We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location - magnificent views!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
London Marriott Hotel County Hall
Ranked #155 of 1,081 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I was here over the Easter holiday weekend. It's a huge hotel but you get the feel of a much smaller, quiter, establishment - from the quiet sort of detached forecourt, to the lobby and common areas which never seemed real crowded to me. The only place there was a crowd was at breakfast. Speaking of the breakfast - it was well managed and had lots of selection on the buffet from full English to nice pastries. View from our room was beautiful - a river view of Westminster and the London Eye. I have to mention, however, that I was staying for free on Marriott points, so I can't truly judge value vs. what I paid - but next time in London, I'll gladly stay here. Only one bad thing to mention: we called the Spa to set up an appointment. The person answering said the spa staff was busy and they would call me back - they never did. Too bad for them - we were ready to spend some money.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,748)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,732 - 1,738 of 2,748 reviews

Reviewed April 8, 2013

The best part about this hotel is its location. It is literally next to the London Eye ferris wheel, and Big Ben and Westminster Abbey are right across the Westminster Bridge. Rooms are adequate, service excellent.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrisA861
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

Wow on the location. The London eye is literally steps from this hotel; across the river from parliament, westminister abbey, and Big Ben; a short walk to buckingham palace. You can walk or quickly take the tube from here to anywhere, quickly.

This hotel is beautiful and well appointed. The staff is attentive and courteous with every amenity delivered. The bars are unique and the drinks well made, the food is also quite good.

You cannot go wrong with this hotel - if you can take the price. Rack rates can cost you a mortgage payment! Travel on a corporate or package discount if you can. £4.40 for a 4 oz coffee kind of expensive.

One complaint is the executive lounge is tiny for such a large hotel. It may be 1000 sqft - probably the smallest I've seen in any Marriott anywhere.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BradleyA659
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

We have just returned from our first trip to this amazing hotel,everything from the location
Service and all the staff .
We wouldn't stay at any other hotel as the location is just so amazing,big Ben and the Houses of Parliament
And so many more right on the door step.

Can't wait until our next visit.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank karinevemac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

An odd one. I like the Marriotts as a chain. It normally works for me. And so did County Hall in a way. As the name implies it is the former County Hall. And the corridors are not long, but very long. I was in the last room on the 4th floor. What a trek.It must be a six or seven minute walk from reception.
Staff were friendly, Nick the concierge was particularly helpful and the door staff were jolly. Breakfast was only OK but staff again pleasant. I had a snack at Gilbeys which was fine. The chairs look interesting but are not that comfortable.
I was a bit disappointed by the location. With luggage it wasn't possible to get to Waterloo without a taxi really, which is why I had chosen the hotel. A shuttle would be welcome.

Great view over the London Eye.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DarkeinOman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

As many have said, the location of this property make it a winner. Nice breakfast (but expensive), pool (which is nice to have especially with kids - but we did not know that kids were not allowed certain times so my son was very disappointed that he was told he could not swim at night). Upon checking in, the front desk confirmed that i had requested a roll away and told me it was all set - got to the room == no roll away. We got in after 11 pm so were looking forward to getting some immediate rest, needless to say, we had to call down for what i had thought was already set. However, My big issue was the fire alarms! Upon arrival we were informed that there would be a drill at 10:15 the next morning. We were a bit jetlagged and still sleeping, but okay, we needed to be up anyway. The next night 3:30 AM the alarm sounds -- frightening to kids -- we, and many others rushed downstairs only to be awkwardly told that there was no fire, and that numerous incidents triggered the alarms and that we would get a "letter under our door in the morning" to explain it all. Not sure why this hotel employee could not explain it there. Alarm went off again at about 5 AM. No apologies - no plausible explanation.
Aside from the fact that the bed was horribly hard and the hot almost water non-existent, it was tough to get a nights sleep in this hotel.
Pros, Location, location, location: umbrellas provided in the rooms, that was a nice touch especially in London, pool (although it is geared toward adults with no kids allowed at certain times.)
Cons. Fire Alarms with no apologies, hard beds, poor hot water

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CKCTK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

Classics Marriott setup in a fantastic location for those visiting London. Right next to the Eye, Parliament, Big Ben etc etc. great service too - everyone was very helpful to use ( 2 adults, 2 kids and a ton of luggage ). It may not be the Four Seasons but then it doesn't cost as much.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaxBethune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Southbank
Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London
Southbank
Premier Inn London County Hall Hotel
Southbank
Park Plaza County Hall London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mayfair
London Marriott Hotel Park Lane
Westminster
St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection
Mayfair
London Marriott Hotel Grosvenor Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to London Marriott Hotel County Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about London Marriott Hotel County Hall

Address: Westminster Bridge Road, London SE1 7PB, England (Formerly Marriott London County Hall)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Southbank
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#123 Luxury Hotel in London
#131 Family Hotel in London
#205 Romantic Hotel in London
#242 Business Hotel in London
Price Range: $286 - $712 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — London Marriott Hotel County Hall 5*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Painted with a signature backdrop, the historic London Marriott Hotel County Hall offers proximity to our city's main attractions. With views of Big Ben, the banks of the River Thames and overlooked by the London Eye, landmarks are a short stroll away from the front doors of our hotel in London, England. Stay with us and hold your events here, as we feature distinctive venues that can accommodate every occasion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Marriott, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your London Marriott Hotel County Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott London County Hall Hotel London
London Marriott Hotel County Hall England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing