We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular Location (and price)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
London Marriott Hotel County Hall
Ranked #155 of 1,081 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Myself and my wife recently stayed here for one night as part of a family booking that also included four other family members. It goes without saying that the location cannot be bettered in central London; just across the Thames from Parliament.
Check-in was cold and inefficient for such a top brand hotel chain. I must add that I have stayed in several Marriott hotels down the years in a past life and I nearly missed reception altogether as the signposting is very small! Two rooms out of four were ready, so we checked into those first.
One family member had a suite; very nice!! Lounge, bedroom and separate bathroom and toilet. The rest of us had double rooms all on the Thames side. Our room had a fetching view of the London Eye (and everyone on the London Eye had a good view into our room!!!!!!).
We checked in our other guests two hours later and headed up to the pool. The pool is big, but access is strange. Sign in one the 5th floor and go back up to the 6th floor for the pool. There are jacuzzis in the health club, but only in a same-sex area. This made for some embarrassing 'diversions of eyes' as naked men left the jacuzzi!
We all had access to the Executive Lounge and it came across as small and a bit shabby. Beers but no spirits. White wine but no red.
All in all a comfortable stay for what we paid, which was absolutely nothing as we were all on points! But if you want that suite then get ready for £270 / night . . . . . .

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Greyvanman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,745)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,718 - 1,724 of 2,745 reviews

Reviewed April 17, 2013

We (family of 4) stayed at the Marriott County Hall for 4 nights and it was a fairly decent stay. I was leveraging my points to stay. That made it special. The hotel is at the epicenter of so much activity that the moment you walked outside (except for the courtyard/driveway), it was a beehive of activity. The hotel literally sits behind the London Eye which brings half of Europe there. It is a stone throw away from Big Ben, Westminster, and Parliament etc.
Check-in was a breeze. My Platinum Elite status was recognized which is always a nice touch. As some of you may have noticed, seems to have more value overseas that here in the states. I had reserved two rooms with expectation that they would be connecting with a great view. The FD agent then pulled the rabbit out of the hat and upgraded us to a suite with a balcony that had a marvelous view of the River Thames, Big Ben (Parliament) and the London Eye. Felt you could reach out and touch them. It was a cool way to end our 11 day trip. This also saved me from using the second certificate for the second room…which was a ton of points. Absolutely brilliant. Thank you Diaz.
The rooms seemed a little dated, and had a hard time opening/closing the door. We did not bother complaining as the balcony seemed to take care of all that. The hotel did give us the opportunity to see the alternative connecting rooms (with the option of switching if we wanted). The rooms were nice. They were the standard size with no balcony. So the constricted view of the river and the London Eye might have been okay, if we had not experienced where we were at that time. So we declined the switch. That was pretty decent service. Our suite bathroom was typical size, with the standard Marriott amenities. Lately, many hotels across the pond have started to install sockets to accommodate our adapters.
The executive level (6th floor has and interesting configuration whereby you walk for while from the elevators to your room, however, the end result is that from your balcony, you truly have this magnificent view.
Breakfast was good….not great, but we had just arrived from the Hyatt Vendome where Breakfast is at another level. However, the service was very, very, very good. We were pleased. Maybe we were spoiled, but we were not exactly blown away, but not to take away from anything, it was still fairly good. Standard, eggs (scrambled, fried or poached). Omelets were not part of the English breakfast (buffet). The bacon was very good. Probably the best I have had in a while.
As platinum, I would have had access to the lounge, but as our room was considered Executive level (6th floor) anyone on that floor would then be given access to the lounge. Now here, things got a little odd. No guest under the age of 18 is allowed in the lounge. So you had this very unusual traffic of guests coming to the lounge to rack up food (on the typical Marriott small lounge plates) in the evening to take to their kids standing outside the lounge (some in the room). So…..when in Rome….
The hors de oeuvres were fairly good. In addition to that, they stop serving hot food on Friday evening and Saturday evening (similar to the USA). The lounge, however, stays open with soda and wine (and all important ‘still” water). Another downer was, there was a lady who generally manned the lounge who was not exactly the friendliest to my wife and I. We did not take it personally, as everyone else was pretty great….she just stood out. Not sure she liked “us” being there (read into that whatever you want).
Re: transportation, the closest underground to the hotel is the Westminster. Take train from Heathrow (airport) to Paddington to Westminster or Waterloo. If coming by train (Eurostar) from St. Pancreas (train), you can navigate to Westminster and walk to the hotel. Waterloo is also close by. Because the hotel has a grand driveway, walking in with your luggage would look awkward, however, it is cheap. Yes you can take a cab from the airport (Heathrow Terminal 4) www.simplyairports.co.uk or from Paddington. That would take all of £45 (not bad if you are a family of 4 or more).
Check out was also a breeze. The Marriott County Lane is a fine hotel….the room with the balcony was the kicker. However, having just stayed at Marriott Park Lane and the Hyatt Vendome in Paris, we were not blown away. Nevertheless, we had a good stay. Thank you Marriott County Hall…especially Diaz.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank wellfreakingwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

The hotel was recommended by a family member and boy did she nail it. I doubt our stay in London would have been such a pleasant memory if it wasn't for the comfort and the service of the County Hall Mariott.
We booked a a suite that consisted of two rooms and a living room. The rooms were spacious, the beds were fantastic, The toilets were roomy and spotless. Closets were walk ins, and th living room was luxurious. The Concierge was superb and basically delivered on every request that thrown t him and there were many. Unfortunately, we didn't get a chance to try the restaurants as we were out the whole day but given how perfect everything else was, i can't imagine it would disappoint. The location is superlative. Next to the London Eye, 5 min from Westminster, 10 min from Buckingham, and 20 min from the National Gallery and Coventry Gardens.
Thank u Mariott for a very good experience.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank towelcarrier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Customary Marriott facilities and excellent bedroom (2 doubles) with balcony right next to London Eye on the South Bank and overlooking Westminster Bridge and Houses of Parliament. Helpful staff. We found breakfast rather slow service though again staff were friendly enough. Didn't use the gym but the pool looked great. Not the cheapest hotel but I cant hope to justify London Hotel prices.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

This Marriott is a great location. Right next to london eye, super view of big ben and westminster. The good news ends there.

The check-in service was just ok - again no support for luggage. I was given a room on 5th floor and the walk from lift to room was the longest walk i ever had from lift to room in any hotel. The room was spacious and nice view. Bathroom was good.

The service for breakfast was just ok. Again very limited options for vegetarian. No cooked breakfast and had to survive on toast, corn-flakes, juice, fruits.

Billing was poor. Although, I took package for wifi and breakfast, I was overbilled. That meant wasting 15 mins to sort out billing.

And last but not the least, very very overpriced. I guess thats due to the location

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AjayJM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Good choice for traveler that they are looking for attractions and restaurants, The location is very close from Big Ben, London Eye, Sea Life Aquarium and many attractions. Also a lot of world restaurants are there.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank haaymo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

The London Marriott Hotel County Hall is a three-star hotel that claims to be a 5-star hotel. The only thing 5-star about it is the location. However, I’ll review it on the based on it’s 5-star rating. On that basis, it is an expensive disappointment.
Let’s start with the good: the location is great for tourists. It’s located within the landmark County Hall building, right on the South Bank of the Thames, next to the London Eye and the Westminster Bridge, and directly across the River from Parliament and Big Ben.
On the other hand, its claim to be a 5-star hotel is not supported by reality, either in terms of the facilities or service. We have Platinum Elite status within the Marriott system, and we frequently stay in Marriott and Renaissance properties (this trip we’re staying in three). The service here is very mediocre. When we arrived, the sole front desk person was plastic and cold, and without a smile. Throughout our stay, it was often difficult to get someone on the phone. I got the impression that the hotel is understaffed. For example, one day, we returned to our room at 5 PM, and the housekeeper was still cleaning. I asked her why, and she said she just had so much to do (and looked very weary). At $500 a night, one would expect they could afford a full staff.
Most 5-star hotels get the rating, in part, due to the available facilities. They have a nice health club (with public members), but just one, very limited restaurant. The small business center is located in the entrance to the building.
As elite members, we’ve visited many Executive Lounges. This was absolutely the worst we’ve ever been in, at any level of Marriott hotels. It is tiny, with a very limited offering of food, and one lone computer with a broken printer. It isn’t open on weekends, which is slightly for the better, since you can have breakfast in their small restaurant. If you’re paying, a very limited continental breakfast buffet there will cost you about $25 (I advise that you go around the corner to the McDonalds).
The room had one spectacular feature – it looked out at the London Eye (about 100 yards away) and the River. But I’m sure very few rooms can make that claim. The room is a good size for a London hotel, but it’s old and unimpressive. I understand that it’s built within an old, historic structure, but many of the issues are unrelated to the age of the building. We did have a real fire alarm, no hot water for a few hours, and no water whatsoever one late night, but those are to be expected under the circumstances. What isn’t acceptable in this level of hotel are bath fixtures you can't fully turn off without extreme pressure, an ancient AC/heating system, and bath supplies doled out by misers. For example, they give you one tiny bar of soap to use both at the sink and at the shower (come on – just one more?), and tiny bottles of shampoo and conditioner.
Our bed was like a rock. We asked to have it softened. They did so, but it took two days. The lighting is fine, and the bathroom includes a magnifying mirror.
My recommendation? As others before me have noted, stay here if you can get it for a really good price. The level of service and facilities provided by the hotel does not warrant the current rate of $500 per night.

Room Tip: Insist on a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Smartblonde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Southbank
Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London
Southbank
Premier Inn London County Hall Hotel
Southbank
Park Plaza County Hall London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mayfair
London Marriott Hotel Park Lane
Westminster
St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection
Mayfair
London Marriott Hotel Grosvenor Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to London Marriott Hotel County Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about London Marriott Hotel County Hall

Address: Westminster Bridge Road, London SE1 7PB, England (Formerly Marriott London County Hall)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Southbank
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#123 Luxury Hotel in London
#131 Family Hotel in London
#205 Romantic Hotel in London
#242 Business Hotel in London
Price Range: $285 - $709 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — London Marriott Hotel County Hall 5*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Painted with a signature backdrop, the historic London Marriott Hotel County Hall offers proximity to our city's main attractions. With views of Big Ben, the banks of the River Thames and overlooked by the London Eye, landmarks are a short stroll away from the front doors of our hotel in London, England. Stay with us and hold your events here, as we feature distinctive venues that can accommodate every occasion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Marriott, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your London Marriott Hotel County Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott London County Hall Hotel London
London Marriott Hotel County Hall England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing