge, the bus stop right across the street and if you wanted to use the Hop On Hop Off service (we did not) it was right outside the hotel door. Our only complaint about our stay was that during our 6 days, the fire alarm went off 3 times. 2 of the three were unannounced, one time at 11pm at night while we were just falling asleep. Both of those unannounced times they evacuated the entire hotel! The last time was a pre-announced test. I cannot tell you how annoying this was, and all the hotel did was slip a paper under the door the next day apologizing for the "inconvenience". It was quite disappointing and put a little bit of a damper on an otherwise perfect hotel experience.

Room Tip: Pay extra for a room with a view if you can!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank FLcruiselover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,638)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,261 - 1,267 of 2,638 reviews

Reviewed July 8, 2014

Stayed at Marriott for 4 days after completing Scenic River Cruise.Hotel quite grand and old but
disappointed with amount of time taken to clean rooms.Left room at 8am and returned dripping wet from shopping trip at 2.45pm.Room was not made up which wasn't end of world but I wanted some dry towels,it took two calls to housekeeping,two visits to concierge and another visit to front desk.
At last 4.16pm housekeeping came no apologies nothing.Very disappointed for a 5star.Views across Thames were great but out front of hotel was like side show alley.Wouldn't stay there
again.

Room Tip: Try not to get a room too far away from lifts can be quite a long walk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Slimsam2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Marriott London County Hall hotel for 5 nights from June 26-July 1 (attending a wedding) and had a wonderful experience. We arrived late on our first night and everyone from bellman to the concierge were extremely helpful. We were greeted each day from all staff members whether it was housekeeping, managers or front desk. The hotel is located directly on the Thames riverfront walkway which is filled with food vendor trucks, restaurants, a park, and the London Eye ferris wheel. The hotel is part of the former London County Hall building and retains old world charm. There are several sitting rooms with oversized chairs with huge comfy cushions and surrounded by large wooden desks and old books of every type. A nice English breakfast was served each morning in the library until 10:30 and was included with the room since my husband is a Platinum Elite Marriott member. Breakfast included numerous breads, muffins, pastry, scrambled eggs, sausage, bacon, cold cereals, fruit and cheeses. The rooms were spacious with plenty of room to walk around, two large arm chairs, a mini bar, safe and a nice sized bathroom. There are two "Underground" stations very close to the hotel to get you anywhere you want to go in London. We actually took the Underground from the airport (with only one transfer) and the cost was 3 pounds per person as opposed to a 30 pound cab ride. The Westminster station across the bridge from the hotel has elevators and escalators which was quite convenient for carrying luggage.The hotel is a quite pricey and listed as a category 9 but worth the stay. We were very pleased with all aspects of this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank costumerppp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2014

Stayed at the hotel for 5 nights with my husband and we just loved it! We had a very spacious room with a fabulous view of the River Thames, Big Ben and Parliament. In a historic building, the hotel has beautiful public spaces with lots of wood paneling, lovely furniture, fresh flowers.
Everyone we encountered was friendly and helpful. We did have a small glitch with our luggage when checking in as the doorman never put our room number on our luggage ticket so I had to go on a bit of a search to locate it. The front desk was extremely apologetic and even sent us a fruit tray and a note as an apology. Anyone can make a mistake and it is so appreciated when a mistake is acknowledged and a kind gesture is made to make amends. Well done Marriott.
Our room was very large with 2 high back chairs, small table, desk and chair, dresser, 2 side tables and a king size bed and my very favorite, a small table, chair and mirror (outside of the bathroom) where you could do your hair and make-up. Even with all that and a spacious closet there was plenty of floor space. The mattress was not great and we asked housekeeping to take a look. I think they flipped it and added a new thick mattress pad which did help some.
As Marriott Gold members we enjoyed a wonderful breakfast every morning and had our choice of either having it in the Library or in the restaurant. Both were excellent. The Library is cozy and comfortable and has great views of the Thames. The food selection was fantastic and everything was delicious. We enjoyed great views in the restaurant also and there were a few more breakfast items to choose from--again, everything fresh and delicious.
The hotel is in a great location and we walked almost everywhere to see the parks, museums and historic sights in London. It's also very close to a Tube station--just across Westminster Bridge.
Evening Concierge Lounge was nice (Marriott Gold member). Not a huge space but they had a nice selections of drinks, snacks and hors d'oeuvres. Such a bonus to have this free option after a long day of sight-seeing--especially with London prices.
Will definitely try to return to this hotel the next time we are in London.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Cyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2014

We booked with our air miles and, I have to say, if I'd paid full price for the room I'd have been disappointed. The room itself was fine, clean and spacious if a little outdated. We had been allocated a disabled room with a wet room and a separate toilet. Which in itself wasn't a problem at all - except that the floor tiles were uneven and when we showered the room nearly flooded. The floor was still wet when we returned 7 hours later. In addition, the floor was lethally slippery when wet - I wouldn't like to think what could happen if a disabled/elderly person actually used the shower and slipped. The floor tiles were also a bit loose and needed re-grouting. having some personal experience of wet rooms for disabled people - this was definitely not up to scratch.
Room aside - I cannot fault the rest of our experience. The reception staff were very polite and efficient and the restaurant staff couldn't do enough to ensure we had everything we needed - certainly the best hotel restaurant service I've experienced in a long while.

Room Tip: not room 437!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 312Claire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Theresa M, General Manager at London Marriott Hotel County Hall, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2014

Dear Reviewer,

I was pleased to learn of your fabulous review, apart from the bathroom, during your stay with us. Your comments are very important to us and your views have been taken seriously. I can confirm that the issues you encountered have been rectified. Please accept our apologies for not demonstrating the usual high standards we are proud to provide.

We thank you for your kind comments regarding our staff and we are delighted to hear you enjoyed our Restaurant.

Thank you again and trust we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards,
Theresa Maw- General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2014

Just a one night stopover on business. Very helpful staff on reception and at the door. Beautiful room with view over the London Eye, everything worked really well. I was in room 202 - I know I need all the exercise I can get, but the distance from the lifts to the end of the corridor (ie room 202 on the second floor) is absolutely ridiculous. I'm not sure there is much the hotel can do about that, but do check when you check in ...

Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
Thank BristolDanish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2014

We stopped here for two nights last weekend for a treat for my mum who was 70. The hotel could not have done enough to ensure she had a fabulous visit and nothing was too much trouble, right from checking in the luggage with the concierge on arrival to checking out with them at the end of our break. Perfectly located for all that central London has to offer and we certainly packed a lot in over 3 days!
Could not fault the hotel in ANY way..... thank you all ;-)

Room Tip: Try and get a room on the higher floors and near the elevator. For sure pay the extra and book a tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Helen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Southbank
Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London
Southbank
Premier Inn London County Hall Hotel
Southbank
Park Plaza County Hall London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westminster
St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection
Mayfair
London Marriott Hotel Grosvenor Square
Mayfair
London Marriott Hotel Park Lane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to London Marriott Hotel County Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about London Marriott Hotel County Hall

Address: Westminster Bridge Road | Westminster Bridge Road, London SE1 7PB, England (Formerly Marriott London County Hall)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Southbank
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#124 Luxury Hotel in London
#206 Romantic Hotel in London
#230 Family Hotel in London
#243 Business Hotel in London
Price Range: $273 - $672 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — London Marriott Hotel County Hall 5*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Painted with a signature backdrop, the historic London Marriott Hotel County Hall offers proximity to our city's main attractions. With views of Big Ben, the banks of the River Thames and overlooked by the London Eye, landmarks are a short stroll away from the front doors of our hotel in London, England. Stay with us and hold your events here, as we feature distinctive venues that can accommodate every occasion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your London Marriott Hotel County Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott London County Hall Hotel London
London Marriott Hotel County Hall England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing